Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Culture crossed with the Roman Empire
Ancilliary Justice starts with its central character, who goes by the alias of Breq, on a wintery planet in search of a weapon with which she hopes to revenge events from 20 years previously. The story of those events is told in alternate chapters where we learn about a universe which is home to the imperial Radch, whose artificially intelligent starships control networks...
Published 11 months ago by P. G. Harris

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and unusual
Breq is unique but she wasn't always. Once Breq was a spaceship, Justice of Toren, comprising thousands of corpse soldiers, each with a shared identity, one of many such vessels spreading the influence of the Imperial Radch around the Galaxy. Breq is now alone, her vessel destroyed, and she has only one goal - to take vengeance on Anaander Mianaai, the lord of the Radch,...
Published 18 months ago by Kate


‹ Previous | 19 10 1124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully 'human' science fiction, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this book far more than I expected having not read any science fiction for a long time and wondering if the genre would still do it for me. The style is really wonderful, there are some moments of truly sublime writing, and the story was extremely engaging, although it did take a couple of chapters to really pull me in. Looking forward to reading more soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, the concepts, the twists, the interesting, perhaps surprising, use of gender, but mainly the breadth of Ann Leckie's vision. Beautifully written, I would love to see this developed into a series of Imperial Radch novels, the roots are all there in this first novel. The minute I finished this one, I read the second, and wasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A really good read and I'll definitely get the sequel, 9 Aug. 2014
Complex story. Engaging characters. A really good read and I'll definitely get the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars with some brilliant set-pieces. I'm not going to say who this ..., 21 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch) (Paperback)
A well written, well paced exploration of what it means to be an individual, with some brilliant set-pieces. I'm not going to say who this reminds me of as I'm sure ms. Leckie is getting sick of the comparisons, but if you're a fan of books featuring hyper-intelligent star ships interacting with humans in a well-described coherent setting, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the awards it gained, 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch) (Paperback)
The story has been described in some detail by other reviewers so I will not repeat. The plot is interesting and writing is OK, but is it that good that it should win every SF award going? No way. Three stars - ie "it's OK", sums it up pretty well. Alastair Reynolds and Mark Charan Newton, to name just two, write far better with better plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Spaceships are People Too!, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this a month ago. I liked the way that Ann Leckie brought her main character to life. It is an intelligent book with a good pace and rhythm and a subtext about class, entitlement and what it means to be human. I would recommend it to a class of teenagers and enjoy the discussion afterwards as they try to pick out the layers of meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and riveting, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not be put off by the slow start. Like a picture being painted of people and places and different cultures it takes some time to fall into the story and where it has come from and where it is going to. I loved the different characters and the strong dynamic between them. This book is definitely head and shoulders above the usual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable read., 26 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very enjoyable read. Excellent storyline that kept my attention throughout the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch) (Paperback)
Having heared this discussed on PodCastle I thought I should check it out and i was very very pleased. Finished this last night having read far to late into the night to get to the end. The book was excellent, the story twisted and turned and was not at all predictable. Certainly recommend it to fans of galaxy spanning SciFi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding science fiction, 10 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch) (Paperback)
Ancillary Justice is the sort of book that wins awards - and with good cause. First, it is a vast space opera, with Banksian AI warships and space battles and intergalactic colonisation and such. Second, it has that "sense of wonder" that (apparently) defines SF. But, then, good lord, Ms. Leckie's also snuck in a character or two! It seems that one of those AI warships has - somehow - been trapped in the body of a human being (a sort of thawed human robo-zombie thing). How'd it get there? What is it doing? What is going on?

These (and other) questions are answered through the course of Ancillary Justice, which combines the aforementioned wild space operatics with sterling character development (you'll never feel quite so attached to an empathy-free, personality-free computer program ever again!), political chicanery, a good ol' fashioned whoddunit and - as if that weren't enough - some cunningly progressive gender politics. When you're seeing the world through the eyes of a billion tons of space-faring metal, the intricacies of gender - how we define it, what it means and all the culturally-imposed baggage thereof - tend to be forgotten.

This is a book that will please the traditional SF crowd with the drama and impress literary readers with the socially-savvy undercurrents: be prepared to see Ancillary Justice bandied around a lot come awards season. (As it should be.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 1124 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch)
Ancillary Justice: 1 (Imperial Radch) by Ann Leckie (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2013)
£5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews