Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars33
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£2.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 June 2007
After buying a number of books about adoption to read to our 2 year old son it was lovely to find one that can be adapted to fit the individual childs story. It was clear right from the begining that the author had adopted children and understood the need to make the story simple and understandable even for a young child. Even at 2 years old our little boy said "the mama roo got a baby now". It will be one of those books that will lead easily into a discussion about his adoption as he grows older
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 1999
I love A Blessing from Above because it is such a simple story which you can use to talk to your own child about their special adoption story. The illustrations are beautifully done and the story of Mother Roo desiring a child and then receiving her Blessing from above (a little blue bird) can easily led into a number of different types of adoption whether foreign or domestic and even those with trans-racial families. This is the first adoption book I have found that is of its type using an animal's experience which is great for the younger child. It is great in reinforcing that the child is a blessing and was very much wanted. It also shows the birth-mom as happy to see her child safely and lovingly received into Mother Roo's pouch.
0Comment|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2007
This is a very sweet book that is great for young children who were adopted, and for those who were not. The simplicity of the story is nice, and the message comes through that both the adoptive mother and birth mother love the child. The illustrations are also very nicely done.

Christine Mitchell, author and illustrator of Welcome Home, Forever Child: A Celebration of Children Adopted as Toddlers, Preschoolers, and Beyond
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2008
This is a book worth buying if your adopted child is under three. It tells a great story and is very relevant although possibly more for the market where children are voluntarily given up for adoption rather than removed from their parents
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
It is about a kangaroo who sees other animals in their families playing and enjoying life together while she is alone. She is sad and rests against a tree one day and there is a nest above which is overflowing with baby birds. One falls out and into her pouch. She becomes that babys mummy as the bird mummy and daddy cannot look after her. i think that it is a nice book for a very young child and a good introduction to the concept of adoption. My daugher has just turned 2 years old.

(4 stars due to poor quality of the gold binder down the middle (holding it all together), i am expecting this to tear at some point and will need repairing.)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2008
I loved this story. It sensitively deals with the emotions and choices of the birth and adoptive mother. A great story anyway, but definitely recommend to anyone who has adopted or been adopted.
The fact that the author herself has adopted 2 children, & the illustator is an adopted child is how I think they have been able to give that special touch to the story.
For Christians, this story also shows answers to prayers, thanks to God for His blessing, & a simple way to teach how we are adopted into God's family.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
A simple story wth wonderful illustrations. However I was disappointed with the quality of the hardback. It was just a cardboard back and front taped together which needed regluing!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2011
Received a copy of this book as a present when we adopted our daughter. She is now 5 and loves it. Recently my sister in law adopted a 3 year old and I had been so impressed with the book I immediately went and bought it again. The new addition to our family is now home 2 months and loves this book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
The book felt a little flimsy as it was paper sandwiched between two pieces of cardboard. The story also came across a little too cheesy and completely left Dad out of the story and only focussed on Mum's need to have baby. A little too simplified.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
Sweet book and and pleasant illustrations but my 2.5 year old simply kept asking 'Where's the Baby Kangeroo?" and just didn't buy the the inter-species match between Mummy Roo and the baby bird. I also felt it was lazy to just have the casualness of a bird falling out of an over-crowded nest as the reason for adoption and just happening randomly to land in the Kangeroo's pouch. It misses any opportunity to discuss the matching process and how painstakingly people worked to find our daughter for us and find the best parents for her - which is something that when we talk about has really boosted her self-esteem. Unlike this book which likens her to a chick who seemingly is unmissed by it's birth siblings/mother. Not a great message unfortunately.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.