Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate, Humorous, Accurate!
I've read every available account of project Apollo and I think this is by far the best. Collins is a natural story teller and there's little eveidence of a co-author spoiling the text. Collins self-affacing humour and modesty make this a delight to read. Not only was he a Gemini and Apollo pilot, but he was instrumental in the designing of the pressure suit used for...
Published on 20 Jun. 2001 by Ryuto

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read
A breathtaking adventure comprehensively retold. However, unless you are a space fanatic, it is very fact and statistic heavy. The last chapter was superb and provided a frank assessment of his relationships with others and reflected on his achievements.
Published 7 months ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I've read pretty much every book written by the Apollo astronauts, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
I've read pretty much every book written by the Apollo astronauts, I rank this as one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The third man., 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
Compelling account of the heady cold war space race days. Michael Collins is one of the superdudes among amazing top test pilots.
"The third man" of the first lunar landing, and Gemeni veteran.
We're talking about a living legend.

An astronaut's journey is exactly that. A journey from almost the start of space exploration to the ultimate beginning of Moon exploration and on.

What a story, and how well told, this has to be in the top 3 astrotales ever.
His description of his Gemini 10 space walk and its inherent dangers was so gripping, I spent
several days thinking of nothing else.

The only reason I never gave it 5 stars was his political
foot note, (a bit too cheesy for me) although it's hardly surprising as at that time reaching the moon "first" was all that mattered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best biography by an Astronaut, bar none!, 1 Sept. 2010
By 
Islander (Cotswolds, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
I have a a large collection of books about the Mercury, Gemini and Apollo space programs. Mike Collins' book is by far and away the best of the astronaut biographies (and one of the rare examples that did not require a co-writer). Collins is a very able writer, and although obviously a high-achiever in the technicalities of aerospace, he explains the concepts of his spaceflights in a very easy way - you won't have trouble understanding him! Moreover, he has a gentle sense of humour that weaves its way through the narrative.

Even if you are a complete layman when it comes to space and NASA, I dare you NOT to enjoy this book. It is a fascinating, educational, and entertaining read that covers a period of absolute pioneering space exploration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring & superb, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
J. J. Carter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
An extraordinarily witty, intelligent and revealing book written with humility and great attention to detail. There is not one page of this book that fails to fascinate; you really can dip in - as the author states in his introduction - and enjoy numerous anecdotes in addition to brilliant descriptions of flying, preparing for space and the Apollo mission itself.
That said, I read this from cover to cover over a very short period. For me the most exciting and stimulating book about flying and the space programme that I have come across. My only regret is not having read this years ago.
Michael Collins turned 80 on 31st October this year: may I wish you a very happy birthday sir!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - even from an a beginners point of view!!, 14 July 2008
I have recently gained an interest in space and in particular the lunar landings. The previous reviews encouraged me to buy this and I'm glad I did. This book was a little technical at times and although I sometimes didn't quite understand the exact details - I got the general idea and it certainly didn't stop me from rating it top marks. You really do get a true, honest account from Michael Collins and he gives credit where credit is due to the other astronauts. I am now half way through Andrew Chalkins "Man on the Moon" which is so far excellent also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Apollo astronauts' memoirs., 27 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
The best written memoir covering Gemini and Apollo. Refreshingly modest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the pyramid, 25 July 2008
By 
S. Jamison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Collins' book is not ghost-written, but in his own voice. His homely vivid language brings accessibly to life the incredible detail in the technology and training behind his test-pilot career in the air and in space. It gives an idea of what it must have been like 'to be there'. He modestly sees himself at the top of a pyramid of thousands of people working to make the moon accessible. He finishes thinking thoughtfully of the impact on his fellow astronauts, and of Apollo's place in history. I wish I'd read it years ago!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 29 May 2010
By 
Sean Murphy (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a great read. It deals with Mike Collins' early life, his days as a test pilot and how he got into the US manned space project. If your after an in depth view of the Apollo 11 mission you may be slightly dissapointed as this is only covered in the final part of the book. Mike Collins' writing is honest, funny and tragic at times. It is a highly enjoyable read and anyone interested in the Apollo programme should get buy this book. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 2 July 2008
This is a great read for anyone with even a slight interest in Space flight and the whole 1960's Space race involving the Gemini and Apollo programs. Collins has a very good style of writing which is warm and well informed but easy to understand he doesn't complicate the Technical stuff too much, thus making it easier to grasp.

Overall it fully deserves the rating of 5 stars.

Interested in Space flight ? Then buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars astronaut, 13 April 2010
By 
A. R. Fish "afishy" (kessingland. g.b.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys (Paperback)
excellent account of the people involved in the race for space and history being made.. read book several times ,lent it to a couple of friends and had trouble geting it back from them as they were enthralled by it.mr collins seems like a decent grounded individual, who gives us loads of background info on the amazing team work a project of this magnitude requires
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys
Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys by Michael Collins (Paperback - 7 July 2009)
£9.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews