Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for helping children learn their tables.
I really love this book which is one of a whole series of educational books. I am a teacher and have used it in school with 7 - 9 year olds. Children absolutely love it and the pop-ups and sliders are fairly sturdy. Knowing your times tables is vital so if you're wanting to give your child a head start, buy this book.
Published on 28 Sep 2001 by Saskia Martin (nick@martin314....

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too fussy
I bought this book based on the other reviews and even I find it too fussy. It is hard to see what you are supposed to do, each page is filled edge to edge with fussy drawings amongst which are tabs to pull. It is not clear what is expected and my daughter, 7rs old, doesn't make any sense from it. My 3yr old though loves to pull the tabs just for the sake of it. I...
Published on 23 Feb 2010 by Mrs. Zoe L. Sigrist


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 94 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for helping children learn their tables., 28 Sep 2001
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
I really love this book which is one of a whole series of educational books. I am a teacher and have used it in school with 7 - 9 year olds. Children absolutely love it and the pop-ups and sliders are fairly sturdy. Knowing your times tables is vital so if you're wanting to give your child a head start, buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great educational tool, 13 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
This book is a fantastic introduction for children. Although intended for children over 7, my son has had the book since he was 5, and has thoroughly enjoyed the introduction to times tables. Children do not appear to see the book as educational as it is good fun. There is lots to explore within the book and with various pop up's, lift the flap's and slider's, children are keen to go back to the book again and again, and never find it boring or 'old hat'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too fussy, 23 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. Zoe L. Sigrist (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
I bought this book based on the other reviews and even I find it too fussy. It is hard to see what you are supposed to do, each page is filled edge to edge with fussy drawings amongst which are tabs to pull. It is not clear what is expected and my daughter, 7rs old, doesn't make any sense from it. My 3yr old though loves to pull the tabs just for the sake of it. I also bought Carol Vordermans, Times Tables Made Easy, which is rather more traditional but at least my daughter seems to be improving from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grat for key Stage 1, 30 Jun 2009
By 
Vicky "McNic" (SWINDON, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
This is a great book for budding mathmaticians who can't get enough of numbers and also for the more reluctant student who would rather not learn their times tables. Great for key stage 1 and into key stage 2 if they haven't mastered them. We've even had this requested as the bed time read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential addition to your home library, 4 Dec 2008
By 
P. Silberrad (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
This is the most wonderful book. I bought it for my daughter when she was five and she went back to it time after time till she was 10. It is so much fun you're not aware you're learning. Lots of helpful "cheats" to remember your times tables, eg 11 times any number up to 10 is always a double up ie 2x11=22, 3x11=33, 4=x11=44, etc. My son (6) has been using this since he was 3 and can do 12 times table!

Must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 31 Mar 2010
By 
C. Maybury (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
This is a great fun book which greatly appeals to both my 8yr old daughter and my 5yr old son. They haven't really learned their tables from it, though (except the trick of how to calculate 9 times!). Perhaps they're picking it up subliminally though, and certainly it gives them a positive attitude to the subject.
They both choose it regularly, and it's showing wear and tear (much of it is pop-up and moveable bits).
Each page looks at a different table (starting with zero times table). There are lots of fun pictures and tabs to move on each page. An example is the 8-times table is all about an octopus. Incorporated on each page is a simple list of the table (1x1=1, 2x1=2 etc).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Complicated, 8 Feb 2013
By 
C. J. Manning (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
This book seemed to cause more confusion than anything. Maybe best sticking to the old fashioned method! This was bought for my nephew but he seems to have done better with repetition and practice than this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Terrific Times Tables Book, 23 July 2010
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
Both my 10 year old and 6/7 year old sons have enjoyed using this Times Table Book. They have found this book to be quite funky and fun to use. Both boys enjoy maths and know their times table up to 12. The 6/7 has just got the 7 times table to go... Most children love pop books and flaps and funky bright colours. We also enjoyed the Science & Music Books in this series. Have fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful books, worth buying, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
wonderful books, worth buying, really keep you interested as there is so much to look at, with little snippets of info great even for those that dont like books, reading or have a short attention span.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good find!, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Terrific Times Tables Book (Hardcover)
My daughter is very excited about this book and learning the times table. She looks at this every afternoon and goes over the tables happily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Terrific Times Tables Book
The Terrific Times Tables Book by Kate Petty (Hardcover - 23 April 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews