Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery Of Lady Whistledown Intensifies...
For those following the Bridgerton series by Ms Quinn, this tale is the fourth story about the seven Bridgerton series, but sibling number three, Mr Colin Bridgerton third child after Anthony, Benedict and before Daphne (The children have been named according to the alphabet from A to H). Penelope Featherington has been in love with the rather charming Colin for what...
Published on 26 July 2002 by pufferfish

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it but lost interest
I feel as though I read a different book to the rest of the reviewers. 'Romancing Mr Bridgerton' started out well enough with Penelope having been in love with Colin for years, but never getting past good friend status, but it never delivered on the early promise. As Colin gradually comes to realise he loves Penelope (in the first third of the book), they kiss and each...
Published 18 months ago by Book Addict


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mystery Of Lady Whistledown Intensifies..., 26 July 2002
By 
pufferfish (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
For those following the Bridgerton series by Ms Quinn, this tale is the fourth story about the seven Bridgerton series, but sibling number three, Mr Colin Bridgerton third child after Anthony, Benedict and before Daphne (The children have been named according to the alphabet from A to H). Penelope Featherington has been in love with the rather charming Colin for what seems like forever. Not that he noticed, having skipped out the country whenever he felt like it to get away from the label of third son of a viscount and his only chance of recognition is being mentioned in the notorious gossip column written by the mysterious Lady Whistledown as the most charming man in town - an opinion she often publishes! When Colin returns home to London after one of his many trips around Europe, he finds that nothing much has changed. Everything is still the same, society are still preocupied with the Whistledown papers, he is still metioned in them as the charming gentleman, but he begins to see Penelope in a new light. Then Penelope discovers Colin deepest secret and fear of being a nobody, but then Penelope harbours huge secrets of her own as Colin soon finds out! There is more to her than just the wall flower spinster and best friend of his sister, Eloise (subject of the next Bridgerton book). Then, just as Colin and Penelope's relationship begins to tenetatively blossom, Society is in an uproar as an influential society matron decides to offer one thousand pounds to the person who can unmask the mysterious Lady Whistledown to end the ennuii that has been fashionable of late and everything else is overshadowed by the frenzy of suspicions and rumours flying about who is Lady Whistledown. Can Colin and Penelope find their feet and feelings for each other admidst all the chaos? And just who is Lady Whistledown? Well you will just have to read the book to find out. This is a a refreshing and light historical romance and extremely entertaining. Its full of subtle wit and charm and for once the story is not overshadowed by murders or kidnappings or other dastardly dealings subplots that litter many recent romances published. Highly enjoyable and highly recommended, especially if you have read the previous Bridgerton novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful novel, 12 April 2008
By 
C. L. Skelton "chezmite" (Carshalton, London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have been an avid reader of the 'historical romance' genre for quite a few years and after a while all the stories can seem to blend into one. Therefore it is such a delight to discover a book like this one, what a breath of fresh air. I really couldn't put it down.

Both the characters of Penelope and Colin are delightfully rounded (as Colin admits himself he is not the brooding hero) and the friendship between the two is brilliantly developed.

A must read for anyone who enjoys this genre and I would not hesitate to recommend this book a thousand times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Julia Quinn is exceptional, 4 Sept. 2009
By 
M. K. Burton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Penelope Featherington has been in love with Colin Bridgerton for years. She can even tell you when she first fell in love with him. Unfortunately for her, Colin treats her as an extra sister and once declared, without knowing that she was there, that he would not marry her. Penelope was mortified. Since then, he's traveled the world and she has settled into spinsterhood. Not one man has ever offered for her hand, and though that's in large part thanks to her mother, shyness, and a horrible wardrobe, it hurts. When Colin returns, his world has shifted on its axis just a little, and Penelope realizes that she's been hiding her true self for far too long.

This was cute. I found it to be far more stereotypical than most of Quinn's other romances and I agree with the people who say that the drama over Lady Whistledown takes away from the romance side of the story. I have been interested in Penelope since the start of this series - it's hard not to feel for a girl who is always shy and dressed in yellow and orange - and I was happy to learn more about her and appreciate a bit more of what was going on behind the scenes. I had a bit of trouble understanding just why Colin suddenly saw what a great woman she was. After all, since she's such good friends with the family, he probably had ample opportunity to get to know her before. That said, I know in high school I developed crushes on guys after knowing them for a while, so I suppose it's possible that once he was ready for something new, he could consider her in a different light. I also found his crisis interesting - his brother Benedict had a similar problem in his book, but Colin doesn't worry about being distinct from his brothers, he just worries that he's not accomplishing anything that matters. That's certainly a feeling I could relate to, although I don't have a nice cushion of money to fall back on if I don't feel like doing anything.

Overall, I think it's hard to recommend this one without reading the others. I was already attached to these characters as both Colin and Penelope are in the first three books of the series. I will still say that if you want a entertaining, light, cute read, you should definitely go with Julia Quinn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wallflower gets her man, 12 May 2007
By 
Book Gannet (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Penelope Featherington fell in love two days before her sixteenth birthday, and over twelve years later she loves him still. It doesn't matter that he's her best friend's brother, or that there's never been the slightest chance he'll love her back. He's Colin Bridgerton, and that's all there is to it.

The third of the infamous Featherington sisters, Penelope has never enjoyed much success or popularity amongst the ton. Or even in her family. Despite her friendship with the Bridgertons she has always been a wallflower. Now, at eight and twenty, she's a spinster, but at least her mother had stopped dressing her in orange and yellow. It's not so bad being a spinster, especially as she has Eloise Bridgerton to keep her company. Besides, she hardly deems it fair to marry anyone when her heart already belongs to another. Not that anyone has ever proposed.

The object of her affections is newly returned from his travels abroad, and, at three and thirty, Colin is not impressed to have his oldest brother pushing him to marry. It's enough to make a man flee the country... again. And yet, despite his frequent travels, Colin feels restless and discontent. His life lacks meaning, he has no focus, nothing to show for himself except repeated mentions in Whistledown about how charming he is. And he is charming, not to mention goodnatured, good-looking and wealthy, but they're hardly achievements, and not what he wants to be remembered for in years to come.

Then one day Penelope discovers something about him that he's never told anyone before, and in the midst of their conversation he finds himself telling her how he feels. When she loses her temper with him, he realises he risks a friendship he never expected to find. One that means more to him than he realised. And something that threatens to turn into much, much more...

At last Colin Bridgerton gets a book of his own! And it is by far my favourite of the 'Bridgertons'. Unlike Daphne, whose love grew inspite of itself, or Anthony - which was more of a farce - or Benedict's fairytale, Colin's begins with friendship. He's known Penelope for years, he even swore once (loudly, publicly, causing mortifying embarrassment) that he would never marry her. However, the more he gets to know her, the more he sees, and the more precious their friendship becomes.

This is my favourite 'Bridgerton' book, probably my favourite JQ novel, because Colin is such a wonderful character, developed gradually over the previous tales - and returning regularly hereafter (except for in Hyacinth's tale). But, even better, Penelope is a delightful heroine, well worthy of her place amongst the Bridgertons. Her experience amongst the ton can be heartbreaking at times, and while it's lovely to see Colin stand up for her, it's even better when she stands up for herself.

This is a tale for every shy, ugly duckling and wallflower out there, and proves that occasionally (just occasionally) the heroes do the smart thing and marry the girl for her brains, not just her beauty.

Oh! And thanks to a challenge issued by the irrepressible Lady Danbury (she's back, huzzah!), Lady Whistledown is unmasked. Have you guessed who it is yet?

Brilliant and wonderful, I wish I had more stars, because five just isn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Star Plus Read, 12 April 2013
I read this back in June 2011 (my Blog Post #132), when I borrowed it from the local library:

Always a happy, happy day when I get my hands on a Julia Quinn, and this day was no different - in fact brilliant sunshine! The only problem being that I now have to go back to read "To Sir Phillip with Love" ... oh dearie me, could I really describe that as a problem.

Penelope Featherington has a secret or two, one of which is that she adores her best friend's brother, Colin Bridgerton. Whilst she dreams that he can feel the same, in reality a good looking and empty headed charmer like him wouldn't go for a girl like her .... indeed, he even said as much to his brothers' in her hearing one day!

Colin on the other hand is sick of being know as an empty headed charmer, but is not certain how to get fulfilment, therefore he travels .... a lot in fact. He's also sick of the entire ton's preoccupation with the gossip columnist Lady Whistledown, who seems to talk about him quite a bit.

Upon returning from yet another trip he begins to realise that Penelope has changed, and also that she has depths, and a secret or two. At the same time Penelope stumbles across a secret that Colin has.

One thing leads to another and Lady Whistledown is unmasked, but will Penelope ever get her man?

A 5+ *****+ star read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good story but somehow not quite gripping enough, 10 Dec. 2006
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Avon Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
The first couple of paragraphs of this book are fantastic - light-hearted, amusing, witty - and I settled down for a gripping and brilliant read. Sadly I didn't get entirely that. This was a good book, like Ms Quinn's others, but it wasn't quite as good as some and because of that I was disappointed.

This is the fourth book in the series (following "The Duke And I", "The Viscount Who Loved Me" and "An Offer From A Gentleman") and is the story of Colin Bridgerton, third son, and Penelope Featherington. Penelope gets mentioned in most of the other books and in fact there is one scene in "An Offer From A Gentleman" which features Penelope and Colin and is repeated in this book.

In some ways I really liked the premise of this story - it's the good old friends who know each other for years and years and then somehow find themselves falling in love and getting married. It's so nice for the slightly dumpy and apparently dull woman to get the dishy man - most Regencies have beautiful debutants striding onto the scene and ensnaring wonderful men instantly. Penelope waits 12 years for her man - but she gets him!

Penelope is a great character in this book. She's not particularly beautiful but she has brains and wit and somehow in this book she discovers a bit more self-confidence or gumption to change her life a little. Colin also is trying to step out of the shadows of his two older brothers and find a purpose in life - these interactions were well drawn and believable. In fact it's in character drawing that Julia Quinn excels and I very much appreciate the way in which her large cast of characters all have their own behaviours.

A lot of this book is focused on Lady Whistledown - a plot device used well in most of the other books but probably rather outstaying its welcome. Fortunately Lady Whistledown is unmasked in this book - probably rather more of this was made than strictly necessary.

This book also sets the scene for the next ("To Sir Philip With Love") which features Eloise who was Penelope's best buddy. I like the way the books are interlinked and that we can follow on with the relationships of those who've been married off in earlier books.

Overall this is still a good book, much better than most Regencies on the market at the moment, but it's a little disappointing when compared with some of Julia Quinn's others in this series. However, an honourable mention goes again to the excellent new artwork on the UK edition - such a refreshing change for Regency books to have attractive and fun and non-cringeworthy artwork!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Winner, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Colin Bridgerton...Ah! As far as this Bridgerton is concerned, I'm as bad as Penelope Featherington. He's just too gorgeous. He's my favourite along with his mother and Hyacinth. These three epitomize Brigerton-ness. Colin's is my favourite kind of love story. The ugly-duckling to swan, and the friends to lovers motifs are used to their best advantage here. Secrets are revealed and aren't they just delicious!

Must-read for all the reasons you can think of. This is romance at it's best. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In this book we get Penelope's story. I love her character very much. I like Colin as well although he isn't my favourite Bridgerton brother. Like Penelope at one point I was a little disappointed with him. Perhaps because he took so long to realise Penelope was the girl for him and then became jealous of her. Another little thing that bugged me is that in the scene where Penelope asks (no begs) Colin to kiss her. We don't get to find out how it feels for her. It describes how much Colin is affected but not our heroine, who has waited years for this moment. Lady Whistledown is revealed in this one and I'm very pleased with myself for guessing the right person a few books back.

Overall, enjoyable but not my favourite book of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it but lost interest, 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I feel as though I read a different book to the rest of the reviewers. 'Romancing Mr Bridgerton' started out well enough with Penelope having been in love with Colin for years, but never getting past good friend status, but it never delivered on the early promise. As Colin gradually comes to realise he loves Penelope (in the first third of the book), they kiss and each likes the other but minor problems are strewn in their path - the tension dissipates and I was left...well frankly, bored.
There are some nice touches, such as the formidable Lady Danbury, but the whole mystery over Lady Whistledown was OK at first but then became tedious. If this was a school report it would be a case of 'Could do better.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Book!, 4 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
I have read this book so many times, I have actually lost count of how many times I have in fact read it! It is an amazing book, and the story is so believeable, how you can know a person for many years, yet not actually know them at all, God knows it's happened to me! I think this is a book that, in a way you can relate to (if like me you were an ugly duckling, who grew into being not that bad!), even if it is set in the 1800's! This has to be my faverouite book by Julia Quinn, she is an excellent writer, and I would urge anyone to buy this book, because believe me, you won't regret it! Well, unless, like me, you're shut off from the world while you read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Avon Romance)
Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Avon Romance) by Julia Quinn (Mass Market Paperback - July 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews