Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!
This is continuing the series about The Bow Street Runners.
It's wonderfully written and the story and characthers flow beautifully from start to finish. The heroine Lady Sophia Sydney sets out to exact revenge on the Head of The Bow Street Runners Sir Ross Cannon. She holds him responible for the death of her brother John whilst on a convict ship to which he had...
Published on 13 Jun. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars
With the exception of Sophia, who is given to histrionics, Kleypas's characters are well drawn and refreshingly levelheaded. Even her villain, a famed thieftaker, displays surprising dimensions. Through deft plotting and simple yet stylish prose, Kleypas distinguishes herself as a master of her craft
Published on 5 Dec. 2010 by Rebecca


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Great series of books., 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the 3 in this series. Good historical romance with a bit of humor and not too sickly sweet. Would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all of Lisa Kleypas' historical novels and they are all either a 4 or 5 star read. This is a four star. I liked the characters a lot, both of them are interesting, believable and very out of the ordinary. Sir Ross Cannon is an unusual hero: not a duke or an aristocrat - a working magistrate and a man driven by his need to make a difference to his world. Sophia is first driven by revenge and determined to destroy him but then overcome with admiration and love. The side plot is her discovery of her long lost, believed dead, brother, Nick Gentry, who is an intriguing character on the edge of the law. His story is also in the Bow Street Series and another great book. This is not a 5 star because somehow the poignancy is not there as it is in some of the other novels and it is slightly thinner on plot. The Theatre series is much better. And the Gamblers. But, it is very good and far better than many other novels of the same genre. Lisa Kleypas is an outstanding writer and I wish wish wish she had not abandoned historical writing because her modern novels are nothing special. Please come back to what you do best..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love This Book, 22 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read and re-read this book so many times and it is one of my favourtie books. I love the characters - both Sophia and Ross and the love/sex accounts as well. I would recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's lover. Number two on series. Bow street., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes for the series two novel. However, once again, after the first few chapters of the novel, the storyline became predictable that I could almost write this story myself. The novel is enjoyable, however, it is not thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series has me hooked. The storylines are amazing and had me laughing and smiling one minute, then gasping in shock the next. Seriously gripping read for an historical romance fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's lover., 23 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
A typical Kleypas,this did not disappoint.I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.And at a later date will read it again as I do with all my Kleypas books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what it says on the cover, 23 Mar. 2008
By 
Ms. S. M. Benson (london, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I find this author a little hit an miss, and this is definitely a miss. The story is supposed to be about a woman seeking revenge against a man who's actions she believed led to her brother's death. The revenge plot goes out the window the moment the two clap eyes on one another. Instant lust. The book then goes on to be a series of sexual encounters with a bit of plot line thrown in at the end. If you want a complex, well written story with meaningful sexual encounters then this is not for you. If you want a book filled with cheap thrills and little else, it will suit you just fine. A sadly disappointing book, that was not redeemed by it's ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good read I'm told, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought as a present, very good read I'm told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another well told tale, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ms Kleypas has the ability to relate interesting and enjoyable stories in a most agreeable manner.
She doesn't aspire to high literature, but to tell a tale in a most engaging manner.
Her stories are well told and make for a most pleasurable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars in the bin, 15 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I had really enjoyed the Stephanie Laurens series in Avon historical romance and thought Lady Sophia's Lover would be of the same high quality. It was not. 50 pages was enough to make me say goodbye to my cash and throw this in the bin where it belongs. What a disappointment. The plot could have been serviceable but it was wholly historically inadequate and poorly written. Stephanie Laurens may have the odd historical error, but her characters are well formed and the events feel of the period. Lady Sophia's Lover was laughable, and the writing stile crass and grating. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance)
Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) by Lisa Kleypas (Mass Market Paperback - 15 Aug. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews