Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky Bliss finds her match!
One of the (many) things I like in Elizabeth Peters is that you can bet that when she quotes art, history or places she knows what she's writing about. Here she ships off our Vicky Bliss to a Rome that is straight out of "Roman Holidays" to hunt a forger of antique jewellery and as a special treat for us readers has her meet her ultimate partner in love and...
Published on 29 Nov 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Fun and holds your interest. A good book for holidays.
Published 1 month ago by MS PATRICIA LESLEY EDGE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vicky Bliss finds her match!, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Street of the Five Moons (Vicky Bliss Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
One of the (many) things I like in Elizabeth Peters is that you can bet that when she quotes art, history or places she knows what she's writing about. Here she ships off our Vicky Bliss to a Rome that is straight out of "Roman Holidays" to hunt a forger of antique jewellery and as a special treat for us readers has her meet her ultimate partner in love and crime, the adorable Sir John, who reminds me of a sort of Peter Wimsey turned to the shady path. Despite her claim that she's too big and brainy to qualify as a classic heroine, our Vicky does all the right things: gets kidnapped, conquers not only the reluctant hero but assorted counts and rogues as well. To say nothing of the dog... The characters are lovable, the dialogue is funny and the mystery plot is there though if you're looking for blood and a score of dead bodies this is not your book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Street of the Five Moons, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, and the heroine, and was so looking forward to finishing it. HOWEVER, there was a large chunk missing between the penultimate chapter and the final chapter. So disappointing, and I felt cheated.

Surely Kindle checks the books before sending them out? How did this happen?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment, 5 Jan 2010
By 
Ruth A. Colom "megane_wang" (Collbató, Catalonia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am not a native English speaker but purchase books in English regularly. I like Elizabeth Peter's books very much because of her ability to keep you interested from the first page to the last one. Things happen fast, and everything turns to go as well or as badly as you can imagine within a laugh's time. I prefer the characters of the Amelia Peabody's series, because Vicky Bliss's characters look more like a caricature of themselves and stories are more straightforward, but I still find them really entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining advenure mystery, 20 April 2007
Vicky Bliss is the heroine of one of Elizabeth Peters other mystery series. I once attended a lecture by Elizabeth Peters at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts where she said she would end the Amelia Peabody mysteries with the finding of King Tut's tomb by Howard Carter as that was the end of amateur archaeology in Egypt. Alas that happened in the last Amelia Peabody book, "Tomb Of The Golden Bird". If she still means what she said, then Vicky is the only lively adventurer her dedicated mystery readers have left. While many people do not care much for Vicky or her problems, I personally have always enjoyed them and actually liked modern day Vicky more than serious Amelia. These stories are more light hearted than the other books but still clever and well written. She dashes about and has a great time and I have too while reading about her outings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Amelia Peabody ...., 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Then you'll love this. Elizabeth Peters is an established and respected mystery writer for a very good reason. Worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good introduction to a 'new' mystery series especially if you are an Amelia Peabody fan. Though completely different in everything but artefacts, the characters are lively and likeable and the story progresses at a good pace. Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy books written by this author and this book
is no exception. Once you have read one of her books
You have to read them all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fun and holds your interest. A good book for holidays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Street of the Five Moons (Vicky Bliss Mysteries)
Street of the Five Moons (Vicky Bliss Mysteries) by Elizabeth Peters (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Jan 1978)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews