Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great no nononsense way to understand the piano., 29 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
This book was a revelation to me. I was struggling to understand how to improve or how things hung together musically. I had purchased other books which only confused me further. This book takes the mystery out of music and the piano and I think its title is very apt. More books should be written in colloboration by experts and journalists. For me its added some good foundations and it has given me a further spur to continue improving. I am very happy to whole heartedly recommended it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 29 April 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
I am a professional pianist, more or less self-taught, and I first found this book in the Miami public library in 1984 or thereabouts when I was playing piano on cruise ships. I have bought two copies since, one of which went to a girlfriend. It teaches you the structure of music, the real stuff you need to know. And it's written with great charm and humour. Don't be misled, it'll teach you far more about piano playing than many music teachers. And at about quarter the price of one lesson. I love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 18 Jan 2005
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
This is a great book for learning to play the piano. It teaches about how music works and uses that as the driving force. The pace of the book is fast, you need to practice at each page otherwise you'll be floundering. So why 4 stars only? The problem that I had with this book is that it lacks enough complete pieces of music to allow you to practice effectively. You will need to a buy a book with easy piano scores in it to play. This books is best thought of as your teacher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what the title says!, 3 Feb 2004
By 
Peter Klok "Hamleth" (Farum, Frederiksborg Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
Except for the error about the origins of the musical scale in the opening chapter, this book keeps the promise made in the title. It is a genuinely practical book that can help you get into the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting approach, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
This is not a book about music theory (in the sense of learning scales etc.), it is a book about understanding how music is made (i.e. about harmony). This book (and others on the same subject) helped me "see" the piano keyboard more clearly and helped me understand why a piece of music sounds good. From there, depending also on your imagination, it is not difficult to find interesting progressions, combine them with some rhythm and feel the pleasure of generating your own simple songs. The next step is to try to play by ear some tune you are familiar with and - surprise! - it works! Of course, you need some basic piano playing skills and, if you have knowledge of scales or music theory in general, you will progress faster. Nothing is free, there is no "magical" method to learn you what music is and how to make it, therefore one must also invest some time and energy into this. But it is very rewording!

There are also very good books about harmony (I also have Tonal Harmony, by Stefan Kostka, which has a theoretical approach), but his book has a very good, original way to presents the notions to beginners or hobbyists. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best piano tutor ever., 28 Dec 2007
By 
Meg22 (Somerset, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
"this book...will tell you how to take a tune, a melody, and turn it into a whole lot of music by knowing what you are doing and why you are doing it". (From the introduction)
And that is exactly what it does.
The authors describe it as "a subversive book" as it bypasses the mainstream methods of teaching music and cuts straight to the chase of what most people, both beginners and more advanced musicians, actually want to learn!
The style of writing is an absolute joy compared to most piano tutors. Humorous, interesting and designed to boost your confidence. Also very clear, concise and to the point with brief "in a nutshell" sections at the end of each chapter.
It makes you think about music and the piano in a new way. "The piano is a miniature orchestra" as it says.
By giving you accompaniment devices (basic skeleton, moving the layers around, listening to textures in music for arrangements, arpeggios, etc etc) you find yourself making music on your own much more quickly than you would have thought possible!
Having tried out many piano tutors over many years this is the one which had the quickest and most dramatic, and also the most profound and long-lasting effect on my playing.
My one criticism is that it should put much more emphasis on starting with your ears, picking out bass notes and counter melodies yourself and recreating what you hear with the book as a background help. Many years of struggling with piano tutors has taught me this is the only way not to get disheartened and bogged down in details! (Even with a book as superb as this one!)
As it is, the book does not mention this and instead implies the use of given chords and fake books which, to me, are musical passion-killers.
It is only a small question of emphasis as the book actually gives you all the information you need to work entirely from your own ears and then some! But it has made a big difference to me so I mention it in case it helps anybody else.
With a good pair of ears, some music to listen to and the information in this book, you don't need anything else to make wonderful music on the piano!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest music book ever written--buy it for your unborn kid, 14 Aug 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
This is without a doubt the greatest music book I
have ever read, in all seriousness. It can be understood by a 12-yr-old but is fascinating for jaded adults. It ranks as one of "DragonLord's 50 greatest books ever written". Buy this and throw out the rest of your music theory bookcase. Buy one copy for yourself and five for your unborn
children, even if you're not married yet. I have.
DragonLord
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If your lucky this is your first Piano book!, 23 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. J. Cowan "Piano Magic" (ABERDEEN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
This is a great book that debunks many myths about music and it's very witty as well.
The book is for the average person who wants to enjoy making music, and explains essential concepts in a very logical manner.
I could wax lyrical about aspects of the book but I will not.
Suffice to say that the one and only musical rule stated in the book says:
There is only one rule in making music: If it sounds good it is good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
Very good alternative way at looking at music. Also an interesting and amusing read. Helpful to beginners and experienced players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bought for my wife, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Play the Piano despite Years of Lessons: What Music is and How to Make it at Home. Rev. Ed. (Paperback)
For someone that has had no previous musical instrument lessons, my wife has found it straight forward and understandable...definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews