Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate, Humorous, Accurate!
I've read every available account of project Apollo and I think this is by far the best. Collins is a natural story teller and there's little eveidence of a co-author spoiling the text. Collins self-affacing humour and modesty make this a delight to read. Not only was he a Gemini and Apollo pilot, but he was instrumental in the designing of the pressure suit used for...
Published on 20 Jun 2001 by Ryuto

versus
3 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wanted: articulate astronaut
The skill and bravery of the early astronauts is beyond doubt, as this book well illustrates. But also on display is their egotism and inability to articulate the essence of their extraordinary experiences. Technically interesting throughout, the best parts were Collins' reflections of the space programme - and the moon landings in particular - in the latter part of the...
Published on 7 Oct 2009 by AAD


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 29 May 2010
By 
Sean Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great read. It deals with Mike Collins' early life, his days as a test pilot and how he got into the US manned space project. If your after an in depth view of the Apollo 11 mission you may be slightly dissapointed as this is only covered in the final part of the book. Mike Collins' writing is honest, funny and tragic at times. It is a highly enjoyable read and anyone interested in the Apollo programme should get buy this book. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astronaut, 13 April 2010
By 
A. R. Fish "afishy" (kessingland. g.b.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
excellent account of the people involved in the race for space and history being made.. read book several times ,lent it to a couple of friends and had trouble geting it back from them as they were enthralled by it.mr collins seems like a decent grounded individual, who gives us loads of background info on the amazing team work a project of this magnitude requires
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carrying the fire, 20 Feb 2010
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
I havent finished reading this book as at the time of writing this review but so far it hasn't dissapointed. Michael Collins is a very matter of fact person and I like the way he writes. I didnt realise until reading this book how rendezvous was achieved in orbit. Not a bit like I assumed it was achieved. He seems like a really easy going person and having seen him being interviewed on the recent film 'in the shadow of the moon' comes across as very approachable which is refreshing.

I do actually remember watching the apollo 11 moon landing even though my fifth birthday was only 2 weeks prior to the landing but this book makes it seems much less distant in the past and makes you realise that what the Apollo program achieved back then almost seem like a one off if you look at how we are struggling to get back there what with Budget cuts, political turmoil etc rather than as everyone was saying back then that this was the beginning of bigger and better things on the Moon. Werner Von Braun reckoned that there would be a sizeable moon base by the year 2000 !

Its also ammusing to note that the recent High definition probe that took detailed video of the moon just recently actually picked out the base on the Lunar module left behind in the sea of tranquility, at last presumably bringing to a close all those conspiracy theories.

If you are at all interested in the Apollo program but also would like a good story lined with some decent technical facts then you won't be dissapointed with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - even from an a beginners point of view!!, 14 July 2008
I have recently gained an interest in space and in particular the lunar landings. The previous reviews encouraged me to buy this and I'm glad I did. This book was a little technical at times and although I sometimes didn't quite understand the exact details - I got the general idea and it certainly didn't stop me from rating it top marks. You really do get a true, honest account from Michael Collins and he gives credit where credit is due to the other astronauts. I am now half way through Andrew Chalkins "Man on the Moon" which is so far excellent also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 2 July 2008
This is a great read for anyone with even a slight interest in Space flight and the whole 1960's Space race involving the Gemini and Apollo programs. Collins has a very good style of writing which is warm and well informed but easy to understand he doesn't complicate the Technical stuff too much, thus making it easier to grasp.

Overall it fully deserves the rating of 5 stars.

Interested in Space flight ? Then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nitty gritty story of space flight., 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
Great book by Michael Collins, his story from his early days as a test pilot and to being part of the first moon landing. I found it very absorbing with technical detail that I was not aware of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the book to read, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
collins is a great narrator, witha good sense of humour

this book gives some great insight into the apollo missions and characters

if i could recommend one book from them all, this would be it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as asking an Astronaut in person, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
I have always been fascinated by the Apollo era, and all they acheived, In my mind, Mans greatest adventure, ever, I was only 11 years old when "the lads landed" so reading everything I can now I'm 55 helps fill in the gaping chasms of things I didn't know, but want to know now I can understand things, This book by Michael Collins goes a long way to help fill this gap,
Michael was described once as the lonliest man alive when he orbited the moon alone while waiting for Niel and Buzz to return from the moon. and in his style of humor and honesty, touches a lot of questions I wanted to know, What were your fears, were you clausophobic, did you fear the centrifuge? and many more questions I would have asked if I could, These and many more were covered in this superb book, which was a great read throughout, I couldn't put it down.

If you loved the Apollo era, You'll love this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
A very nice book, an interesting perspective on the first manned moon landed, made by the guy who was left in Lunar orbit. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels like you were there!!, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
I bought this as reading material for a recent trip to the space coast including a visit to the Kennedy Space Center.

Collins provides a vivid insight into the history of America's race to the moon with a clear wonderment which is a simple delight.

He keeps the technical aspects to a minimum whilst very clearly expressing the emotions, excitement and amazement of a man involved in what was mankind's greatest adventure to date.

An absolute joy and would unreservedly recommend this to anyone with an interest in the space programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys
Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys by Michael Collins (Paperback - 7 July 2009)
8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews