Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A box set that will spark a life-long obsession - Highly recommended for all Science Fiction fans
I have read all of Iain M Banks books, and this boxset brings together the first three books in The Culture series.

It is interesting to speculate that when Iain M Banks wrote these story he definitely was not thinking about a series or a trilogy,and for us Iain M Bank purists it is entertaining to see them boxed up in this way, because in all honesty, Iain M...
Published 5 months ago by Sally Ann Melia

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe start with one instead
Averaging what I thought of the three books and knocking off half a star as the front covers are peeling off all three, even though I bought them less than a year ago.

Consider Phlebas is a fun adventure which loses pace and grinds to a disappointing climax.
The Player of Games is a good, solid story where we really get a feel for the characters and the...
Published 3 months ago by Richard Colfer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A box set that will spark a life-long obsession - Highly recommended for all Science Fiction fans, 18 July 2014
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
I have read all of Iain M Banks books, and this boxset brings together the first three books in The Culture series.

It is interesting to speculate that when Iain M Banks wrote these story he definitely was not thinking about a series or a trilogy,and for us Iain M Bank purists it is entertaining to see them boxed up in this way, because in all honesty, Iain M Banks only ever wrote stand alone novels.

My point being that this is not a trilogy, you don't have to read the books in any particular order, and you can read one and never read the other two or vice versa.

To recap The ten books of the Culture are: Consider Phlebas, 1987; The Player of Games,1988; Use of Weapons, 1990; The State of the Art, 1991; Excession, 1996; Inversions, 1998; Look to Windward,2000; Matter,2008; Surface Detail, 2010; The Hydrogen Sonata, 2012.

To summarise each of these books:

Consider Phlebas is the story of anti-hero Horza who fight against The Culture

The Player of Games is about Gurgeh a bored Culture citizen who is blackmailed into fighting a very unique kind of game war on behalf of the Culture

The State of the Art is about three siblings who from a golden childhood see their lives descend into the murder and cruelty of civil war. The Culture wants to intervene to help them but... Things are never what they seem.

Personally I like the Player of Games the best. To my mind with its echoes in contemporary game culture it is the most accessible of iain M Banks texts, and I love the civilisation of Azad which has so many echoes of our own world.

However once you get started on The Culture novels, once Iain M Banks voice start to speak to you, you will be hooked for life, and eternally grateful that there in fact 10 distinct novels in this series to enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confusing sci-fi, but in a good way, 20 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
Awesome sci-fi in an universe run by The Culture. Having read the two first books and started on the third I really like the imaginative and creativeness of the author. The first book (conside phlebas) was an action packed bomb full of twists worthy of a great adventure (mercenaries mostly blowing up themselves is pretty comic), the second book (Player of Games) expanded more on the phillosophical side and has good character development and is very imaginative and the third book (which I started) has already made me chuckle a couple of times. These are very good reads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this books, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
The books quality is fine, with a nice looking holder.
The story however is amazing!
If you like sci-fi, than Culture is something you must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars recommend reading, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
This box set is the first three books I've read by Iain M. Banks. Unfortunately Mr Banks just recently died so the delight of finding him brought also the sorrow of losing him almost immediately afterwards. Fortunately he was a very productive author so there are plenty of his novels left to read.

The Culture world is very rich and interesting and I can only invite all of you to join us there via these novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm enjoying it so far, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
I'm only half way through the first book but I am getting into the strange blend of dry humour and philosphy and highly imaginative sci-fi that this fictional world contains. Loved the tale of how Horza got away from Fwi Song. It seems to be a bit like Ray Bradbury meets John Wyndham meets Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. There's a lot in it and it deserves to have a wider readership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sci-fi fans will love these books., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
Even though I already owned the first Culture Novel, "Consider Phlebas", I bought this pack and it was a terrific purchase. The universe of the Culture is portrayed in a brilliant manner, only achievable by a super writer like Iain M. Banks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent start, 23 July 2013
By 
Mr. S. Fox "readit readit!" (nottingham, earth.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
I am a fan of Neal Asher, Peter F Hamilton and Charles Stross so have usually got my hands full with those guys but a close friend suggested i read some Iain M Banks. Cannot recommend this highly enough great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian M Banks Culture series, 2 April 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
An amazing and thought provoking series of books about a far future when all our material needs are met. These 3 books are the first in the series and are a good place to start exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Culture Novels Box Set, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
Classic reads. The Culture Novels are a great collection of science fiction titles. There's always something that makes each story special and memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars happy with these, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series (Paperback)
good value and great story telling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iain M. Banks 25th anniversary box set: Books 1-3 of the Culture series
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews