Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ripping yarns
This book was not written by H.P. Lovercarft and nor is it some ancient tale of ghoulishness. The original Necronomicaon was a fictional book described by H.P. Lovecraft in his short story The Hound, and later in The Nameless City. Other authors latterly mentioned it with Lovecraft's approval.

There have also been several hoaxes over the years, including this...
Published on 21 July 2007 by Dr Fox

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think i just sold my soul?
This book was bought as a spur of the moment purchase, intended to provide a greater understanding of lovecraft and insight into the dreaded book he mentions so often in his work.

The book reads very strangely and doesn't really give you much insight into anything, the language proves difficult at times and constantly throws dizzying amounts of strange...
Published on 11 Dec 2009 by I. Alcock


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ripping yarns, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was not written by H.P. Lovercarft and nor is it some ancient tale of ghoulishness. The original Necronomicaon was a fictional book described by H.P. Lovecraft in his short story The Hound, and later in The Nameless City. Other authors latterly mentioned it with Lovecraft's approval.

There have also been several hoaxes over the years, including this very book by 'Simon' in the 70's. Although this version by Simon, and its subsequent sequels, has little in common with Lovecrafts original Mythos. Robert Turner wrote a version that is far closer to Lovecraft's original descriptions.

I'll give this book 4 Stars as it's a decent hoax and pretty creepy read. The fact that there are people convinced of Necronomicons existence as a real ancient book almost one hundred years later would, I'm sure, make Lovecraft happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 137 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oooh what's that frothing in the corner, 15 Sep 2003
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
Well, I got the book in the post and had a quick look though it. Within ten minutes I had performed my first incantation and had Cthulhu in my living room. We watched a bit of TV and chatted about Shub Niggurath's upcoming divorce case, and eventually I shelled out £5 to get him a taxi back to R'lyeh.
I am hoping soon that the book will enable me to prattle on in poor English about Wicca and other recently created "religions" along with my other erstwhile collegues on this site.
The only thing that I found disappointing about this tome was the ease which I bought it. Amazon could at least make you spend ten years in Tibet searching for it before sending the book out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I think i just sold my soul?, 11 Dec 2009
By 
I. Alcock "Scaryrugmonster" (Cumbria, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book was bought as a spur of the moment purchase, intended to provide a greater understanding of lovecraft and insight into the dreaded book he mentions so often in his work.

The book reads very strangely and doesn't really give you much insight into anything, the language proves difficult at times and constantly throws dizzying amounts of strange pronounced names of demons and other higher entities at you (BURDISHU, DUMUDUKU, IRKINGU just to name a few). Their was a crazy amount of ritualistic rules for each of the "zonei" which become tedious to read very quickly "can only use the stone at night, with the blood of a panda, near a cow, in the library, with a candlestick".........snooze.

What i did like about the book was its intended occult feel and the way it was laid out, the first section of book which almost seems to say stop reading danger awaits. I especially liked the banishings sections, you know just in case......

This wasn't my cup of tea but i would say if you are interested in the (fake) occult then it might be worth a go. If like me you just read every now and again i suggest just picking up a lovecraft book instead, or you may accidentally invoke something beyond our comprehension.

Peace out
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The informed review, 22 April 2004
By 
Dan T (Orpington, KENT United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
In this review i will explain what the Necronomicon really is.
H.PLovecraft was an author of short horror stories in the 1920's-30's.Instedof using ghosts or vampires etc Lovecraft put his protaganists at themercy of the chaos of the universe.a common theme in his writing was thecult of Cthulhu (Cthulhu being a gigantic monstrosity from out of spaceregarded by his followers to be a god).The cult of Cthulhu was only knownto its followers,who practiced bizzare rituals etc in anticipation of hiscoming.Lovecraft invented the necronomican as the only writings about thecthulhu myth which his charecters could learn from and invented the authorthe mad arab abdul alhazred,he used the necronomicon in many stories,sodecided to actually write it! and attribute it to the mad arab ,he came upwith a whole history for it right down to the years it was supposedleyprinted and the languages it was printed in (greak,latin,etc)the namederives from astronomicon a work on astronomy by the greek poetManilius,he even came up with it's arabic name al-azif.
it is not agenuine occult book,it was never ment to be,it is a companion to his shortstorys,back story.to enjoy this book you should read lovecrafts storysfirst(they are the best horror storys ive ever read)
also the necronomicon always gets confused with the book of thedead(probably due to the evil dead films)its not the same book.The book ofthe dead is real it is a ancient Egyptian manual for the burial of thedead. its true title is the book of coming forth by day (if my memoryserves) and you can get modern re-prints of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Value a a genuine mythological work?, 26 Jun 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
This is an amalgamation of three sets of mythologies, Sumerian, Babyonian, and Cthonic. While Sumerian and Babylonian works are quite similar, they are often incorrectly fused within the Avon edition, although the tie of the Necronomicon to the ancient fertile crescent is unique to this edition. Of the Cthonic mythology, it is a tangled web of information and misinformation that may be impossible to weed through if their even is such a thing external to H.P. Lovecraft's fiction, and no one can really be sure of the actuality. Again the Avon Necronomicon fuses this with the other two mythologies. So on a question if this is a fake or not, Yes that these three mythologies never appeared together in the ancient world, but at least the Sumerian and Babylonian are real and can be researched externally. Of the Cthonic, this and several books on both sides of the issue the reader may find of interst. Finally, as an occult work. Assuming you believe in magic(k), the work is no less genuine than Wicca, the so-called ancient religion which is almost entirely modern, and is an excellent starting point to students of the occult interested in Non-Wiccan paganism and occultism which have been so igonred of late. In short, read it, compare to other occult works, literary works, and anthropological/mythological books. Enjoy and please don't destroy the Earth before I complete my Ph.d!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN, 11 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
It always cracks me up to see how the Million-Headed-Child reacts to books like this.Basically, it's fun to read if your into Lovecraft.If you really want to have some fun, pull it out somewhere in the the deep south where christ's curse has deprived people of their brains. Show it around and watch them run in horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to summoning crowleys funny demons as they actually appear, 28 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
Awful awful awful. Being a 5th degree magician this is awful. Stick to summoning crowleys funny demons as they actually appear. Message me if you know my email if not post yours and I will train you how to really summon the death.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of sorcery., 21 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is an ok and entertaining read. It contains spells and incantations and is NOT a collection of short stories. I think the most interesting part in the book is the Confession of the Mad Arab. It tells how he found all the spells included in this book. I found the Sumerian key helpful in pronouncing some of the tricky words, it was wise to include that. The spells are interesting but some are a bit unbelievable. If you are interested in sorcery then you should probably pick up a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 28 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
The Book of necronomicon is a fascinating read, truely wonderful, it talks of beings that which we cannot comprehend and has the ability to instill pure fear into you, if you beleive it to be completely true.
It really doesn't lead anywhere, or have any overall goal that i have seen, yet it still provides an interesting read, even as skeptical as i am, i must admit that even i was drawn into the world that the author talks of, and of course the mad arab.
The book itself describes rituals and experiences the mad arab and author himself has had, and although it contains some essence of a horror story, it could possibly be true, depends on how far your willing to bend your reality.
Overall, an interesting read, worth your money to say the least, gives spells and other information for the occultist, or those even interested in mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's real, 14 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Necronomicon (Mass Market Paperback)
What I have experienced can not be said in a 1000 words. I have read the Necronomicon over many times. THIS BOOK IS FOR REAL. It's happening now Alma Michigan. Anyone who doubts this (which most probably will) I am sorry that everyone does not know what's happening. A (former) friend of mine is very powerful and used this book for a basis to unlock the gates to hell. A few of my friends know of this, we are all part of this and we're trying to stop him. Only time will tell what will happen. We know he has made a deal with the devil. I've seen my friends lash out in his presence. He possesed Kathrine tonight, I was there. It's so hard to explain this logically (not sounding like i'm obsessed). But soon enough you will all believe. I'm still not sure if (Alma Michigan) is the only place this is happening...it could be happening all over. If you could only understand the truth i am speaking and from experience, i can just feel that it is real.The only way i could possibly find out if this is the only place this is happening is hopee that if you're having similar experience you should e-mail me your thoughts. IT IS HAPPENING NOW 2000 THE CHOSEN YEAR... I HOPE SOMEONE CAN JUST BELIEVE ME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Necronomicon
Necronomicon by Simon (Mass Market Paperback - 1 July 1995)
£5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews