Customer Reviews


261 Reviews
5 star:
 (210)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


315 of 318 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True to it's Title
I thought this book might be about how to use praise and language to avoid facing discipline issues with children but it is not like that at all. It teaches parents to be authorative and send the right messages without micro managing their children. There is much good advice on how to recognize and change ineffective paterns of responding to your child. The suggested...
Published on 6 Jan. 2002 by Derrick

versus
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars helpful but unrealistic
I found this book helpful to a certain extent although each point was somewhat laboured and can be grasped by reading just a little of each chapter rather than trudging through all the examples set. It's american which I found uncomfortable reading as their expressions used are so vastly different from language that we'd use to talk to our children in the UK. Although I...
Published on 10 Mar. 2011 by Holly


‹ Previous | 120 21 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars excellent books, 15 Sept. 2010
i bought this books recently and i found it that this books was very educated and helpfull for parents who wants to have better understanding about their chidren. It helps a lot of dealing with children behaviour and how to handle them and most important is how to communicate with them. very excellent books that parents must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, and not just for parents, 22 Aug. 2010
The principles in this book apply to communicating with anyone of any age. We all need to be spoken to and treated with respect, no matter what age. The book points out that some things we might say with the best of intentions are actually counter-productive, and provides better alternatives. I don't even have children, but a friend of mine who does was reading the book and it caught my eye. I read the first few pages and decided I wanted to know more.

It's light-hearted and easy to read, giving loads of real-life examples to show how the principles can be used in all kinds of situations. It's broken up with pages of cartoon-style drawings to reinforce the points made, so even if you just want to flick through quickly, you'll still pick up some helpful info.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 7 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i gave it for a present and parents have been applaying everything written on the book and told me it was really great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelloous, 2 Jun. 2010
By 
A really excellent and very useful book. Easy to read and understand, it's one i will dip into for years to come. I would recommend this book to anyone who has any contact with children!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What is the difference between this version and earlier versions?, 22 July 2014
Does anyone know what the difference is between the new 2013 version and the older versions? I can see it advertises 3 new chapters but what are they on as after a second hand copy as a spare copy to lend to friends. Thanks very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you have kids or work with them - read this!, 19 Sept. 2009
By 
An easy to read guide full of practical approaches to improve communication with kids you own and those you don't. Everyone will recognise themselves in the useful anecdotes and you can start practising immediately. Keep it handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book to support delivery of my parenting classes. I thought it was an A4 book, but it came as an A5. It has good suggestions of activities which is photocopiable. This is good. I haven't used it yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a thought provoking but practical work book ..., 4 Aug. 2014
By 
Mrs. Wendy A. Young "wendosys" (nottingham uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a thought provoking but practical work book that gives you reall skills to learn to improve how you talk to children. A must have book for any parent or childcare worker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars highly recommended, 10 Nov. 2009
By 
I was recommended this book with a good outcome.. I found it very useful, in fact I need to read it again, it was some time ago that I last read it and the tips and ideas do work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book! Full of useful information and examples of ..., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book! Full of useful information and examples of how to handle various situations. A lot of it could also be applied to teens and adults. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 120 21 2227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk
How to Talk So Kids Will Listen and Listen So Kids Will Talk by Elaine Mazlish (Paperback - 31 Oct. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews