Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written second book in the Cynster series
"A Rake's Vow" continues to introduce the reader with the charming Cynster Bar males in Regency England.
This is the story of Vane Cynster, best friend of Devil Cynster whose story is wonderfully delivered in "Devil's Bride" by this author. Vane Cynster is just as handsome as his cousin and he has a special commanding presence about him that makes him stand out among...
Published on 24 April 2003 by ambersaxon696

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre read
Review taken from my Blog Post (#50) in December 2010 after borrowing the book from the local library:

What can I say .... it was pleasant, but not much of a story compared to some of her other efforts.

Vane Cynster (Spencer) takes shelter from an on-coming storm (and fate) at his Godmother's home and meets her Niece, Patience Debbington...
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Toodles Book Club


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well-written second book in the Cynster series, 24 April 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
"A Rake's Vow" continues to introduce the reader with the charming Cynster Bar males in Regency England.
This is the story of Vane Cynster, best friend of Devil Cynster whose story is wonderfully delivered in "Devil's Bride" by this author. Vane Cynster is just as handsome as his cousin and he has a special commanding presence about him that makes him stand out among the other aristocrats. He is more than sure that he will never marry and he decides to leave the matchmaking mamas in London and takes refuge in his godmother's country house. Bellamy Hall is full of weird and also interesting inhabitants. Vane arrives in the middle of a storm to meet the most beautiful and most stubborn woman he has ever met. Patience Debbington is a very intelligent and independent young lady. She knows what she wants and she definitely knows whose company is troublesome and undesirable. She doesn't like Vane despite of their mutual
attraction. She considers him one of the ton's most dangerous representatives "an elegant gentleman". She wants him to leave Bellamy Hall as soon as possible and protect her younger brother from his "bad" influence. Vane is intrigued. He is powerfully pulled to Patience and he picks up the challenge of conquering her. Bellamy Hall has its own mysterious happenings and Vane stays to investigate and of course to woo Patience. Their battle of the sexes is very passionate and full of witty dialogues and humorous interference from the other residents. In the meantime the reader gets to meet the Cynster family. They are a very family-orientated lot and they look after each other. The author is very good with her fascinating characterization and she manages to introduce both the leading duo and the supporting cast as humans with all their beauty and follies.
A RAKE'S VOW is a fabulous historical romance combining a passionate love story with an exciting mystery. It also gives us another insight into the life of a proper and caring aristocratic family in Regency England. I look forward to reading more about them in the next book and highly recommend it to all readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keep introducing me to the Cynster men!!!, 9 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
This was the first book I read of Stepjanie's Lauren's or the Cynster series. I am hooked!! Vane was so refreshing, and so real in his reactions. I thought Patience was wonderful!! I was surprised to read that the majority of the other reader reveiws found her boring. I have a very busy day with work and family, and found this book to be fun, engrosiing, a wonderful story, and not at all insulting of my intelligence. I loved this book, the story line, the characters, Vane, and the incredible love scenes. Maybe because this was the first of the Ms. Lauren's books, I was not set up for diappointment. I have since purchased "Scandals' Bride" and LOVED it am now ordering Devil's Bride. These Cynster Men are awe-inspiring!! Let me say that I would like to thank Ms. Lauren's for doing more for the lovelife in my 11 year marriage than anything else - Stephanie Lauren's writing is the most wonderful aphrodesiac!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another fantastic Cynster novel, 18 Jun. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was surprised to read some of the reviews of 'A Rakes Vow'. Many of the ctitics don't seem to have understood the book properly. Vane is so named because he always knows which way the wind is blowing, as said by Minnie in 'A Rakes Vow', and also by quite a few people in 'Devils Bride'. He succumbed to the thought of marriage quicker and quieter than Devil because he knew instinctively that Patience was the one for him. And why do people keep saying that Patience wasn't right for him, that she was too slow getting to the alter? That's the whole point of Cynster books; the reluctant beautiful young woman and the gorgeous hunk who uses all his charm, sex appeal and just plain Cynsterness to persuade her to marry him! It would have been a very short, very boring book if Patience had happily agreed to marry Vane as soon as he asked her. Personally, I thought it was yet another fantastic novel by Stephanie Laurens who is, in my humble opinion, one of the best authors of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, 12 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Although not quite as strong as Devil's Bride, Vane's story is another winner from Stephanie Laurens. Continuing from where the previous book left off, Vane leaves London in the hope of avoiding his relatives' unwanted matchmaking efforts, only to come face to (err)tail with his future wife. He is smitten, and has to use all his considerable charm and skill to win her over. Once again the love scenes are imaginative and sizzling, which can only add to the draw and sexiness of the Cynster men.Why can't there really be men like that?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This romance author has the talent to be a superstar, 26 Aug. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
By 1819, Spencer Vane Cynster knows which direction his heart blows when it comes for him to give away his love: nowhere. Vane has vowed to never love or marry anyone because he prefers to be the recipient of pleasurable indulgences from all the aristocratic ladies of the Ton.

Patience Debbingham has no use for her male peers and she trusts none of this worthless lot. Since her parents are both dead, the independent Patience is used to doing what she wants even as she raises her teenage brother. They meet when he seeks shelter from a nasty storm in her aunt's home. When her sibling becomes the prime suspect of recent criminal activities, the pair works together to ferret out the real identity of the outlaw. However, both soon realize that the calamitous weather that brought them together moved indoors, with them being in the eye of a passionate storm.
Readers will swear that the second "Cynster" Regency romance, A RAKE,S VOW, is one of the sub-genre's top novels of the year. The story line is whimsical yet filled with intrigue and romance. The lead protagonists are a delightfully daring duo, who challenge much of propriety as they find love with one another. After reading this novel and its predecessor, THE DEVIL'S BRIDE, fans will be clamoring for more stories to quickly fall from the Bar Cynster family tree.
Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable read, 27 Jun. 2007
By 
i bought this to pass some time and have enjoyed it and am looking at the rest of the family tree. as with most, the story is quite predictable but the missing jewels and spectre add a bit of guessing until very near the end.

references to other members of the family (and therefore their stories ) are quite sparse so easily read on its own.

all in all an easy quick read that will not tax you overly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the first, 17 July 2013
By 
Erica (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second of the Cynster novels, this is in many aspects a much better effort than the first one. Central to all of them (or at least the first six) are the Bar Cynster: six men of around the same age, all brothers or first cousins and all in want of wives, even if they do not know this or want to admit to it.
This is Regency England, shortly after the Napoleonic Wars, and the Cynster clan encompasses your typical alpha males. Outwardly they are perfect gentlemen, always turned out to perfection and looking frightfully dashing. They are arrogant to their fingertips, never prepared to admit that they are wrong or to bow down to anyone, certainly not a woman. The leading male in this book, Vane, summarises this to the leading lady early in the book: "I am not a gentleman," he drawls confidently to her. "I am a conqueror."
If you can handle your men this testosterone-laden, then this book is a joy to read. Vane is much the same as his cousin Devil (subject of the first book), but thankfully our heroine, Patience Debbington, is sufficiently different from Devil's wife Honoria, and this isn't just a repeat of book one but with different names. The whodunit subplot is also much better handled, in that this time I didn't figure out the culprit until much, much later in the book.
The plot is pretty simple. Vane, on his way to somewhere or other, is forced to seek shelter with his godmother Minnie by an unexpected thunderstorm. As an aside, this appears a popular theme with this author: book one featured a thunderstorm, and there is another thunderstorm later in this book. I'm wondering whether this is a veiled way of showing that the Cynsters only bow to forces of nature, but I digress.
Minnie always plays hostess to a variety of people, and this time her strays include her niece Patience, who has taken her seventeen-year-old brother Gerrard with her to prepare him for introduction into the aristocratic ton. Vane sees Patience, desires her, and the rest is pretty easy to predict. The subplot revolves around a petty thief who steals objects of minor value and someone wandering the ruins at night with a light, but it's all just window-dressing to the centrepiece of Vane and Patience's building desire for each other. I found most the secondary characters fairly interchangeable, which wasn't helped by two of them being called Edgar and Edward, so I could never remember who was who, but again this did not detract from my overall enjoyment of the book.
The romance is sizzling, the sex is searing. I'm always curious as to how the men in this era manage to be so confidently experienced in the carnal arts when a woman is considered fallen if she has sex outside of marriage, but I haven't often seen the whole `experienced man with green virgin' trope this well-executed. I must also give Vane credit for actually being able to utter the words `I love you', since Devil was too much of an alpha to do so.
All in all a gem of a romance, even if most of the other characters take second or even third fiddle, and while I hope that the whole range of manly Cynster men won't start to get boring, I'm very much looking forward to the next book in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 17 Aug. 2011
By 
Mrs. Leanne A. Lingwood (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My summary of the book - Vane takes shelter at his Godmother's house on route to a friend's house. He ends up staying to help with the search of the thief and "Spectre" and also to find out more about Patience who meets as he arrives. Vane starts to investigate while trying to work out Patience who in turn tries to stay away but when she told more about him she lets him in. Passion soon ignites between the pair and Vane has a challenge to convince Patience he is the man for her.

Thoughts on the characters - Patience distrusts Vane when he takes up residence in her aunt's house as she classes him the same way like her father but Vane is not what she seems. She finds out that he is not like other men and her opinion of him changes. As their relationship develops she is determined not to marry him as she still doesn't believe a man like him would love her but she does fall for him and knows he is the one for her. But she doesn't want to be in a marriage where it is one sided and end up hurt. She is also very protective and tries to shield her brother from the nastiness of the thieving business in the house as everyone believes he is the one.
Vane spends most of his time trying to work out Patience, first why she is so against him and why he can't spend time with her brother and then when the first impression is changed he has to fight her for why she won't marry him. He knows she is the one for him and is determined to make her his but he has to get over the hurdle that is holding her back. He is very protective and shows that when he stands up for her brother and he also tries to show her that his family is very close knit and would do anything for each other.

Overall thoughts - As the story progresses it gets very passionate between the pair which is interesting as Vane is determined to use his passion as a way to show his feelings to Patience but when she still refuses him it confuses the life out him. That is always amusing when men are confused over the women in their lives. The mystery surrounding the thieving and sights of a dark figure makes the book more interesting and helps the story along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre read, 24 Mar. 2013
Review taken from my Blog Post (#50) in December 2010 after borrowing the book from the local library:

What can I say .... it was pleasant, but not much of a story compared to some of her other efforts.

Vane Cynster (Spencer) takes shelter from an on-coming storm (and fate) at his Godmother's home and meets her Niece, Patience Debbington.

A mysterious thief and the equally mysterious Spectre of the Abbey Ruins need to be run to ground, which he does with ease and wins his girl.

A 3 *** Star effort is all I can give it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Patient, 21 Oct. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with the reader who said to read this book for Vane. The character of Patience was a little hard to believe. She dragged her feet over too many pages! The writing itself was charismatic, interesting and just plain great, but Patience took too long to make up her mind. Vane, on the other hand, was just as a hero should be. Stephanie Laurens' first book, Devil's Bride, blew me away. I'm glad she revisited her original characters in this one....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels)
Rake's Vow (Cynster Novels) by Stephanie Laurens (Mass Market Paperback - 19 Jan. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews