Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Addictive Medieval Romance
This was the first book of Johanna Lindsey's I ever read, and it is still one of her best in my opinion.

In 'When Love Awaits', we are whisked back to England in the time of King Henry II, father to Richard the Lionheart and the nefarious John. And when one of the king's loyal mercenaries is granted land adjoining the Lady Leonie's, she causes him enough...
Published on 19 Aug 2010 by Crux Roesia

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good...
This wasn't Lindsey's best novel, and Leonie was kind of annoying, but it was still better than the average romance.
Published on 23 April 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful, Addictive Medieval Romance, 19 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first book of Johanna Lindsey's I ever read, and it is still one of her best in my opinion.

In 'When Love Awaits', we are whisked back to England in the time of King Henry II, father to Richard the Lionheart and the nefarious John. And when one of the king's loyal mercenaries is granted land adjoining the Lady Leonie's, she causes him enough trouble out of loyalty to her friend (whose property she believes was confiscated to make way for the new lord) that Rolfe, otherwise known as the Black Wolf, enlists the king's help in wedding her. His plan is to get her lands and her acquiescence so he can stop worrying about her serfs nipping at his heels and get on with the business of subduing other rebellious keeps now belonging to him. He is under the impression that his wife is plain and spiteful, but of course, there is a lot more to Lady Leonie than he has been led to suppose...
Leonie herself, more than happy with her life at Pershwick manor, answerable to no-one (as her father has abandoned her to pretty much fend for herself since her mother's death and his remarriage), is horrified at having to wed the evil Black Wolf, especially as she believes him to only want her out of spite...
How these two are drawn to each other despite all their better judgements and how they overcome the events and people around them who would keep them apart or turn them against one another makes for a romantic and passionate love story.
It's a great page-turner and even if now and again, you do want to knock their heads together because if only they would swallow their pride and ask a question, the problem would be sorted, this isn't enough to stop you reading.
The hero, too, is definitely one you wouldn't mind taming - always an advantage in a romantic tale!

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar story but enjoyable all the same!, 25 Mar 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Yes, I have read it all before many times but it still did not stop me from devouring this book. Maybe I was just in the mood, and it was JL writing and there were only a couple of Americanisms which helped enormously.

If you want a 12th century romp with a devastatingly handsome Lord, with the sly ex Mistress and a beautiful little Lady, then go no further. Just relax and ENJOY the light relief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Medieval Romance, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like most of Lindsey's novels, this is a great story with likeable characters. It is one of those books you can re-read ever so often and still appreciate :).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When love awaits, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great writing as usual she draws you in like you were there yourself my favourite writer never disappoints me another great romance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love Johanna Lindsey, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lady Leonie has been living on her own terms since her father sent her away after he mother's death. She's independent, confident in her abilities and her subjects love her. Maybe too much as they take a public display of dislike by their lady as an order to make life difficult for their new neighbor.

Rolfe D'Amberte is a warrior and has been since he had to leave his home in Gascony after his brother turned him out. 10 years on he is given land by the king to finally settle down but vassals from the previous owner rebell against him. The peasants from the neighboring keep don't make it easier by constantly wreaking havoc at his new home. He knows how to wage war but not how to run an estate.

In order to restore peace Rolfe decides to marry Lady Leonie even though he has never met her. Through a few misunderstanding and intrigues at home, they have a difficult start but Rolfe is determined to make this union work.

I originally bought this book because it sounded a lot like "Wolf and the Dove" by Kathleen E Woodiwiss. While lacking in the character development compared to Ms Woodiwiss, it's still a lovely story. Rolfe is a stern, temperamental men with a soft heart and a very hard head. We don't learn as much about him as we do about Leonie but his strong sense of right and wrong give him a maturity to balance Leonie's youthful impulsiveness. And she softens his hard edges somewhat by providing with a sense of home after so many years on the move.

Overall very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent story line with a strong heroine and a hero who is malleable. Good description of the historic era. Johanna Lynsey is an excellent writer whose library of books are very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance at it best, 2 July 2007
This review is from: When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hi all i just finished reading this book and i personally think that it is romance at it best. The heroine can be a bit annoying and her husband fallen in love with her and he acknowledges his mistakes in the relationship and want to move their marriage on and forget the past. In the book you realise that her husband just wants to be loved and he says this numberous of times and he is just waiting for Leonie. Leonie did take a lot of time to come around i feel like that in the real world she would of communicated a lot better to her husband. The reason why i say this is cause she is afraid to mention something a woman said to her about her husband and yet she will defy her husband in any other thing. It does sometimes feel like a cat and mouse story. However it is well written.

Five star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good. Simple story, but engaging., 6 Jan 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I picked it up in the doctor's office and never put it down. It wasn't the great american novel, but it was highly readable, interesting, surprising, and I enjoyed the read very much. I will read more of Ms. Lindsey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good..., 23 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This wasn't Lindsey's best novel, and Leonie was kind of annoying, but it was still better than the average romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance)
When Love Awaits (Avon Historical Romance) by Johanna Lindsey (Mass Market Paperback - 22 April 2004)
£4.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews