Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well-written historical romance
"The Dangerous Lord" is an entertaining story set in London and the English countryside in 1820. Felicity Taylor is an attractive young lady fallen on hard times after her father's untimely death. In order to earn her living and support her four younger brothers she writes society gossip for her column in The Evening Gazette under the pseudonym of "Lord X". Ian Lennard,...
Published on 17 April 2003 by ambersaxon696

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but missed the mark somehow
I've read quite a few historical romances where the plot involves the heroine writing articles for some tawdry Regency gossip rag or another....she tends to almost always have something of an obsession with the hero, zeroing in on him and then tormenting the poor man with the sharp inky tip of her quill! Well, Dangerous Lord is no different there except perhaps the...
Published on 9 Aug 2011 by Potty for Romance


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very well-written historical romance, 17 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) (Mass Market Paperback)
"The Dangerous Lord" is an entertaining story set in London and the English countryside in 1820. Felicity Taylor is an attractive young lady fallen on hard times after her father's untimely death. In order to earn her living and support her four younger brothers she writes society gossip for her column in The Evening Gazette under the pseudonym of "Lord X". Ian Lennard, the Viscount St. Clair is one of the victims of this highly critical column and he wants to confront Lord X and make him stop publicly speculating about his mysterious past. He is a very handsome young gentleman surrounded by lots of mystery and notorious gossip. He urgently needs an heir and therefore he is looking for a suitable wife. Lord X's scandalous gossip makes it nearly impossible for him to find a well-bred young lady willing to marry him. When he finds out that Lord X is a head-strong young woman, he is furious but strangely attracted to her at the same time. He cannot keep her out of his mind and he vows to win their battle of wills. Felicity is just as stubborn and her opinion of Ian is the worst ever possible. She considers him a notorious debaucher but how hardly she tries she cannot ignore the disturbing feelings his powerful charm awakens in her. Both leading protagonists are intelligent and loyal people scared of losing their hearts and scared of showing their deep emotions. The author delivers an exciting and colourful battle of the sexes supported by witty dialogues not only by the leading couple but by the numerous secondary characters as well. Readers who have read Ms. Jeffries' previous "Lord" books will welcome meeting many of their heros and heroines in this one too.
THE DANGEROUS LORD is a fascinating historical romance because it fully captures the reader's interest and keeps it until the end.Although the plot is not the newest but Ms. Jeffries's lively characters and their deep and witty conversations make it a first-class piece of work of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and light Regency romance, 21 Mar 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) (Mass Market Paperback)
For those who like Regency romances of the ilk that abound on bookshelves, 'The Dangerous Lord' is satisfying. The story of a mysterious viscount with a murky past clashing swords (figuratively, fortunately) with a hard-up young spinster is nothing new. Neither are any of the situations, settings, behaviours or conclusions of the book. Still it's an enjoyable and easy read with two endearing characters, a host of side-characters who are also good (evidently there have been previous novels in this group, although I hadn't read them and that didn't seem to matter) and a few minor mysteries to bring to light.

For those who like serious Regencies with great historicity (such as those by Georgette Heyer, Laura Kinsale and, to some extent, Mary Balogh) this book isn't for you. Like most Regencies published today our characters speak American English, behave far too freely and unguardedly (in this book people are on first-name terms very quickly with people they've just met) and talk about their feelings in a most un-British way. You're really reading a modern love story set in a different time and era which gives it a little more piquancy - and gives the whole concept of honour and ruin more force - but doesn't really feel fully at home in that era.

As in most of these books there's a Big Misunderstanding. It's actually a rather annoying Big Misunderstanding as Felicity, our heroine, seems to disbelieve something Ian the viscount has told her multiple times whereas she believes other things about him when their truth becomes apparent. It's sort-of necessary for the plot but wasn't entirely convincing to me. Then when the really big dark secret comes out - one that I think was actually fairly significant - she's so in love she just brushes it off. Surprising, but there you go.

There's a side theme of a secret society writer commenting on events which was very reminiscent of Julia Quinn's 'Lady Whistledown' in her Bridgerton series. As I mentioned before, there's nothing new in this novel, but for those who don't ask for strong historical accuracy and really deep characters this is a perfectly acceptable read. It's not a keeper for me but I enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an enjoyable read, 14 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read quite a few of Sabrina Jeffries books, but this is my favourite. I love the idea, which is that the heroine is writing a gossip column, and starts writing about the hero, calling him Lord X. He can't stand for that, and wants to find out who is behind the scurrilous rumours that are appearing about him in the papers. The hero and heroine are both likeable, and the book draws you in as the secret of the heroine's identity unfolds. It has plenty of humour, plenty of sex, and is plenty of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantasticly engrossing, 3 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) (Mass Market Paperback)
i loved this book & especially the hero because the author was not afraid to give him some negative traits so he seemed real & down to earth.i loved the way she developed the story & characters so it kept you wanting to read the next page without getting bored. i will now buy many more of her books. i also thought dangerous lord was brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With just a bit more oomphh, 27 Dec 2012
it could so easily have been a 5 star read, it just missed the mark slightly. Actually one I paid for, and it was worth the spend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but missed the mark somehow, 9 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) (Mass Market Paperback)
I've read quite a few historical romances where the plot involves the heroine writing articles for some tawdry Regency gossip rag or another....she tends to almost always have something of an obsession with the hero, zeroing in on him and then tormenting the poor man with the sharp inky tip of her quill! Well, Dangerous Lord is no different there except perhaps the obsession part. I really have enjoyed so much of Sabrina Jeffries work and after reading the reviews for Dangerous Lord I thought it was a sure thing....but it just didn't quite hit "the mark".

Our leading man Ian Lennard, Viscount St. Clair, has the all makings of a great romantic hero- he's an intelligent, tall, lean, dark and dangerous war hero who also happens to be wealthy, titled AND half Spanish to boot but he just failed to light my wick for some reason. I feel it was perhaps something in his uninspiring dialogue throughout a lot of the book, his distance from his friends, his overly incensed reaction to Lord X's column, his endless mystery, his almost desperate need for a wife (we know he HAS to marry but come on!) and the fact that you as the reader just don't really get to see his character unfold with any great depth or sparkle and so you can't really develop any empathy for him and it's frustrating when he won't just open up and tell his story when constantly asked to. It's a shame because so much about the writing and the story is really good. The heroine Felicity Taylor is better written than our hero but it's her fabulously eccentric household that constantly brought a smile to my face- her bossy and forthright snowy haired housekeeper, her serious and scholarly twelve year old brother and her three younger brothers...triplets no less, full of energy, imaginative pranks and general boyish mayhem all living together in a griffin adorned Gothic town house! Great!

The development of the couples romance was smooth and made for good reading even if it wasn't always greatly rousing. The first kiss and first love scene were steamy and exciting and I always enjoy a sexy encounter! On the whole the book is quite diverting and enjoyable, it wasn't one that "I just couldn't put down" but more one that "I kept coming back to throughout the day and was happy to pick up"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lord Trilogy, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery very quick from ordering. Very happy with it, I have enjoyed all the books in this series. Very entertaining read. I very much enjoy the storytelling quite enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to her usual standard. Spoilers, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Beth (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually love Sabrina Jeffries' books, but I couldn't even finish this one. It was like an old fashioned romance in that the hero, Ian was an insufferable and arrogant boor. He forces his attentions on the heroine, Felicity because he wants to ruin her in revenge for some articles she has written. He does this knowing that this will devastate her life and social standing. And we're supposed to like this man? After he decides that he does want her for himself (she intrigues him!) he manipulates, stalks, seduces and then uses her poverty to force her to marry him. He also resents the time and love she has for her four brothers. In any other novel he would be the villain!

Luckily for him Felicity is a real insipid Miss. Although she talks big about wanting respect and love, she simply melts at his masterful touch and always gives in despite her promises to herself. Ugh. I rolled my eyes many times at her actions and reasoning, and in the end had to stop reading.

The other annoyance is the lack of historical reality. Ian is discovered kissing Felicity and then sneaks into her room to forcefully seduce her so she has to marry him (!) and once again he is spotted by, we are told, the ton's biggest gossip. But nothing is mentioned of it by anyone afterward. In reality (and other novels) Felicity would be ostracised completely.

All in all I cannot recommend this book. Read other by Jeffries, or Courtney Milan, Sherry Thomas or Julia Quinn. These have realistic, strong women falling for good, honourable men. Not arrogant rakes forcefully seducing silly girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The dangerous lord, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delectable story excellent ladies you will love this superb kindle book. Buy it now Sabrina Jeffries is an excellent writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story was entertaining and moved along at a good pace. A real page turner, with plenty of humour too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure)
The Dangerous Lord (Avon Romantic Treasure) by Sabrina Jeffries (Mass Market Paperback - 5 Jun 2011)
£6.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews