Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel, lush and yum, puts a big smile on your face.
Though unfortunatly not as explicit in her sex scenes as some of the previous Bar Cynester series there is still something deliciously compelling about Gabriel and the chemistry between himself and 'the countess'. I don't find it so unbelievable that he didn't deduce her identity immeadiatly - people see what they expect to see and Gabriel had got too used to his...
Published on 11 Oct 2000

versus
12 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 'Immaculate Contraception' strikes again!
Another Cynster novel, and yet another domineering alpha male paired with an independent-minded female. Now, I *like* independent-minded women, but somehow whenever Laurens writes them, the heroine seems to lose all of her independence and common sense whenever the hero comes into view. Falling in love's one thing, but this is ridiculous!
Okay, so we have, this time,...
Published on 1 Sep 2003 by Dr W. Richards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gabriel, lush and yum, puts a big smile on your face., 11 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Though unfortunatly not as explicit in her sex scenes as some of the previous Bar Cynester series there is still something deliciously compelling about Gabriel and the chemistry between himself and 'the countess'. I don't find it so unbelievable that he didn't deduce her identity immeadiatly - people see what they expect to see and Gabriel had got too used to his 'uncomfortable' reaction to Alathea that his different reaction to 'the countess' was bound to throw him off. Poor Lucifer - he can run but he can not hide. And I can't wait to see what the twins do, I hope that they remain as astute and determined as they have been, then again I can't see them being coy - not from this family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm a huge fan of SL and this one didn't let me down., 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I would recommend it to any historical romance fan. Great fun, loads of emotion, laughs and plot. The only thing is ... I haven't found a Chillingworth title yet so come on SL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's no secret that you will enjoy this one, 9 Mar 2013
A overpowering debt that will ruin her family drives Lady Alathea Morwellan to seek help from her childhood friend and combatant Rupert (Gabriel) Cynster. Except that she feels she can only do so disguised as a Widowed Countess to ensure that she gains his full support, and he doesn't just leave the matter to his men of business.

As is always obvious with the Bar Cynster he will of course seek, and claim a reward ... her.

His desires get higher along with the stakes and eventually thanks to the mistake of a tweenie she reveals herself to him in a ballroom, simply by the perfume she has used in error.

Eventually sufficient proof to get the debt overturned is obtained, and both declare their love ... apparently not something easy to obtain from a Cynster.

It made me cry ... a 5 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WELL WORTH A READ, 15 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
This is the third Cynster book I've read, would like to marry Vane & Chillingworth, or even our hero Gabriel. Nice to see Chillingworth appear in this book, along with Gabriel's very enticing cousins - u have to feel pity for poor old Lucifer, your time will come! .The social whirl our delightful hero (yum yum) and heroine are involved in, provides a good backdrop to the steamy love story, played out in this book.
Gabriel is sufficiently manly, whilst having a cute soft side, the message with the flowers makes a nice touch.
This is a good read, that you wont want to put down until the end, I had many a distracted conversation!
Go forth and enjoy, but only if this type of book floats your boat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful read for Cynster fans, 5 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Another fantastic novel in the Cynster series, sizzling - just as we would expect from such a compelling series.Can't wait to tuck into Lucifer's story...if only I could tuck into him instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine book of the kind we expect from Ms Laurens!, 15 Aug 2000
This review is from: A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was so excited to receive this book that I got up early this morning and read it first thing - I was even late for work for it! While the elements of the stereotypical 'bodice-ripper' are all certainly there, the entertaining manner of writing and the fleshing out of some secondary characters was what I really enjoyed. I particularly liked the development of Chillingworth towards the end, and the twins' 'offensive' against Gabriel and Lucifer made me nearly laugh out loud! While overall not as steamy as some of the earlier books, still definitely worth purchasing for any Cynster fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars collecting hardbacks, 22 Jun 2014
This review is from: A Secret Love (Hardcover)
One of my favourite novels, my only issue is that collecting hardbacks is a growing practise now and at times there is no new item of good condition to obtain without it costing a great deal more than it warrants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Cynster book, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my favourite of the Cynster novels possibly because it is not love at first sight but a long friendship that turns into love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great Book, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A confident heroine, a dashing hero and a dastardly villain! What more can you ask for in a book like this?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good plots great characters a great read and have alreay recommended them to friends and family, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
fab books read all cynster bar on kindle which are quick and easy to download. recommended them to my friends and family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Secret Love (Cynster Novels)
A Secret Love (Cynster Novels) by Stephanie Laurens (Mass Market Paperback - 11 Oct 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews