Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!
This is continuing the series about The Bow Street Runners.
It's wonderfully written and the story and characthers flow beautifully from start to finish. The heroine Lady Sophia Sydney sets out to exact revenge on the Head of The Bow Street Runners Sir Ross Cannon. She holds him responible for the death of her brother John whilst on a convict ship to which he had...
Published on 13 Jun. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars
With the exception of Sophia, who is given to histrionics, Kleypas's characters are well drawn and refreshingly levelheaded. Even her villain, a famed thieftaker, displays surprising dimensions. Through deft plotting and simple yet stylish prose, Kleypas distinguishes herself as a master of her craft
Published on 5 Dec. 2010 by Rebecca


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this book, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed both the characters and the storyline in this book, and I look forward to reading the next one in the series. Definitely a book to go into my favourites and I will enjoy reading it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Book, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read and re-read this book so many times and it is one of my favourtie books. I love the characters - both Sophia and Ross and the love/sex accounts as well. I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series has me hooked. The storylines are amazing and had me laughing and smiling one minute, then gasping in shock the next. Seriously gripping read for an historical romance fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's lover., 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
A typical Kleypas,this did not disappoint.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.And at a later date will read it again as I do with all my Kleypas books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's Lover, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I absolutely love Lisa Kleypas Books - I would recommend all her books and the seller to family and friends. This book was well packaged and sent quickly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the 3 in this series. Good historical romance with a bit of humor and not too sickly sweet. Would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what it says on the cover, 23 Mar. 2008
By 
Ms. S. M. Benson (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I find this author a little hit an miss, and this is definitely a miss. The story is supposed to be about a woman seeking revenge against a man who's actions she believed led to her brother's death. The revenge plot goes out the window the moment the two clap eyes on one another. Instant lust. The book then goes on to be a series of sexual encounters with a bit of plot line thrown in at the end. If you want a complex, well written story with meaningful sexual encounters then this is not for you. If you want a book filled with cheap thrills and little else, it will suit you just fine. A sadly disappointing book, that was not redeemed by it's ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good read I'm told, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present, very good read I'm told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another well told tale, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Kleypas has the ability to relate interesting and enjoyable stories in a most agreeable manner.
She doesn't aspire to high literature, but to tell a tale in a most engaging manner.
Her stories are well told and make for a most pleasurable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars in the bin, 15 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I had really enjoyed the Stephanie Laurens series in Avon historical romance and thought Lady Sophia's Lover would be of the same high quality. It was not. 50 pages was enough to make me say goodbye to my cash and throw this in the bin where it belongs. What a disappointment. The plot could have been serviceable but it was wholly historically inadequate and poorly written. Stephanie Laurens may have the odd historical error, but her characters are well formed and the events feel of the period. Lady Sophia's Lover was laughable, and the writing stile crass and grating. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance)
Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) by Lisa Kleypas (Mass Market Paperback - 15 Aug. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews