Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Showalter writes fantastic romance
On the world of Imperia the immortal Druinn and the mortal populace co-exist peacefully, yet any mixed species bonding is viewed with suspicion and hostility. When a Druinn priestess falls in love with a human king, she faces a difficult decision. Embracing a new life means abandoning her son Percen, an immortal with such power and potential that he is destined to...
Published on 13 May 2005 by Book Addict

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & I'm usually a Gena Showalter Fan
I bought this book because I wanted a quick, entertaining light read one Sunday afternoon. I've read a few of Gena Showalter's novels and they're usually witty and entertaining. I'm also a fan of her 'Lords of the Underworld' series but for different reasons.

'The Stone Prince' is the story of unlucky in love Katie, who falls in lust with a statue of a very...
Published on 6 July 2010 by Laura Summers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Showalter writes fantastic romance, 13 May 2005
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stone Prince (Mass Market Paperback)
On the world of Imperia the immortal Druinn and the mortal populace co-exist peacefully, yet any mixed species bonding is viewed with suspicion and hostility. When a Druinn priestess falls in love with a human king, she faces a difficult decision. Embracing a new life means abandoning her son Percen, an immortal with such power and potential that he is destined to become the Druinn High Priest. Leaving her heartbroken and betrayed son behind she begins her new life with her beloved husband, their union producing the first and only cross breed Druinn/mortal on Imperia, another son they name Jorlan. This child grows into a beautiful and mighty warrior, the type of man Percen wishes himself to be. As Percen's feelings of anger and betrayal grow, these manifest as loathsome acts of revenge against both his half brother and their mother. Cursing Jorlan, he ensures his younger brother will remain a statue until he receives a kiss. However Jorlan wiill only remain human for 14 days unless he beds his rescuer and seduces her into loving him. Wanting Jorlan's ultimate humiliation, Percen has just the woman in mind to administer this kiss, a female Jorlan hates but will be forced to chase. Before he puts his plan into motion however his mother arrives, sending Jorlan's statue through a vortex.
For over 900 years Jorlan is trapped in his stone prison, mentally crying out to the woman who can free him. His efforts are fruitless until Katie James hears his mental pleas and puckers up. A hardworking renovator, she is not prepared to admit that she only bought her current property because of the magnificent statue it housed. Breaking Jorlan's curse, she has difficulty believing her stone statue is now a living, breathing alien hunk, a chauvinistic jerk who freely admits he wants her heart and body in order to return home and has no intention of returning her feelings. Despite her inexperience, Katie knows a heart breaker when she meets one and the luscious Jorlan would surely break hers when he leaves. She therefore does the only thng she can to protect herself, she steels herself not to fall in love.
Jorlan cannot understand this strange woman and rather than her falling in love with him, he instead finds himself feeling emotions towards Katie that he has never felt before. As Katie allows their relationship to deepen (carefully guarding her heart whilst doing so) Jorlan finds himself meeting 4 of her 5 brothers, siblings fearlessly determined to protect their sister from any hurt. Learning that Jorlan intends to leave Katie within 2 weeks results in a fight, the James brothers proving more than capable of holding their own against a well trained Imperian warrior (not that they know that). Witnessing the love between these family members creates a desperate need in Jorlan to return home, however now he wants Katie by his side. Offering himself as her life-mate he asks her to live on Imperia with him, an offer she declines. With only days to go before the curse re-instates itself, Percen arrives on Earth. Determined to hurt Jorlan in every way possible, he targets Katie.
"The Stone Prince" is filled with charm, humour, passion and action. Katie's brothers create chaos, their untimely arrivals resulting in some hilarious consequences. This book also really tugged at my heartstrings, making me quite weepy towards the end when Katie proves she's willing to give up everything after all to stay with the man she loves. I urge all fans of GS's "The Pleasure Slave" to take the time to locate a copy of this book - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant love story with an edge!, 27 Dec 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stone Prince (Mass Market Paperback)
this was the first Gena Showalter book i brought. i took a chance on it becasue id read good reviews and the story seemed interesting.

Interesting seems an understatment after reading it fully. i read it cover to cover in one day, it had me hooked from the beginning.

i really recommend this book to anyone who loves romace stories written with the modern attitude!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a book that every girl should read, very romantic with good bits of darkness. I fell in love with the stone price. xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now why can't I kiss a statue and find the love of my life?, 13 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of all the books i've read recently, this book sparkles the most. It's entertaining, sexy, beautifully written and enchantingly like a fairy tale.

I found i was really able to sympathise with Katie, she's not much older than me and also unlucky in love (so i found the ending to this hopeful for myself as well lol) so it was very easy to relate to her.
Jorlan on the other had i hated at first, i think i described him as a sexist pig within the first 50 pages or so, which is a record for me.
I really hate sexism so everytime he made a comment about week women i wanted to punch him (which is impossible because he's fictional!)

Once i got past all that though, i have to admit i slowly fell for Jorlan, as he learnt more about the world and how different woman can be, he slowly changed and stopped being such a prat (i was going to use a more coarse word but thought i'd be putting this on my blog and kids might read it!).
He is the perfect guy by about half way though the book and the way he treats Katie is a fantasy from every girls dreams, i was reading it thinking, now why can't that happen to me?

The sci-fi part of it, was done perfectly, not to complex yet enough to distinguish this book from among your usual romances. The plot outside the romance was important yet not too complex and there was a lot more to love than just between Jorlan and Katie, and all sorts of relationships. There was even a bit of redemptive love for one of the characters, and by the end i couldn't even hate the bad guy.
For a few minutes i thought it was going to be a sad ending, but it was an ending like i hadn't quite read before, rather unusual in any case.

Anyways i loved it soooooo much! Full five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless, 20 Aug 2010
By 
Ruth Stewart (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
I first read 'The Lords of the Underworld' series and wanted to find more books from this author. i was not disppointed.

I read it cover to cover in one day, it had me hooked from the beginning.

I really recommend this book to anyone who loves romace stories written with the modern attitude!!

Like this try 'the Atlantis' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ms Showalter writes fantastic romance, 11 Oct 2009
By 
Book Addict - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stone Prince
On the world of Imperia the immortal Druinn and the mortal populace co-exist peacefully, yet any mixed species bonding is viewed with suspicion and hostility. When a Druinn priestess falls in love with a human king, she faces a difficult decision. Embracing a new life means abandoning her son Percen, an immortal with such power and potential that he is destined to become the Druinn High Priest. Leaving her heartbroken and betrayed son behind she begins her new life with her beloved husband, their union producing the first and only cross breed Druinn/mortal on Imperia, another son they name Jorlan. This child grows into a beautiful and mighty warrior, the type of man Percen wishes himself to be. As Percen's feelings of anger and betrayal grow, these manifest as loathsome acts of revenge against both his half brother and their mother. Cursing Jorlan, he ensures his younger brother will remain a statue until he receives a kiss. However Jorlan wiill only remain human for 14 days unless he beds his rescuer and seduces her into loving him. Wanting Jorlan's ultimate humiliation, Percen has just the woman in mind to administer this kiss, a female Jorlan hates but will be forced to chase. Before he puts his plan into motion however his mother arrives, sending Jorlan's statue through a vortex.

For over 900 years Jorlan is trapped in his stone prison, mentally crying out to the woman who can free him. His efforts are fruitless until Katie James hears his mental pleas and puckers up. A hardworking renovator, she is not prepared to admit that she only bought her current property because of the magnificent statue it housed. Breaking Jorlan's curse, she has difficulty believing her stone statue is now a living, breathing alien hunk, a chauvinistic jerk who freely admits he wants her heart and body in order to return home and has no intention of returning her feelings. Despite her inexperience, Katie knows a heart breaker when she meets one and the luscious Jorlan would surely break hers when he leaves. She therefore does the only thng she can to protect herself, she steels herself not to fall in love.

Jorlan cannot understand this strange woman and rather than her falling in love with him, he instead finds himself feeling emotions towards Katie that he has never felt before. As Katie allows their relationship to deepen (carefully guarding her heart whilst doing so) Jorlan finds himself meeting 4 of her 5 brothers, siblings fearlessly determined to protect their sister from any hurt. Learning that Jorlan intends to leave Katie within 2 weeks results in a fight, the James brothers proving more than capable of holding their own against a well trained Imperian warrior (not that they know that). Witnessing the love between these family members creates a desperate need in Jorlan to return home, however now he wants Katie by his side. Offering himself as her life-mate he asks her to live on Imperia with him, an offer she declines. With only days to go before the curse re-instates itself, Percen arrives on Earth. Determined to hurt Jorlan in every way possible, he targets Katie.

"The Stone Prince" is filled with charm, humour, passion and action. Katie's brothers create chaos, their untimely arrivals resulting in some hilarious consequences. This book also really tugged at my heartstrings, making me quite weepy towards the end when Katie proves she's willing to give up everything after all to stay with the man she loves. I urge all fans of GS's "The Pleasure Slave" to take the time to locate a copy of this book - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing & I'm usually a Gena Showalter Fan, 6 July 2010
I bought this book because I wanted a quick, entertaining light read one Sunday afternoon. I've read a few of Gena Showalter's novels and they're usually witty and entertaining. I'm also a fan of her 'Lords of the Underworld' series but for different reasons.

'The Stone Prince' is the story of unlucky in love Katie, who falls in lust with a statue of a very handsome man in her garden. Katie is a tough, independent woman who renovates houses for a living. The sister of many brothers, she struggles with men and never seems to be able pass the first date stage.

On a whim one evening, Katie decides to kiss the sexy statue and breaks a century old curse bringing the very handsome and virile Jorlan to life. However, Jorlan, is not only a cursed centuries old warrior, he's also an alien from another planet.

It's strange, I could cope with the fact that Jorlan had been turned to stone and was centuries old. But the fact that he was an alien was a little jarring and didn't sit that well for me. I know this is a paranormal romance, but it seemed just that bit too far fetched.

Jorlan is inarguably sexy and rugged, your typical romance hero. But being cursed for centuries comes with its problems. Desperate to get revenge for his incarceration and to return to his home planet, he also needs to convince Katie to fall in love with him in two weeks or he'll return to stone once more. Jorlan also has very different views on women and feminism. While his beliefs are meant to be funny and endearing as we watch him careen along the path to enlightenment, they irritated me. Maybe I'm too much of a feminist at heart, but there were times when I really wished Katie would dump him at the nearest bus station and find someone else. He comes across as a little too chauvinistic.

As we near the end of the book we become introduced to some new characters and more importantly the villain of the piece. This begins a sub plot that becomes layered into the main story and is when the book begins to gain pace. Interestingly, I found myself more engaged in this secondary part of the narrative than Katie and Jorlan's story.

There are some very witty parts of the book, watch out for Jorlan's first experience of alcohol, I won't spoil it for you. And this is the writing style that I have always enjoyed by Gena Showalter. But, disappointingly overall I failed to really get really sucked into the book.

Verdict:

At times 'The Stone Prince' is a witty and entertaining light read, but unfortunately I failed to engage fully with the main characters and the narrative was overall a little lack-lustre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear...., 27 July 2010
By 
J. Gascoyne (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is pure Mills and Boons, which is fine if you are 15 and enjoy that sort of thing, but I got over that kind of dialogue years ago and I found this quite tiresome after a while. It's a shame, because it's a great concept. She goes on and on and on and on about his muscles etc, but I would rather have seen a bit more character and concept deveopment. As soon as we got to her head thrashing about from side to side I mentally gave up with it. I mean, who really thrashes their head like that???? Sloppy and lazy, and from her writing style she's obviously capable of much better than this. Pity, but I won't be reading any of her other offerings.

It's OK, but not great. Read Kim Harrison or Kelley Armstrong instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac20e6cc)

This product

The Stone Prince
The Stone Prince by Gena Showalter (Mass Market Paperback - Sep 2004)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews