Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspired lunacy
Did you know that Noah postponed his death for 800 years by convincing a sympathetic Angel of Death that he (Noah) was behind in his paperwork? Such is one of the fascinating factoids found in LAMB, the story of Christ's life as told by his life-long best bud Biff, otherwise known as Levi, son of Alphaeus and Naomi of Nazareth.
Biff, so nick-named for the daily slaps...
Published on 12 April 2003 by Joseph Haschka

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves
I enjoyed more the first part of the book, that described our heroes' studies away from home. The tone of that part of the book was lighter and more entertaining, raising quite a few laughs and chuckles. The narrative style seemed to change once the characters returned home, becoming less flippant as the story had to fit with other accounts of the events of that time...
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by Mark Dyer


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book. It was funny and well informed. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I would reccomend this book to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out Loud!, 21 July 2013
By 
Onthemotorway (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lamb: A Novel (Paperback)
A very funny and entertaining read. The style has a certain 'cheekiness' to it so even the most devout Christian shouldn't be too offended by this book.

Dropped a star towards the end as I feel the tone changed somewhat and the book became more serious, it read more like an account of the last days of Jesus' life - perhaps crucifixion related humour would have been a step too far?! However given it's supposed to be funny I do feel it needed to 'lighten' up a bit in the last few chapters.

I will certainly take a look at some of Christopher Moore's other books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb: A Novel (Paperback)
If you are religious, if you're not religious or if you hate religion you'll love this book all the same. This fills in the missing years of the life of Jesus through the story of his best friend's gospel. As Jesus grows and travels the world with Levi (who is called Biff) the pair go on the most profoundly whacky adventures with the often confused Jesus using his friend to explore sin. Everyone really needs to read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb (Kindle Edition)
i was doubtful about reading this being non religious, but it turned out to be a stunning read. highly recommended, very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb (Kindle Edition)
I thought the book was excellent, very funny and a really enjoyable story. I read the whole thing in 3 sittings I was so engrossed in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new perspective, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb (Kindle Edition)
I am a Catholic but I loved this book. Not sure why I say "but" because it gives such a human touch to the gospel that is also touching and very funny. I also learned some things (that I did check out if they were true) about the gospel that, I'm sure, have never been given this slant before. Wish I had Mr. Moore's imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good humourous novel, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb: A Novel (Paperback)
Bought as a gift after much research for a humourous book. Am told it's very funny and not dreadfully irreverent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb: A Novel (Paperback)
Fantastic book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lamb: A Novel (Paperback)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars schoolboy humour, 28 Nov 2003
This review is from: Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal (Paperback)
An interesting idea, this book is disappointing in its execution. Like a pale imiitation of Tom Robbins, it never rises above the adolescent, even if its ambition is more intellectual. Read it if you have nothing else to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal
Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ's Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore (Paperback - 1 Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews