Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational book by an inspirational man
This was the first book I read by Tristan Jones, and I was instantly captivated by the incredible adventures he undertook. Not only that, but his wit, tenacity, general philosophy of life and his excellent writing style make it an enthralling read and gave me many many sleepless nights! It really is extremely hard to put this down, to decide to take your boat across the...
Published on 4 Sep 2001 by mr alex j poor

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars cover very bent
I appreciate this book was very cheap but the cover had been folded in three places and would like to have known that before purchase. That doesn't change the quality of the writing however!
Published 12 months ago by infonet


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational book by an inspirational man, 4 Sep 2001
By 
mr alex j poor (bristol, bristol United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This was the first book I read by Tristan Jones, and I was instantly captivated by the incredible adventures he undertook. Not only that, but his wit, tenacity, general philosophy of life and his excellent writing style make it an enthralling read and gave me many many sleepless nights! It really is extremely hard to put this down, to decide to take your boat across the war-torn middle east to sail on the lowest sea in the world, then to sail across the other side of the world and have it transported to the highest lake in the world is an unbelievably ridiculous notion. But he does it, and like so many of his other 'ridiculous' plans which form his other books, it is the strength of his character, his determination and his sheer STUBBORNESS which helps him succeed. A visionary man, who has become my personal hero, this book (and all his others) provide not just a ripping yarn but incredible inspiration to go and fulfill your dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voyage? Woefully inadequate word. Incredible? Absolutely, 27 Oct 2004
By 
Andrew Kerr "Alabony" (Dunfermline, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What an unexpected delight of a book!
Apparently, Tristan Jones is legendary in sailing circles. Not being a sailor, I'd never heard of him until I bought this book.
The premise is quite simple. It's simply the tale of Tristan's attempt to set an unbeatable sailing altitude record, by taking his yacht to Israel and having it taken overland and plonked in the Dead Sea - the lowest body of water in the world. Then taking it back to the ocean and sailing it to South America, there to figure out a way of having it taken up to Lake Titicaca, the highest lake in the world.
What unfolds, however, is an astonishing account of his six year (!) odyssey. Boy, is this guy stubborn! Despite numerous minor (and several major) mishaps, he remains determined to reach his objective.
Although I have nothing more than a passing interest in sailing, I found this book absolutely gripping. More than a dull account of the long voyage, Tristan tells the tale with wit, humour and is clearly gifted at conveying the atmosphere and mood in any situation.
Essentially, against a large field of other extremely enjoyable and enlightening books, I can honestly say that this now takes its place as the best book I have ever read (supplanting the superb 'Between Silk & Cyanide' in the process). It has something for everyone, and several long passages that deserve to be remembered in years to come as outstanding pieces of writing.
I'm now rapidly working my way through most of his other books.
If you want humour, buy it. If you want to learn a bit about life at sea, buy it. If you want to know about just about anywhere in Europe, the Middle East, Africa or South America, buy it. If you want to learn some facts about South American native Indians that you probably won't find anywhere else, buy it.
Most of all, if you want an entertaining, educational, enlightening, inspiring book that is also so gripping you won't want to put it down, just buy it. You definitely won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An entralling tale of adventure, 1 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Tristan Jones spins a yarn so captivating that one should be forgiven for shunning all contact with the outside world until the very last word has been savoured. He is a true sailor and adventurer who lets nothing get in the way of his ultimate goal of sailing on the highest and lowest waters on earth. This is a tale which shows where tenacity and not a hint of madness can get you so you'll find it cautionary or inspirational. Jones is physically and mentally as tough as they get, which is lucky, because he needs every ounce of his power and knowledge on this journey. If I have just one criticism it's that he can perhaps seem egocentric at times sometimes referring to the reader's assumed view of him. Part of the pleasure of this tale is marvelling at the mind that conceived such a journey and had strength to carry it through; his comments on what we think can make him seem conceited. Perhaps, however, this is good enough to permit his occasional gasconism. Tristan Jones' tome has a firm place on my "Favourite books" shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Voyage, 25 Jan 2009
An extra ordinary tale - a boys own adventure of a man who just does. I suspect if he could have written slightly better or had a wish to self promte he would be one of the well known British adventures.
He only gives less than a page of description to a spider that burrowed into his arm and could have killed him!!
The story of a man whos life was a one long adventure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Voyage, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not for myself, a christmas present for a brother in law, can confirm arrived within a couple of days - I had read before and it is a good read for sailors or non.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A man who really lived, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fellow yachting sailor, albeit a modern day one and in relative comfort, I appreciated Tristan Jones' intrepid and adventurous spirit and loved his "there is a way around everything" attitude to making his dream come true. How many people can say at the end of their lives - "I did what I wanted to do and what a life it was"!? A fascinating story and one I can only begin to emulate, but it inspires me to keep trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible just does go far enough., 5 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Incredible just does go far enough to describe this voyage. Never been a sailor nor interested in sailing but this book had me gripped. Well written tale of sailing adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triston Jones, 9 July 2010
Exactly what it says on the book, 'The Incredible Voyage' one of those 'can't put down' books, a tale of a mans need to sail on the lowest and highest waters in the world and the trials and tribulations of everything in between, including a riveting account of the first and probably only ever crossing from west to east of a sea worthy boat across the south american continent ! A must have read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 31 May 2014
By 
Mr. Barry J. Knight (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good read after all the years that have passed since writing. Started to lose its way approx 2/3rds of the way but soon got back on track and kept me enthralled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars cover very bent, 30 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I appreciate this book was very cheap but the cover had been folded in three places and would like to have known that before purchase. That doesn't change the quality of the writing however!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Incredible Voyage: A Personal Odyssey
The Incredible Voyage: A Personal Odyssey by Tristan Jones (Hardcover - 21 Sep 1978)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews