Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well told modern fable with an important message for all!
This book tells a disarmingly simple story of a boy who wakes up to discover a kitten sized dragon in his bedroom. He strokes it and all is well. Things begin to go wrong however when he tells his mother. His attempt to act on her firmly stated belief that there is no such thing as a dragon lead to all sorts of escalating problems for them both. The situation is...
Published on 12 Feb 2000

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story with a positive message however....
This is a charming story however i would have appreciated knowing that it was an american story before buying, some of the language was new to my audience (3-4 year olds). The children did enjoy the idea of the dragon growing each time the boy was ignored and it encourged a great deal of mathematical discussion about size. The illustrations were a little small and made...
Published on 1 Aug 2010 by jo-jo G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well told modern fable with an important message for all!, 12 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This book tells a disarmingly simple story of a boy who wakes up to discover a kitten sized dragon in his bedroom. He strokes it and all is well. Things begin to go wrong however when he tells his mother. His attempt to act on her firmly stated belief that there is no such thing as a dragon lead to all sorts of escalating problems for them both. The situation is finally resolved happily, but only after it has been fully acknowledged and the dragon 'owned' for what it is. This is a modern fable with a fairly profound 'moral' about the importance of dealing with problems or new situations with honesty and realism and the dangers of denial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book for young children, 11 Jun 2001
By 
jojosilver (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This a great book. As a story for children it is really exciting, imagine having a dragon in your house who keeps growing and your Mum doesn't notice. For teachers it's really useful for doing work on size comparison - big, bigger, biggest etc - and for talking about the idea of someone wanting to be noticed and the lengths they go to to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic book, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
This is a really lovely book about a dragon who doesn't want to be ignored!

It's a shame that there is only an American edition available, but it is such a great book that you can always swap a few of the Americanised words if you want!

Thoroughly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for reading aloud, 23 April 2012
By 
Anne (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
I love this story. I've brought up two children who both must know the words of this story by heart. It's funny, kind and friendly. My son developed a whole spin-off imaginary world of bakery vans and dragons from it. The illustrations are lovely and it's just the right length for a bedtime story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Parents should listen to their children :-), 27 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
Parents should listen to their children!!!! We forget often how to do it!
This book will help you do it ... "there are no such things as dragons" explains exactly how the kids have such amazing fantasy of they are capable only of their age!

Then, parents, buy and read it to your children, became "child" again, and by entering in their "fantasy world", you'll be able to understand them in the way they should be understood!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Such Thing as a Dragon, 5 Dec 2009
By 
D. Walter "Music Geezer" (Milton Keynes, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a fantastic story for children. We had it for our children and we were always reading it as a nighttime story. I've now bought a copy to read the Grandchildren when they visit.Buy it read it and pass on the good news to friends.You cannot go wrong with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A story with a positive message however...., 1 Aug 2010
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
This is a charming story however i would have appreciated knowing that it was an american story before buying, some of the language was new to my audience (3-4 year olds). The children did enjoy the idea of the dragon growing each time the boy was ignored and it encourged a great deal of mathematical discussion about size. The illustrations were a little small and made it challenging to read to a large group. Overall a good humorous read for a preschool aged child
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and lovely story to read, 14 Feb 2014
By 
AndyL (Cambridgeshire/ Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a cute and lovely story to read to your kid. Unusually I loved this story more than my little boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
This story has been used as inspiration for story writing for my Y2 class and they absolutely loved it! A nice story and pleasant illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: There's No Such Thing as a Dragon (Paperback)
An excellent book. My daughter had a copy many years ago ! I still have it ! She wanted a new one for her son, did not want to give him hers !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

There's No Such Thing as a Dragon
There's No Such Thing as a Dragon by Jack Kent (Paperback - 1 July 2010)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews