Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars79
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2010
An extraordinarily witty, intelligent and revealing book written with humility and great attention to detail. There is not one page of this book that fails to fascinate; you really can dip in - as the author states in his introduction - and enjoy numerous anecdotes in addition to brilliant descriptions of flying, preparing for space and the Apollo mission itself.
That said, I read this from cover to cover over a very short period. For me the most exciting and stimulating book about flying and the space programme that I have come across. My only regret is not having read this years ago.
Michael Collins turned 80 on 31st October this year: may I wish you a very happy birthday sir!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2008
I have recently gained an interest in space and in particular the lunar landings. The previous reviews encouraged me to buy this and I'm glad I did. This book was a little technical at times and although I sometimes didn't quite understand the exact details - I got the general idea and it certainly didn't stop me from rating it top marks. You really do get a true, honest account from Michael Collins and he gives credit where credit is due to the other astronauts. I am now half way through Andrew Chalkins "Man on the Moon" which is so far excellent also.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2015
The best written memoir covering Gemini and Apollo. Refreshingly modest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2008
Collins' book is not ghost-written, but in his own voice. His homely vivid language brings accessibly to life the incredible detail in the technology and training behind his test-pilot career in the air and in space. It gives an idea of what it must have been like 'to be there'. He modestly sees himself at the top of a pyramid of thousands of people working to make the moon accessible. He finishes thinking thoughtfully of the impact on his fellow astronauts, and of Apollo's place in history. I wish I'd read it years ago!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
This book is a great read. It deals with Mike Collins' early life, his days as a test pilot and how he got into the US manned space project. If your after an in depth view of the Apollo 11 mission you may be slightly dissapointed as this is only covered in the final part of the book. Mike Collins' writing is honest, funny and tragic at times. It is a highly enjoyable read and anyone interested in the Apollo programme should get buy this book. Highly recommended!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
This is a great read for anyone with even a slight interest in Space flight and the whole 1960's Space race involving the Gemini and Apollo programs. Collins has a very good style of writing which is warm and well informed but easy to understand he doesn't complicate the Technical stuff too much, thus making it easier to grasp.

Overall it fully deserves the rating of 5 stars.

Interested in Space flight ? Then buy this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2016
As described and in good condition. A gift for my husband.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2010
excellent account of the people involved in the race for space and history being made.. read book several times ,lent it to a couple of friends and had trouble geting it back from them as they were enthralled by it.mr collins seems like a decent grounded individual, who gives us loads of background info on the amazing team work a project of this magnitude requires
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
Good book re ordered for a friend. No problems
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Enjoyed this, not ghosted and well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)