Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to shamanic practice for beginner and experienced alike
This book is one of the most accessible, practical, and easy to read approaches to Shamanism, or any other branch of magic, that I have read. (I have been reading such books for the past 30 years). Like another reviewer I also can't understand why this book seems to have been overlooked. Perhaps it is because earlier editions (Avon Books edition 1988) were extraordinarily...
Published on 8 April 2008 by Philip End

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not a Beginner's Book
Particularly excited to get my hands on this book, I was thoroughly disappointed in both its outward appearance and the way it is presented.
I would have preferred a hands-on approach rather than a detailed 'how-I-did-it' which is how the author(s) chose to arrange it. One of them is a PhD, however this is probably why it comes across as more of a headache to read...
Published on 5 Dec. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to shamanic practice for beginner and experienced alike, 8 April 2008
By 
Philip End (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is one of the most accessible, practical, and easy to read approaches to Shamanism, or any other branch of magic, that I have read. (I have been reading such books for the past 30 years). Like another reviewer I also can't understand why this book seems to have been overlooked. Perhaps it is because earlier editions (Avon Books edition 1988) were extraordinarily cheap, in a budget format and therefore undervalued.

I feel I must mention a poor earlier review which says they would have prefered a 'hands on approach rather than a how I did it approach'. This totally misrepresents this book as it is exactly the opposite of what they say. I can only think they had another title in mind.

It is very enjoyable, and very clearly written and presented. I would recommend this book to anyone wanting an informed and practical workbook to get them started in Shamanism. It has a graduated series of a very large number of practical exercises and rituals. It has a clear account of the shamanic world view and is also liberally sprinkled with illustrative teaching stories which really help to bring to life the practical applications of the techniques.

It may also be interesting to know that one of the the authors, Jose, is a very well established psychotherapist and that the other, Lena, works in the world of business. They have each written other excellent books with applications in these fields.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent workbook!, 8 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of the best guides on practical shamanism I've ever read. It must also be a well-kept secret, for I have never seen it referenced. It is well organized, with more exercises outlined than I could count at the moment. Just a wonderful resource for anyone interested in applied shamanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A practical and insightful book on modern shamanism, 25 Sept. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
This is one of my all-time favorite books on Western shamanism. It's unique among countless books on the subject. I appreciate the respectful way the authors treat indigenous peoples. As an initiate of a traditional shaman, I highly recommend _Secrets of Shamanism_ for those wishing to pursue an independent study course that is safe and effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good starting point, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
This is a very good book on Shamanism which will explain to those who have no knowledge what Shamanism is about, and useful to those in the know for practising meditations and to expand their experience of Shamanism. It's easy to read, the practise exercises are useful and can be performed by anybody, or are easily adapted .
I would recommend it for a beginner in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The secrets of Shamanism, 8 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
I loved this interesting book,a fascinating insight into the ways of the Shaman. The exercises are easily followed . I would recommend reading it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book presents shamanism in an easy to understand way and helps with my thirst and ..., 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
This book presents shamanism in an easy to understand way and helps with my thirst and quench for knowledge. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not a Beginner's Book, 5 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
Particularly excited to get my hands on this book, I was thoroughly disappointed in both its outward appearance and the way it is presented.
I would have preferred a hands-on approach rather than a detailed 'how-I-did-it' which is how the author(s) chose to arrange it. One of them is a PhD, however this is probably why it comes across as more of a headache to read than a book to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pop Culture at it worst, 11 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
There are many better books out there regarding shamanism. This is nothing more than pop-culture. The authors have jumped on a bandwagon. You can follow a set of instructions written out by the authors but they've been stripped of any real meaning. Shamanism is part of an ancient culture and it deserves much better than this. I suggest works by Alberto Villoldo or Ross Heaven who are both genuine practitioners of Shamanism and can both write in an engaging and informative way with a real knowledge and passion for this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You (Mass Market Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You
The Secrets of Shamanism: Tapping the Spirit Power within You by Lena Stevens (Mass Market Paperback - 31 Aug. 1988)
£5.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews