Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
I really enjoyed this book, would definitely recommend it to friends. Storyline is easy to follow & unlike some crime novels you don't get confused half way through.
Published 7 months ago by Fiona Rennie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sacred and profane
Would have enjoyed it more if it had been printed properly. Words were missing replaced by repeats of the previous word of a sentence quite a few times. Obviously not a very good proof reader!
Published 7 months ago by Ann Hallewell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars A religious manual!, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. S. Tahir - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of Faye Kellermans best novels. It started promising then bombarded the reader with Deckers relationship with religion and ended up being like a religious manual. I couldn't finish this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I usually enjoy Faye Kellerman but found that this particular book actually bored me. I think there is far too much Peter/Rina relationship and too little crime solving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sacred and profane, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Would have enjoyed it more if it had been printed properly. Words were missing replaced by repeats of the previous word of a sentence quite a few times. Obviously not a very good proof reader!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, would definitely recommend it to friends. Storyline is easy to follow & unlike some crime novels you don't get confused half way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Faye Kellerman - Sacred and Profane, 25 Mar 2010
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Los Angeles detective Peter Decker has been dating orthodox Jew Rina Lazarus for a few months now, things are going well but Decker knows he must gain the trust of her two young sons and learn more about the Jewish faith before he really has a serious shot with Rina. So Peter decides to take Rina's two young sons Sammy and Jake on a camping trip to the foothills above L.A. Everything is running smoothly until the two young children stumble upon the charred remains of two young women.

Instantly Decker is thrown into the case to discover the identities of these young women. It's a case that will take him into the underbelly of Los Angeles where drugs, abuse and prostitution are rife. We're also following Rina as she copes with the health of her sons as they battle nightmares after discovering the bodies and as she struggles to decipher where her relationship with Decker is heading.

This is yet another stonking read from Kellerman following her debut: The Ritual Bath. Her characters are beautifully real and readable with a fast moving and compelling storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The second Decker novel, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Must begin my review by immediately confessing that Faye Kellerman isnt one of my favourite authors, although i ve read a couple of her books. Doesnt even come close in my opinion to certain best selling authors, and even to some who arent on the no. 1 lists. This book here, once again failed to give me the thrills, that i expect to get from a good mystery novel. I found myself much more interested in Decker s love life (or lack there of)than in the case being investigated. Half of the book is dedicated to the private affairs and religious conflicts between Decker and his girlfriend, which i quite enjoyed but to be honest i feel that it was put there as an attempt to mask the inadequacy of the plot, which was very unimaginative. Having said all this, i will read more Decker novels cause i found him a very likeable fellow, and even just to see how the story with Rina evolves. However i hope that the next ones are much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars product review, 19 July 2013
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
Arrived in good time, and an accurate description.
Only downside was the print in the book quite small but this is a
publishing issue not a fault with the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sacred and Profane, 8 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sacred and Profane (Paperback)
From the beginning of this book, Faye Kellerman successfully manages to grip the reader in a what seems to be impossible-to-solve mystery. With twists throughout the whole book, this is a must-read. There are times when you will believe that you have solved it, but believe me, you haven't!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sacred and Profane (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus Novels)
Sacred and Profane (Peter Decker & Rina Lazarus Novels) by Faye Kellerman (Mass Market Paperback - Nov 1999)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews