Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, touching, a very moving story
Open House is a light read trying to look at the funny side of finding yourself on your own after so many years of marriage. The story is light reading that can be finished in a day but it without a doubt, make you strike a connection with Samantha. A very good read.
Published on 14 Mar 2002 by Rachel Brimble

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising start - fluffy end.
I loved the start of this book - the domestic details interspersed with the pain Samantha experiences when her husband leaves, is really touching. As the book went on though, I began to find it too light, the pain and hardships are glossed over in favour of the various amusing experiences of Samantha's life. The fact that the end is so happy does not ring true for me,...
Published on 3 Oct 2002 by E. Foley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising start - fluffy end., 3 Oct 2002
By 
E. Foley (Cork, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open House (Paperback)
I loved the start of this book - the domestic details interspersed with the pain Samantha experiences when her husband leaves, is really touching. As the book went on though, I began to find it too light, the pain and hardships are glossed over in favour of the various amusing experiences of Samantha's life. The fact that the end is so happy does not ring true for me, especially considering her son. Overall, a reasonably enjoyable read, but not as indepth as Oprah's other choices, most of which I enjoyed more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, touching, a very moving story, 14 Mar 2002
By 
Rachel Brimble (Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Open House (Paperback)
Open House is a light read trying to look at the funny side of finding yourself on your own after so many years of marriage. The story is light reading that can be finished in a day but it without a doubt, make you strike a connection with Samantha. A very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 10 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Open House (Kindle Edition)
Got right into this book until about the middle when it became inevitable what the outcome was going to be. Still enjoyed it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes..., 20 Feb 2001
By 
E. Capurro (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Open House (Paperback)
I loved the style of writing in this book. I laughed and cried and wanted to hug Samantha.She was a character that was a live from the first page and every friend I have lent this book to has really enjoyed it.
A delightful funny piece of light reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book that is impossible to put down., 9 Jan 2002
This review is from: Open House (Paperback)
A short story you will start in the morning and will have it read by evening. Read and share the exeriences Samantha is delt with when she and her husband decide to live separately. The funny stories of all she is faced. You will feel as though you have lived in her house yourself. The book is amusing and very charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Open House (Oprah's Book Club)
Open House (Oprah's Book Club) by Elizabeth Berg (Hardcover - Aug 2000)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews