Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2005
In the book, Jack Devlin has finally found the one person who he is completely comfortable with, and as time moves on, his relationship with Amanda Briars develops into the perfect relationship any female in the 19th century would admire. they have this unextinguishable passion that keeps them coming back together. when circumstances cause them to finally get married, Amanda has a lot of freedom and her husband loves everything about her. This is one of my favourie books and i think Lisa Kleypas outdid herself in this book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2003
"Suddenly You" is a beautifully written love story from an interesting social circle in early 19th century London. The story takes places in the literary circles of the era among prominent writers, publishers and also ruthless businessmen.Amanda Briars is a respectable well-bred young woman who lives her life in quiet harmony writing successful novels. She is satisfied with her life until she reaches her 30th birthday. She longs after a night of love in the arms of a handsome man and she would cherish its memory forever. The man of her dreams appears at her door and she is so confused that she mistakes him for her birthday present. Jack Devlin is enchanted by Amanda's charms and he goes along with her mistaken belief. They are passionately drawn to each other from the first moment and Jack has a hard time to keep himself of seducing her.
They meet again at a literary evening due and Amanda finds out his true identity. The air sparkles between them and their confrontations get more and more heated. Amanda is an innocent and respectable woman and she fights her growing attraction for Jack whose reputation is tarnished and his origins unclear. The circumstances of their social standing give them plenty of opportunity to meet and their attraction for each other deepens.
Fate has an interesting plan for them which turns their lives upside down. The author's clever choice of different social backgrounds is admirable and very refreshing. It adds zest to the tale. The reader gets to know more about the life of writers and publishers in the 19th century and this background is a perfect setting for the storyline which never slows down and is very capturing.
SUDDENLY YOU is a beautifully written historical romance which will warm the reader's heart. I highly recommend it to all fans of this talented author and this entertaining genre.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 August 2007
This book an extremely good book, i enjoyed the whole thing probably right up into in one of the last chapters the "raspberry scene" my god, i was very much grossed out and a little disturbed by that scene (good job i dont like raspberries), but barring that one bit which was maybe 2 pages at the most the other 382 pages were excellent, I wil be reading this again but skipping those 2 pages.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
Ive read this book years ago. And bought it again recently. I just love this story so much. I fell inlove with the characters and experienced their ups and downs. I love Lisa Kleypas and read most of her books. I give this book 5 stars with two thumbs up.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2004
The heroine is novelist Amanda Briars, the book opens as she purchases a 30th birthday present for herself - a man! For Amanda is unmarried and innocent but even though her sisters have said that sex is an unpleasant necessity she thinks it will be wonderful and wants to experience it.
The hero is Jack Devlin a publisher, he turns up as Amanda expects her man. Thus begins a passionate affair between them which they keep a secret. When the inevitable happens for Jack was not careful one time confusion and misunderstandings ensue.
My main problem with the book is the motivations for both the characters. Jack is a wrong side of the blanket son of a nobleman - Jack believes his father does not love or care for him. But when his mum died (after having many other 'protectors') his father puts him in a school ok it's a horrid school but in that age his dad kept a tab on him to know his mum died and paid for him to go to school when he could have just let Jack go to the poor house, his dad also lends(wanted to give but Jack pays him back) him a large sum of money to set up his business but Jack thinks his father never cared for him at all?!? And is upset when his ½ siblings don't want to know him.
I will admit that half way through to finish the book I ended up skipping a lot of the sex scenes as the book had got that tedious.
This book was not for me as I could not quite get over the motivations thing but I can see that others might like the book as it is otherwise well written.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
Lisa Kleypas does it again! She takes an improbable premise and makes it work for the reader. Her characters are challenged and challenging for the reader; the personalities engage the reader from the first page. If you are a lover of romantic fiction (as I am) and believe that there is that "right man" out there somewhere(as I do) then you will enjoy this book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
I love lisa kleypas' books and it was the same with this book until about 3/4 of the way through it. I loved the conflict and the way Jack Devlin's character was developed.
Until about 3/4 of the way through i liked Amanda Briars, and then she really started to irritate me, but that might just be my personal opinion.
And finally, if you've read the book i only need to say one word- rasberries, yeah i think i'm not the only one thinking they would've preferred not to read that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2004
Lisa Kleypas writes truly gripping romances. This is another example of a wonderfully original story, about two individuals who do not play by society's rules.
I especially love the hero - he is unconventional, brave, and not afraid to go for what he wants. Despite an abused childhood, he has trumphant in the face of all his hardships, and not afraid of what others think of him. And yet, he is kind and protective towards those who are weaker and unable to defend themselves. Most of all, what amazes me is the revelation at the end of the story - he is 5 years younger than the heroine!! Gad, this is almost unheard of in regency romances!
His love is constant, and believable. This is definitely a must read, if you want to enjoy a refreshing plot, with adventurous twists. A truly truly wonderful book!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2002
This book is well written, full of the usual dilemas, the romance starts off in the most unusual way brilliant! The hero & heroine are a perfect match, Amanda knows what she wants and when she wants it. Jack is handsom, and wants Amanda, will do anything to have her, even give her up! Excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
Good prompt service. Enjoyable book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.