Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, easy-to-read and addictive dystopia
Set in a vaguely anonymous and heavily altered New York City a hundred years or so in the future, we are presented with a world gone social media mad. Life is lived in front of an audience of screens, the projections of online voyeurs, who follow the popular around, listening in to `private' conversations and moments. Life and death matter far less than how much money you...
Published 13 months ago by Kate

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual story
I have to say it took me a little while to really get into this story but about a quarter through it I got hooked and I really enjoyed it .
Published 8 months ago by Catherine Boyle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, easy-to-read and addictive dystopia, 18 July 2013
By 
Kate (Oxford, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Kindle Edition)
Set in a vaguely anonymous and heavily altered New York City a hundred years or so in the future, we are presented with a world gone social media mad. Life is lived in front of an audience of screens, the projections of online voyeurs, who follow the popular around, listening in to `private' conversations and moments. Life and death matter far less than how much money you have, how beautiful you are and how many `friends' or `followers' you have. Should you have these then death is actually little more than an inconvenient intermission in an otherwise long and spoilt existence. You will be frozen and then instantly revived, your ailments at least temporarily held at bay and your injuries fixed. If you are female and beautiful but without money then it is possible that you might find yourself in a form of frozen living death, one of the Bridesicles, awoken for brief expensive `dates' with the type of man who would want to revive a dead woman to be his wife or, more accurately, sex-slave.

The introduction to Love Minus Eighty is superb and immediately puts the reader into the heart of the matter - what would it be like to be one of these frozen women who must beg to be awoken? When Rob runs over and kills Winter (what a name!), his life changes almost as much as hers. When she becomes a Bridesicle, Rob works every minute he can to have her woken from her frozen death. Their strange relationship is the core of this wonderful novel, but there is much more to it than that. Parallel stories and lives make the pages turn quickly. Rob's friends, his ex-girlfriend in her crazy social media whirl, the man who wants to commit suicide but risks being rewoken against his wishes, his father who lives with the memories of his dead wife, and most of all the frozen women that we glimpse in all their terror, grief and desperation.

As all good dystopias should, Love Minus Eighty builds a well-realised and extraordinary world. The layers of city reflect the layers of social class. This is a world in which you are classed by the technology you carry on your body, your social skin, and how many conversations you can conduct simultaneously. Yet this contrasts with the people themselves. Many of the characters we meet here want the same things as you and me, no more or less, and the main story of Rob and Winter co-exists so well with the love stories of other individuals who have to work so hard to uncover true feelings behind all this social glitter.

This thoroughly enjoyable novel has some big themes but they are not delved into too deeply. Instead, this is a fast, easy to read and addictive novel that you can put as much or as little thought as you like into reading. I would certainly like to read more of this dystopian world and find out what happened to some of the other Bridesicles imprisoned in their coffins of ice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clever blend of SF and romance, 12 Sep 2013
By 
M. Jowers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Kindle Edition)
A clever story that moves off in a new direction before your attention span can be tested; it extrapolates and satirises the current obsession with social media. The future depicted is well thought-out - this story can and should be enjoyed both as a possible dystopia and a romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Minus Eighty, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't immediately sold on the style of the book since it jumps between multiple view points, but they were interwoven well and I really started rooting for each of the characters, despite their different goals and motivations. Will McIntosh has created an interesting, and very plausible futuristic world and then filled it with equally interesting characters who, more than once, reminded me of people I knew.

A decent summer read and a weird but wonderful romance. I would definitely recommend it for romance or sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unusual story, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Paperback)
I have to say it took me a little while to really get into this story but about a quarter through it I got hooked and I really enjoyed it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great world building but a little disappointing!, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Paperback)
Twas an insteresting plot and look at the future and i loved the idea. The characters are interesting enough, i just loved the beginning more then the end. Once the world building ended and the love stories panned out, i just kinda guessed all that would happen and i like being suprised, i like a good twist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Do not miss., 24 Jun 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Paperback)
This is a book that really caught my attention with the premise and to be honest it's a book that each page I read drew me in more and more. I loved the idea of the future technology that Will brought to the fore and to be honest I loved the human emotion that he invested within to prove that love can happen to anyone at any time (even in death.)

It's a great read, the characters were not only believable but people I wanted to spend time with and when added to the bizarre future possibility (one that I could actually see happening) all round generated a story that I blitzed through without realising it. Add to this great prose, some wonderful dialogue which all round, with the arc made this a book that I really can't recommend enough to other readers out there looking for an alternate science fiction title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Soap Opera, 17 Feb 2014
By 
David Fernandes (Portugal, Lisbon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Paperback)
What started as an interesting philosophical essay about immortality trough cryogenics quickly derailed into an overlong and boring teen futuristic soap opera with dubious literary quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Kindle Edition)
Good value but story wasn't quite as gripping as I thought it would be, I imagined it to be 1984ish but sometimes descriptions were quite detailed and I just wanted to move on through the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, honest Sci-FI romance, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Minus Eighty (Kindle Edition)
If you like Sci-FI and you like a good love story, then what's not to like about Love Minus Eighty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Minus Eighty
Love Minus Eighty by Will McIntosh (Paperback - 11 Jun 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews