Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super read
I think sarah tucker's book was a superb read, not too heavy a pleasant book to get stuck into! Reading some of the comments people have made on here I think there a tad harsh on the book, i really don't think it's that bad a book. Anyway if your going on holiday and want a good book to read lying on the beach then this book is well worth buying.
Published on 7 Jun 2004 by Steve

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal, contemptible trash
This novel is inept in every possible way.
For a start - the dull, meandering 'plot': should the heroine remain faithful to sleazy knobhead boyfriend for whom she has a deep spiritual lurve or should she have an affair with sleazy knobhead colleague who is a rampant sexual animal? She drivels on about this for 200-odd pages. It's like being stuck inside the head of a...
Published on 14 Jan 2004 by laramcn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal, contemptible trash, 14 Jan 2004
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
This novel is inept in every possible way.
For a start - the dull, meandering 'plot': should the heroine remain faithful to sleazy knobhead boyfriend for whom she has a deep spiritual lurve or should she have an affair with sleazy knobhead colleague who is a rampant sexual animal? She drivels on about this for 200-odd pages. It's like being stuck inside the head of a particularly idiotic, self-obsessed teenage girl.
The characters hardly even qualify as one-dimensional - they are just collections of designer labels, cliched likes and dislikes, and flat, boring conversations, mostly about nipples or marriage. The dialogue is much like listening teenagers wittering on at the back of a bus, only less insightful and interesting. The heroine is completely unconvincing - we are constantly told how intelligent and special she is. She is not. The author attempts to imitate the style of Bridget Jones's Diary ('Must go to gym', 'Must stop obsessing about X' etc etc), but lacks Helen Fielding's skill and wit and ends up with a novel that reads like a shopping list. It is full of irritating mistakes: her friend is 'bonking' a yoga instructor who turns into an aerobics instructor a few lines later; she makes a big deal about wearing trousers for her hot date with the sleazy colleague, then later, back at his house, she has apparently changed into a skirt.
Chick-lit can be fun - a guilty pleasure, like watching Trisha in bed. But this is just shoddy, cynical crap. Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars AVOID THIS BOOK LIKE YOU WOULD A DOSE OF THE CLAP!!, 23 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
....And after that delightful introduction, I shall endeavour to be a little more articulate.

God, I hate this book. So much, in fact, that I am unable to finish it. I detest the writing style. It is odd. Like this. Stop start. A few words. Then a pause. Then some more words. Then stop.

Irritating, no?!?!

I love nothing more than a good chick lit novel. This really is dire, though. Inane, waffling drivel. And, Ye Gods!!! There is a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Book Worm (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
To save repeating what other reviewers have put - this book is rubbish. It's one of the most poorly written, flat, one dimensional books I've ever read. We are supposed to believe this adulturous, yet very sexy, beautiful, intelligent, free spirited etc etc etc protagonist really really loves her boyfriend Paul - yet falls in love with a man whose first conversation with her makes constant references to her nipples - and it disintegrates from there. Some parts of the book descend unashamedly into porn territory. Now I am no prude, and I know that some "racy" language should be expected with chick lit, but Ive never read a book before which is meant to be light hearted, funny chick lit yet is stuffed to the brim with explicit descriptions of sex. The conversations are completely unbelievable and the dialogue is just beyond words.

Please don't waste any money on this poorly written book with it's one dimensional and cliched characters and appalling layout and style. The author must be rubbing her hands together with glee that she has managed to fleece anyone out of their money to buy it. Thankfully, I borrowed the copy I read and hence didnt have to pay for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Crude impersonation of chick-lit, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
This book is supposed to be "honest, wickedly funny and sexy". I found it crude and uninteresting. I was hoping for a Bridget Jones style read, but found myself with flat characters in a semi-pornographic romp. I got a third of the way through and gave up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 4 Feb 2010
By 
S. Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've read some trashy novels in my time, but nothing as poorly executed as this. The characters are complete stereotypes with no dimension whatsoever; the heroine is the shallowest 'woman' I have ever encountered, and the plot is as thin as rice paper. The book is full of mistakes as well, as mentioned by other reviewers. I would not recommend this book at all and I would hate to think of it getting into the hands of an impressionable teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tries to write another Bridgit Jones - fails., 20 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
The worst kind of modern romantic fiction. Ms Tucker is clearly trying to emulate Feilding's groundbreaking Bridgit Jones, but falls well short.
The last year of being single has a thin plot and no character development. Whilst I appreciate that the language of the narrative is stylised, it is full of grammatical errors and inconsistencies which make for disjointed reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible, 1 Aug 2011
Not sure why anyone would give this book five stars. As other reviewers have said, the main character is completely unsympathic as she's with a jerk of a boyfriend, and then goes and has an affair with the most horrible man ever. The language is crude, rude and disgusting. This book was not entertaining, inspiring or remotely engaging, but instead one of those books where you lament the time you wasted on reading this book that you'll never have back. A must miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super read, 7 Jun 2004
By 
Steve (Southend-On-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
I think sarah tucker's book was a superb read, not too heavy a pleasant book to get stuck into! Reading some of the comments people have made on here I think there a tad harsh on the book, i really don't think it's that bad a book. Anyway if your going on holiday and want a good book to read lying on the beach then this book is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read..., 10 Nov 2003
By 
Ms. A. J. Doherty "Dohbum" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
From the moment I picked it up I couldn't put this book down. Thoroughly enjoyed all characters and plot, my only complaint is that it should have been longer. Sequel please!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great piece of modern fiction, 8 Oct 2003
This review is from: The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) (Paperback)
The book follows Sarah in the events that unfold. She has been with her boyfriend for five years and is still waiting to be proposed to, but she gets carried away with a new collegue. Then out of the blue her boyfriend proposes and as the event she has been dreamed of her wedding day is looming, she has to consider if it is what she wants. If you are anything like me you wont be able to put it down when it gets really goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink)
The Last Year of Being Single (Red Dress Ink) by Sarah Tucker (Paperback - 19 Sep 2003)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews