Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Black Sheep
'Black Sheep' is one of Georgette Heyer's later Regency novels and shows all her skills as a writer, including her much-praised historical accuracy for this period. The 'Black Sheep' of the title is Mr Miles Calverleigh, a gentleman who was sent to India twenty years before after shaming his family. Unfortunately for Miss Abigail Wendover, the absent Mr Calverleigh's...
Published on 26 April 2008 by Helen Hancox

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay!
I love Georgette Meyer but couldn't bring myself to enjoy this one. I found the hero utterly boring and uninteresting and not at all suited to the heroine. The clever dialogue between them still wasn't enough to hold my attention. And the ending just annoyed me :-(!!
Reading this after just having read the exciting Lord Damarel in Venetia (by the same author) was a...
Published 17 months ago by Joyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Black Sheep, 26 April 2008
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
'Black Sheep' is one of Georgette Heyer's later Regency novels and shows all her skills as a writer, including her much-praised historical accuracy for this period. The 'Black Sheep' of the title is Mr Miles Calverleigh, a gentleman who was sent to India twenty years before after shaming his family. Unfortunately for Miss Abigail Wendover, the absent Mr Calverleigh's nephew Stacy is apparently trying to beguile her spirited niece Fanny in order to get his hands on her fortune. Abigail and her sister Serena have stood as parents toward Fanny for many years but Abigail begins to discover that Fanny has grown up enough to want to rely less on her aunt and more on her own heart.

It is into this situation that Miles Calverleigh steps, having finally returned from India. The first scene between him and Abby, a case of mistaken identity, is a wonderful example of Heyer's skill in writing two spirited and interesting characters. Abigail tries to get Miles to help separate his nephew from her niece but she finds herself thwarted by his apparent lack of interest in the cares of others and his apparent wish to thwart her own strict views on being a support to her own sister which may prevent her from following her heart.

There are some similarities between this book and 'Lady of Quality', also written late in Heyer's career, not least in the age of the heroes and heroines who aren't the youngsters of 'Friday's Child' or 'Cotillion' but are mature people who may perhaps feel that the opportunities in life have passed them by. As usual the side characters are excellent in this story, including the very amusing Mrs Clapham and even the straighlaced James Wendover. This book seems to contain less of the cant phrases that can render some characters in other books almost incomprehensible but the overall standard of dialogue is excellent. 'Black Sheep' makes an excellent introduction to Heyer's Regency novels and can be enjoyed again and again.

Originally published for Curled Up With A Good Book © Helen Hancox 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loveable Tanned Rake, Mischevious Noble Lady - Another Heyer Addiction!, 17 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
I love reading, and if ever I want a book to take me out of myself after a long day, I reach for Georgette Heyer...
On my list of GH favourites, Black Sheep has to rate fairly high. Not only does it capture the feeling of beautiful Regency Bath so well that I feel I am taking a turn about the famous Pump Room and elegant streets myself, but it brings together two infectious characters that I immediately warmed to. Abby the heroine, described by herself as a 'staid old aunt' when in fact she is a stylish witty woman in her late twenties, has never been attracted to any man enough to relinquish her single status. Until, that is, the arrival of the indolent, rakish Miles, the 'Black Sheep' of the noble Calverleigh family banished to hot climates years before for his wild ways. The tale centres on the love story of these two whilst Abby struggles with the guardianship of her wilful, pretty niece, who is heiress to a tidy fortune and being pursued by the slimy if artful Stacy Calverleigh, Miles's impoverished nephew.
A wonderful story with a good mix of humour and some nice little twists provided by cheeky Miles. Get comfortable, open the book and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Sheep - Exceleent, 7 Mar 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black sheep (Hardcover)
This story is rather similar to "A lady of Quality", and is much the best of the two. It was written earlier, whilst Georgette Heyer was still at the height of her powers. Abigail Wendover, now in her late twenties, came from a family of rigid propriety, where the happiness of every child has been ruthlessly sacrificed to advantageous marriages. She now lives with her clinging, hypochondriac eldest sister and their beautiful niece in Bath. Although still largely bound by convention, Abby has always resented it, and longs for the courage to rebel. Determined not to let Fanny (the niece) be similarly crushed by the family, she has brought her up with a considerable amount of freedom, and they are very close. Unfortunately a determined fortune hunter is after Fanny, and the elder sister has also been fooled by him. Enter Miles Calverleigh, the Black Sheep of his family, uncle of the fortune hunter, and the Wendover family's worst nightmare. To her pompous brother's horror, Abigail likes and encourages Miles, despite being frequently exasperated by him. This is a really good one, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect., 27 Sep 2010
By 
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
I've recently come back to Georgette Heyer after many, many years and I'm really enjoying reading old favourites over again. If I'm stressed or feeling down, I don't want challenging or thought provoking - and I really don't want self-obsessive chick-lit. If books were comfort food, Georgette Heyer would be the best quality chocolate and Black Sheep is one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy in Bath, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
I read `Black Sheep' when it was first published and it has lost none of its charm on re-reading. Abigail Wendover is one of Heyer's most endearing older heroines with a great deal of common sense and a disinclination to bow to convention. She lives in Bath with her older sister Selina and their young niece Fanny.

Unfortunately while Abby was away from Bath visiting one of her other sisters, Fanny has become the object of a fortune hunter - Stacy Calverleigh. Stacy's estranged Uncle Miles Calverleigh returns unexpectedly from India and becomes acquainted with Abby who hopes to involve him in her plan to detach Stacy from her niece.

What follows is a lively fast paced plot with some truly memorable characters - Miles Calverleigh himself, the delightful Fanny, hypochondriac Selina and the outrageous Mrs Clapham who plays a small but important part in the story. As ever the plot is intriguing and characters realistic and Bath society is well portrayed. The dialogue is witty and entertaining and many of the incidents are really funny. This is a feel good story ideal for these winter evenings. It would be a good introduction to Georgette Heyer's work for anyone who has not read any of her books before as I think it is possibly one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my all time favourites, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
An older hero, and an older heroine. A regular 'Black sheep', and a woman who is tied to her family. Put them together as Georgette Heyer has done, and then sit back and chuckle as they, and the younger, secondary, hero and heroine, get themselves in a tangle. I don't think anyone has ever bettered Georgette Heyer when it comes to Regency Romance, and if you haven't discovered her books yet I envy you that treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely giggle inducing romance, 17 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
Another wonderful tale from Georgette Heyer. Some similarities with other stories, but still a delight. This ranks with the The Faro's Daughter and The Grand Sophie as one of my favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of Heyer's best, 22 Oct 2006
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
I've only recently discovered Heyer and am slowly reading my way through them - and have to say this is one of my favourite's so far. She's been likened to jane Austen, which I've always thought was a sad over-estimation, but here I can see the relationship. The charcters are witty and fully-rounded, the situation intriguing and ripe with possibility, and the hero just enough of a rake to make him sexy and interesting! Turn off the phone, get out the wine and chocolate and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really positive, to the point recommendation., 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Black Sheep (Paperback)
Georgette Heyer is a master of writing historically accurate fiction without swamping the reader with dry facts. Opening one of her books is like stepping back in time without having to put up with the nasty bits. This book is no exception. The characters are lovingly drawn and the story is funny, heartwarming and enchantingly romantic without being sappy or too mushy. The heroine is sparky and intelligent, the hero is sexy and as the title suggests just a little disreputable. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good light summer reading, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Black Sheep (Kindle Edition)
Easy to pick up and put down - typical Georgette Heyer but one of her better plots. A good light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Sheep
Black Sheep by Georgette Heyer (Hardcover - 1 Jan 1966)
Used & New from: £2.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews