Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
This book is quite simply superb. An excellent read in which you can immerse yourself into professional boxing during this time period. Boxing greats such as Joe Loius and Sugar Ray Robinson feature and Liebling brings the sport to life. You can imagine being there at these fantastic events and smell the atmosphere. Cracking stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the great joe liebling, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. Anthony J. Hume (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
I, too, have a habit of reading this book again and again. sometimes i dip into it for a half dozen pages, put it down for a few months then repeat the procedure.
ostensibly a book about boxing, more like a book about a boxing fan and his position in the world. there is so much of life in these pages that boxing is almost a side issue. he never gives a round by round account of the fights he sees, merely a general overview. but somehow he puts you in the seat he is in at the garden or yankee stadium or you feel you are standing right there watching joe louis train in preparation for the ill-fated fight with marciano. joe liebling was a true prose stylist and deserves his place among the giants of american literature, whether he's writing about boxing or not. a great prose stylist, a comic genius, greater than Bill Heinz? hmmmm....now there's a question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In love with Liebling, 20 Feb 2010
By 
John Jarrett (Newcastle upon Tyne UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Audio CD)
Liebling's essays in his book The Sweet Science (and also in A Neutral Corner) are books I can read over and over. When I found The Sweet Science in audio-book on Amazon, I knew I had to have it. It was well worth the purchase price. I am still listening to it and know I will always enjoy it. It is well read, word for word, and is something I would recommend to all fight fans, and indeed to all lovers of good writing. It is value for money, seven discs lasting 8 1/2 hours. What are you waiting for!!
John Jarrett
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Read - even if you merely have a passing interest in Boxing., 31 July 2012
By 
AT Bartholomew (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
From the very first page you'll be entranced by Liebling's easy, laconic style and his amusing references to the rich history of Victorian prize-fighting.

I enjoyed the book so much that, once I'd read about half way, I started to worry that it was going to end at some point.

A superb read. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same old story nothing new, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
it was okay there was nothing new in the book they keep rehashing the old story of LaMotta v Fox is that the only fight that was fixed it is the only one we hear about as i said nothing new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENJOYABLE BUT HEAVY GOING!, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
I know I am meant to say that Liebling is a genius, blah, blah, blah and that if I dont its just because im uneducated in his literally style (which may well be true!) but I found this book a bit heavy going. The stories are on the whole very entertaining and I love some of the references to the little known characters around the fighters. However at times the style of writing appears a little dated and heavy going. A bit like a film that you have been told is GREAT, that you watch, enjoy, but have no desire to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book!, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Sweet Science (Paperback)
Am just starting it around page 25, but it's already turning out to be a wicked good read. Worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Sweet Science
The Sweet Science by A J Liebling (Paperback - Sep 2004)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews