Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canapés
Great book with many varied modern ideas. Very few photographs of finished dishes for those who need them. Measurements are American. Some ingredients were difficult to source but still a comprehensive and useful book.
Published on 16 Feb. 2009 by Paul Howarth

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amuse-Bouche Rick Tramonto
After purchasing this book to use as research, i have found the recipes to be typical american style all flourish and no depth. As a chef these recipes are what we practice
in our daily work, but for the home cook many of these recipes seem to be a little out of reach. I find the flavors to be very insipid or very salty, so do taste as you go. The photography is...
Published on 13 Jun. 2010 by chef inspired


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Amuse-Bouche Rick Tramonto, 13 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
After purchasing this book to use as research, i have found the recipes to be typical american style all flourish and no depth. As a chef these recipes are what we practice
in our daily work, but for the home cook many of these recipes seem to be a little out of reach. I find the flavors to be very insipid or very salty, so do taste as you go. The photography is great, but all and all i was very underwhelmed from start to finish, we have seen most of these things done before and done much better. There are many recipes which have italian themes e.g fig and proscutto with foam, rather than muddle your way through this and other recipes use the same flavours without messing about with them too much and you can have an equally beautiful starter, amuse or antipasto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars canapés, 16 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
Great book with many varied modern ideas. Very few photographs of finished dishes for those who need them. Measurements are American. Some ingredients were difficult to source but still a comprehensive and useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 71 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excelent source of inspiration, 24 Feb. 2004
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
This book is the first book I've seen on the subject Amuses-Bouches. Amuses-Bouches are not "just" appetizers - it's appetizers on a very high level. Therefore a lot of the recipes in the book are quite advanced.
Im must say though that most cooking interested people will find a lot of inspiration in the book - and a few of the recipes are even quite easy to make.
The only reason I didn't rate this book to 5 stars is, that it is not always consistent on the numbers of servings for a recipe. In recipes where you have to combine several things he recipe for one of the things might be for 6 servings as stated in the "main" recipe while another part makes enough for 20 servings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Little Bites, 9 Dec. 2011
By 
Major James A. Doherty "James" (Caithness) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
An Ok book on food. Disappointed that it had a limited selection of ideas for Amuse-Bouche. However it wets the appetite for one's own ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars pictures, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
S. Burton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Even though I liked the recipies it would of been more informative if there were pictures .. definitely would be useful for presentation ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yes Yes, 3 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
Great easy to follow reciepes that work and are all packed full of intense flavours. This will be my book of appetizers for some time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Expensive amuse!, 28 Feb. 2006
By 
Andrew Taylor "kronor22" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Amuse-Bouche (Hardcover)
This book has no conversion table for readers in Europe and it also uses expensive ingreadients. I always get dissapointed when buying books from the U.S. I suggest you stay clear of this book and buy something by Gordon Ramsay or Jamie and just make the dishes smaller thats what Rick Tramonto has done. Further more to have scallops and lobster on as amuse is quite expensive, a cook normally uses what he has left over to make amuse bouche and not many people have scallops or lobster lying around in the fridge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amuse-Bouche
Amuse-Bouche by Rick Tramonto (Hardcover - 31 Oct. 2002)
Used & New from: £10.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews