Customer Reviews

1 Review
5 star:
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally here; the complete poems of Joseph Brodsky., 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Collected Poems (Hardcover)
The book contains all of Brodsky's published poems in English. (All the ones that have appeared in books form). Based on the three titles of poetry published in English during his lifetime; "A Part of Speech", "To Urania" and "So Forth". In addition this collection includes a chapter of uncollected poems and translations by Brodsky of other poets works; about twenty poems. Amongst these are poems by Wislawa Szymborska, Osip Mandelstam and Marina Tsvetaeva.
The poems are written in English directly, or translated from Russian, either by the author himself or by Brodsky in collaboration with other translators.
It's a nice collection, but it offers little new if you already own the three prior books. One good exception is an extensive section of notes to the poems that are most informative. It is also worth mentioning that in the foreword of the book a second collection of poems is promised to be underway, this one containing poems translated from Russian outside of Brodsky's supervision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No

Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collected Poems in English
Collected Poems in English by Joseph Brodsky (Paperback - 8 April 2002)
Used & New from: 7.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews