Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace
Like all the Ender Game books i cant put it down and even though Ender has grown from his first book it is still an enjoyable read.
Published 6 months ago by euan kershaw

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A suitable ending, but with far too much navel-gazing.
I totally agree with Roy Oestensen's review. Far too much angst and prevaricating and navel-gazing; not enough advancing the plot.

Like Roy, I also found the FTL mechanism - indeed, the whole "Outside" concept, and aiuas - a little far-fetched.

Also, it appears that the only notable thing to have happened in the 3000 years between now and the time...
Published 9 months ago by Gadget


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A suitable ending, but with far too much navel-gazing., 29 Dec 2013
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
I totally agree with Roy Oestensen's review. Far too much angst and prevaricating and navel-gazing; not enough advancing the plot.

Like Roy, I also found the FTL mechanism - indeed, the whole "Outside" concept, and aiuas - a little far-fetched.

Also, it appears that the only notable thing to have happened in the 3000 years between now and the time this book is set is the Bugger War. At least, no mention is made of any other historical events. Does this not seem a little far-fetched as well?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ace, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Like all the Ender Game books i cant put it down and even though Ender has grown from his first book it is still an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
not as good as the previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book you can't put down, 17 July 2014
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
couldn't put the book down it is such a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Acceptable ending of the series, but not much more, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Roy Oestensen (Baerums Verk, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
With this book the Ender saga is rounded off, with the death of Andrew Wiggins himself. As such the book is quite satisfactory, and it would not be natural to continue the series with what happens in the future. The main problem with this book, though, is that a lot of the story is made up of just talk, talk and talk. Usually a passage with talk between the characters helps break up the story and will often add to the suspence. Here, though, these passages felt way too long at times, and I just wanted the talk to finish. It seemed like Orson Scott Card here wanted to dwell on what a human being actually is, and what makes him complete. I didn't quite find the discussions very satisfactory, though.

Another thing is Card's explanation on the consept of faster than light travel seemed somewhat far fetched to me, but that may only be because the way he treats faster than light travel, is radically different from other sf authors.

But my main criticism would be that if Card had made the talks tighter, maybe even made is somewhat shorter, this book would have functioned much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga (Paperback)
Excellent product, arrived quickly and in perfect condition. It even has that new book smell. Very happy with it! Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga
Children Of The Mind: Book 4 of the Ender Saga by Orson Scott Card (Paperback - 2 May 2013)
£7.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews