Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!
This is continuing the series about The Bow Street Runners.
It's wonderfully written and the story and characthers flow beautifully from start to finish. The heroine Lady Sophia Sydney sets out to exact revenge on the Head of The Bow Street Runners Sir Ross Cannon. She holds him responible for the death of her brother John whilst on a convict ship to which he had...
Published on 13 Jun. 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars
With the exception of Sophia, who is given to histrionics, Kleypas's characters are well drawn and refreshingly levelheaded. Even her villain, a famed thieftaker, displays surprising dimensions. Through deft plotting and simple yet stylish prose, Kleypas distinguishes herself as a master of her craft
Published on 5 Dec. 2010 by Rebecca


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read!, 13 Jun. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is continuing the series about The Bow Street Runners.
It's wonderfully written and the story and characthers flow beautifully from start to finish. The heroine Lady Sophia Sydney sets out to exact revenge on the Head of The Bow Street Runners Sir Ross Cannon. She holds him responible for the death of her brother John whilst on a convict ship to which he had sentenced him. Sir Ross is facinated by Sophie from the start but because of his tragic first marriage, he initally fights the attraction he feels for her. Sir Ross's eventual seduction of Lady Sophia made me envy her!
The love scenes are very steamy and add to the appeal of the book. The story is well researched, very engrossing and I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

This is classic Lisa Kleypas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent historical romance, 9 Sept. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
"Lady Sophia's Lover" is the first book I've read by Lisa Kleypas. I liked it so much that I intend to read her other novels as well. The author's writing style is great and it keeps you reading and reading until you finish. The story is set in early 19th century England mostly in London. The plot is very original and very interesting. The main characters are unusual and the approach to romance is original.The leading characters are Lady Sophia Sydney, daughter and orphan of an impoverished noble family.She works as a housekeeper in order to survive.She is very attractive and she seeks new employment at Sir Ross Cannon's Bow Street public office.The leading male character is Sir Ross, the Head of the famous Bow Street Runners and one of the most eligible widowers in London. He is a ruggedly handsome, hard-working and bitter man who has lived his life in celibacy after his wife's untimely death. He feels immediately attracted to Sophia and he cannot comprehend why does she want to work at his office. Sophia has her own serious reasons for seducing Sir Ross and to make him suffer publicly and privately. She thinks that her young brother died because of him and she wants to revenge him.She is a passionate woman and she cannot help to feel deep attraction and later love for Sir Ross. She fights her feelings but her love is stronger than her wish for vengeance.
Sir Ross feels so attracted to Sophia that he cannot stay in a room with her without touching her. She is the first woman who makes him to forget his bitter mourning and to find happiness in her arms. The relationship of Ross and Sophia is very sensual, hot and full of passion. I was surperised by the tasteful love scenes and the passionate feelings which make the book exciting and hard to put down. Ms Kleypas has done a good research of the era and the Bow Street Runners. She describes her characters very well and makes them alive and approachable.
The story is action-packed and you finish reading the book in record time.
LADY SOPHIA'S LOVER is a fascinating story of love, passion, trust and understanding.It's interesting to follow how the main characters find the way to each other through their love.
I've enjoyed this beautiful romance very much and I highly recommend it to all historical romance lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's Lover Review, 4 Jan. 2010
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is marvelously written with a deep plot and gripping characters who are pleasing and entertaining in every sense of the word! I found this book thoroughly enjoyable, being a huge fan of Lisa Kleypas I was looking forward to the arrival of this book and was not let down by the read. Sophia is a kind, strong and considerate women, while Sir Ross Cannon is a proctective and equally caring hero. Overall all the characters you grow to like and the chemistry between the two main characters is genuine and utterly believable. This book is a Kleypas classic that cannot be missed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great read from start to finish, 13 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the fourth Lisa Kleypas book that I have read, most of which were her earlier works, which so far seem to be better than the more recent books. Lady Sophia (a bit pedantic of me, but in one of her other book's, Lisa's heroine points out to the hero that children of Viscounts do not have a courtesy title) goes to London to try to get revenge for her brother's death at the hand of Sir Ross Cannon. Very engaging characters - although Sir Ross is very moral and unyielding, he softens up under Sophia's influence, but not in an improbable way. nick Gentry is introduced to the scene, and he gets his own book later on. Another interesting character. I thoroughly enjoyed the story from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoy all of Lisa Kleypas' historical novels and they are all either a 4 or 5 star read. This is a four star. I liked the characters a lot, both of them are interesting, believable and very out of the ordinary. Sir Ross Cannon is an unusual hero: not a duke or an aristocrat - a working magistrate and a man driven by his need to make a difference to his world. Sophia is first driven by revenge and determined to destroy him but then overcome with admiration and love. The side plot is her discovery of her long lost, believed dead, brother, Nick Gentry, who is an intriguing character on the edge of the law. His story is also in the Bow Street Series and another great book. This is not a 5 star because somehow the poignancy is not there as it is in some of the other novels and it is slightly thinner on plot. The Theatre series is much better. And the Gamblers. But, it is very good and far better than many other novels of the same genre. Lisa Kleypas is an outstanding writer and I wish wish wish she had not abandoned historical writing because her modern novels are nothing special. Please come back to what you do best..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it, 29 Aug. 2012
again another nice light read by ms kleypas the only problem i now have with kleypas books is ,because ive read many, there is alot of repetition amongst the stories like the love scenes and descriptions sadly i suffer from a very good memory and though her stories are great im tired of reading whole paragraphs that i have read in her other books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their chemistry sizzles from the very start!, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this story and couldn't wait to put my feet up and relax each evening and enjoy reading where i left off. The main characters gorgeous, strait-laced but professional Sir Ross Cannon and the beautiful, sweet Lady Sophia Sydney are wonderful and it's funny to see how they try so hard to resist each other but there is so much chemistry in the air every time they're together. If you're a big Lisa Kleypas fan like i am, you'll LOVE this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 stars, 5 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) (Mass Market Paperback)
With the exception of Sophia, who is given to histrionics, Kleypas's characters are well drawn and refreshingly levelheaded. Even her villain, a famed thieftaker, displays surprising dimensions. Through deft plotting and simple yet stylish prose, Kleypas distinguishes herself as a master of her craft
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The start of another fabulous series of stories!, 16 Jun. 2013
Another great read from Lisa Kleypas who is rapidly becoming one of my favourite authors. Once again no sooner have you started the first chapter than you are hooked because of the brilliant writing you are immediately drawn into the story by the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophia's lover. Number two on series. Bow street., 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had high hopes for the series two novel. However, once again, after the first few chapters of the novel, the storyline became predictable that I could almost write this story myself. The novel is enjoyable, however, it is not thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance)
Lady Sophia's Lover (Avon Historical Romance) by Lisa Kleypas (Mass Market Paperback - 15 Aug. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews