Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Series has a couple of new stars
Orson Scott Card continues the Ender's prequels creating two new star characters along the way. Yes, they both appears in the first installment in this new series but here they really come to life leaving you wanting more.

Mazer Rackham and Victor are both fully fledged and the ending here is as abrupt as it's logical.

A real cliff-hanger. Now all I...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. Paul Bissette

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars could do better
Enders game is one of my favourite books. This is not in the same league. A good intro and history to the story, but far too many 'suspension of disbelief' problems
Published 3 months ago by C H Melia


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ender's Series has a couple of new stars, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Orson Scott Card continues the Ender's prequels creating two new star characters along the way. Yes, they both appears in the first installment in this new series but here they really come to life leaving you wanting more.

Mazer Rackham and Victor are both fully fledged and the ending here is as abrupt as it's logical.

A real cliff-hanger. Now all I need is the publishing date of the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The inevitable, all-out War., 19 April 2014
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War (Paperback)
Like the latter half of the first instalment of the new series, this second book races past and the action doesn't let up until the end. While the first book was about how easy it would be to mistake the intentions of any approaching alien race - in this second part we are in no doubt that the formics are hostile and deadly to the human race.

The series has made the most of the new characters and we find out how they all play a part and they are fleshed out well in this continuation. Probably not the best place to start, but it is now all about the way we as a a species or society, deal with the threat. It's clear that most institutions would be paralised and useless - weighed down with bureacracy and red tape, to prevent any resistence. It's only those working outside of any constraints that can actually mobilise to do anything.

Of course, as the plot moves on, we realise that we are with the only groups of people who can make a difference and this is in no way a big spoiler, as it's pretty clear from the start that these are no ordinary people and some, like Mazer Rackham, have their stories pre-determined from events in the "Ender's Game" series. This is a very enjoyable series and while this one may have less philsophical depth, it moves us into the world of all-out war, where this is no room for doubt of hesitation - it's them or us - and no room for communication or scientific method.

In a way this is quite a sad outcome - but the writers are quite convincing in their portayal of the inevitability of the idea that any contact with an alien species, will be about a battle for resources and that we will be at war, rather than sitting down to talk and swap ideas. Personally, I would like to hope that humanity could be more rational and conciliatory - but our history tends to show this is unlikely. Also, these ideas are explored further in the later books of the "Ender" series and maybe we do have to grow further as a society before we are ready for a different outcome?

All in all a good read and I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fills in more gaps in the Ender story., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although written with hindsight the story continues to provide background for the Ender series. Although it's a good story in its own right it helps if you are familiar with the characters of the previous book(s) in this new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story continues, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War (Paperback)
Picks up straight after Book 1, all 1 book really; would be 5 starts but this book doesn't really have an ending either. If you like any of the Ender stories, Shadow saga etc. you should read these too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ripping SF...can't wait for next one., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War (Paperback)
Prequel stories to the Ender's Game and Shadow series. Page turner that is written with the expectation of a film screenplay being extracted with little effort. It is definitely worth reading if you enjoyed Enders Game series, but read Book 1 (Earth Unaware), first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the high standard I have come to expect from OSC, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable book in the pre Ender period. Interesting to see Mazer Rackham's back story unfolding. Looking forward to see all the loose ends tied together in the final part of the trilogy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Enders Game even a little, the prequels are a great foundation worth the escapism., 21 April 2014
By 
Mr. G. Foard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War (Paperback)
Bought the first part of this as a cheap, time filling read and based on seeing Enders Game as a prequel to that movie.
I haven't read sci fi for years but enjoyed the setting, build up and secondary stories; Yet another book had me ordering the sequel from here - why are these so 'can't put down? I actually looked forward to commuting so I could get my daily fix of Vico and the Formics!
As with another series of book I've reviewed here, the downside is now I have to wait for the next published book some months from now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing books, amazing story., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War (Paperback)
Another amazing book from Orson and Aaron. I first read Ender's Game about 10 years ago and instantly fell in love. I didn't know there were sequels but I now am on a mission to read the whole Ender Saga. I love reading the prequels, Mazer Rackham is a wonderful character and I find the Earth books great because we can relate to them more closely! Due to them being set a closer time to ourselves. I'm excited for the last prequel that will finish Mazer's story and give light as to why everybody talks about him in Battle School.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars could do better, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enders game is one of my favourite books. This is not in the same league. A good intro and history to the story, but far too many 'suspension of disbelief' problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant science fiction/fantasy, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a giant leap away from the usual science fiction or fantasy book - total believable, but beyond all imagining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa429a8)

This product

Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War
Earth Afire: Book 2 of the First Formic War by Aaron Johnston (Paperback - 4 Jun 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews