Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Faye Kellerman - Sacred and Profane
Los Angeles detective Peter Decker has been dating orthodox Jew Rina Lazarus for a few months now, things are going well but Decker knows he must gain the trust of her two young sons and learn more about the Jewish faith before he really has a serious shot with Rina. So Peter decides to take Rina's two young sons Sammy and Jake on a camping trip to the foothills above...
Published on 25 Mar. 2010 by molko

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The second Decker novel
Must begin my review by immediately confessing that Faye Kellerman isnt one of my favourite authors, although i ve read a couple of her books. Doesnt even come close in my opinion to certain best selling authors, and even to some who arent on the no. 1 lists. This book here, once again failed to give me the thrills, that i expect to get from a good mystery novel. I found...
Published on 14 Nov. 2008 by L. Bezzina


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The second Decker novel, 14 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Must begin my review by immediately confessing that Faye Kellerman isnt one of my favourite authors, although i ve read a couple of her books. Doesnt even come close in my opinion to certain best selling authors, and even to some who arent on the no. 1 lists. This book here, once again failed to give me the thrills, that i expect to get from a good mystery novel. I found myself much more interested in Decker s love life (or lack there of)than in the case being investigated. Half of the book is dedicated to the private affairs and religious conflicts between Decker and his girlfriend, which i quite enjoyed but to be honest i feel that it was put there as an attempt to mask the inadequacy of the plot, which was very unimaginative. Having said all this, i will read more Decker novels cause i found him a very likeable fellow, and even just to see how the story with Rina evolves. However i hope that the next ones are much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faye Kellerman - Sacred and Profane, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Los Angeles detective Peter Decker has been dating orthodox Jew Rina Lazarus for a few months now, things are going well but Decker knows he must gain the trust of her two young sons and learn more about the Jewish faith before he really has a serious shot with Rina. So Peter decides to take Rina's two young sons Sammy and Jake on a camping trip to the foothills above L.A. Everything is running smoothly until the two young children stumble upon the charred remains of two young women.

Instantly Decker is thrown into the case to discover the identities of these young women. It's a case that will take him into the underbelly of Los Angeles where drugs, abuse and prostitution are rife. We're also following Rina as she copes with the health of her sons as they battle nightmares after discovering the bodies and as she struggles to decipher where her relationship with Decker is heading.

This is yet another stonking read from Kellerman following her debut: The Ritual Bath. Her characters are beautifully real and readable with a fast moving and compelling storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars basically if your'e a fan of crime/thriller/murder novels i don't think you'll be disappointed. faye has an easy reading yet dis, 14 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
being a reader of her husband's(jonathan kellerman)thrillers i thought i'd give it a go and was pleasently surprised.

her style is completely different,not so formal and less technically descriptive,but well researched (the covering of the jewish life style was quite interesting) and gripping at the same time.

another thing that was putting me off was knowing that the two main characters of the series meet and become a couple,as i'm not into romances at all.however their budding relationship was so well written and the characters so likeable that i actually found this aspect of the story just as gripping!so shame on me for being so narrow minded!

basically if your'e a fan of crime/thriller/murder novels i don't think you'll be disappointed. faye has an easy reading yet distinctive style (that is rare among the hundreds of crime writers around today)and this is an impressive debut novel. i'll definitely be ordering the rest of this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A religious manual!, 10 Feb. 2014
By 
Ms. S. Tahir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of Faye Kellermans best novels. It started promising then bombarded the reader with Deckers relationship with religion and ended up being like a religious manual. I couldn't finish this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sacred and profane, 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have enjoyed it more if it had been printed properly. Words were missing replaced by repeats of the previous word of a sentence quite a few times. Obviously not a very good proof reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 21 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book except for there being so many references to the Jewish faith that I had to keep re-reading and using the dictionary to understand who was being talked about. There were quite a few errors in the book where words were being repeated from the end of the sentance above which was rather confusing. Also I thought it was going to be a mystery/thriller but turned out it was more about Decker's love life, or lack of. Just hope that the next books are more about the title rather than Decker and his family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually enjoy Faye Kellerman but found that this particular book actually bored me. I think there is far too much Peter/Rina relationship and too little crime solving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, would definitely recommend it to friends. Storyline is easy to follow & unlike some crime novels you don't get confused half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 4 May 2015
By 
S. Crerar "mittsy" (Edinburgh UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Had read many of Peter and Rina's adventures, but had missed out on this one. Good to fill in the gap! Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Faye Kellerman - she has developed over the series "real" characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacred and Profane (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus Novels)
Sacred and Profane (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus Novels) by Faye Kellerman (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov. 1999)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews