Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same (In this case, a GOOD thing)
Action? Check.
Stomach muscle (and bladder) threatening humour? Check.
Samuil Petrovitch doing what he does best? Check.

The Curve of the Earth is a welcome return to the world that Simon Morden introduced slightly less than two years ago with Equations of Life. You will find all of the good things from the original trilogy together with a look beyond...
Published 16 months ago by Sean O'Brien

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but Samuil's character becomes wearing
An entertaining book that presents interesting view of a future ultra conservative US. The main character, Samuil, is quite wearing in his persistent almost childish behaviour.
Published 16 months ago by M. Clare


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same (In this case, a GOOD thing), 22 Mar 2013
Action? Check.
Stomach muscle (and bladder) threatening humour? Check.
Samuil Petrovitch doing what he does best? Check.

The Curve of the Earth is a welcome return to the world that Simon Morden introduced slightly less than two years ago with Equations of Life. You will find all of the good things from the original trilogy together with a look beyond the Metrozone into reconstructionist America.

The writing is well up to Morden's usual standard, pulling the reader along at a pace so frenetic you dare not put the book down for fear it will carry on without you.

I could praise this book for hours but am well aware that most readers of reviews won't get much further down the page than this ;-)

Suffice to say that this is a heartily recommended read. I hope that Morden has many more tales to tell of this foul mouthed Russian genius who must surely be one of the best characters in modern science fiction.

I for one cannot wait...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
Whilst it's been a small wait for us, the humble readers, a decade has passed in the Freezone. As it turns out, Petrovitch still has the knack for getting in trouble when it really matters, and for doing whatever he needs to get his result.

The book moves fast, it's very difficult to find a spot to take a break as you're constantly being sucked back into the plot and wanting to know what happens next. If you've not read the previous books they're not utterly necessary but you'll be missing out on a lot of the backstory and references, if you have read the previous books then you're definitely going to enjoy it.

My only small quibble was it ended so suddenly, like it was slightly truncated by the necessities of print and time. However, it was still an excellent ending and leaves it set up nicely for a return of Petrovitch and the Freezone, hopefully very soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Iain M. Banks, or Cory Doctorow, you might like this as much as I did. Morden has great vision, a convincing creation, and is a good story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps letting better, 13 April 2013
By 
Roobarb (Wellington NZ) - See all my reviews
This whole series has had me addicted for the last 10 days. It's not easy reading, sometimes the geek speak means nothing and sometimes the complexity is just too much. However, Simon Morden is a genius, Petrovitch is a hero and the sum of the parts is that this is brilliant near future fiction. I'm not going to give anything away, just buy book one and start reading and hope to god this doesn't come true but I fear it might just do some of that and without a Petrovitch we are all screwed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking new title from Simon, 4 April 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
I really fell for Simon's Sci-Fi last year when I read his Metrozone trilogy and to be honest its felt like one hell of a long wait to see what he'd return with. After all when an author's writing style not only grabs you by the hand but by the unmentionables and threatens to crush you, you can't help but get taken along for the ride and boy, was it one of those within.

As with Simon's other titles, the prose is razor sharp, the character does his own thing and when the reader is treated to dialogue its snappy enough to make a crocodile worry. Back this up with a lead character that you can't help but like, some cracking action sequences and of course an author who knows what he's going to do the reader with the tale all round gives you not just an exciting story but one you just can't let go. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Samuil rocks, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
A fourth tale about this particular character that I am rather fond of. Some real laugh out loud moments where I appreciated the author's humour and references very much. I do hope that Simon will continue to produce Samuil tales, but I am not sure if he has finally reached the end of this particular saga. Very well written as usual with some interesting and pithy comments on society today, never mind the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff, 27 Nov 2013
Not a bad follow on, read it right after the first part. Not as complex or fast paced but an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gritty, 18 Aug 2013
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
a bit of a violent anti hero cyborg petrovitch swears and shoots his way through this book insulting and assaulting neo conservative americans hes a bit on the unstoppable side but still an interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars continuing to be a fun read, 13 July 2013
By 
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
Another good Petrovich book. Its been 10 quiet but productive years for Petrovich since the events in The Petrovitch Trilogy (The Complete First Three Novels), but when his daughter goes missing while in American territory he is compelled to find out what has happened to her even though he knows the Americans will do all they can to stop him.

This is a change of pace from the first series. Not so much blows up and most the supporting cast from those books are missing and we are given some new characters for Petrovich to bounce of. He's still foul mouthed, brilliant and energetic, but I can say if there are any more books with this character I'm more than happy to pick them up. While not perfect this is nevertheless a fun and over the top read about an alternative earth history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 July 2013
By 
C. Jack "colinjack" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) (Paperback)
After a shakey start this series is getting very good. Flaws from previous books dont even occur here. There aren't women falling ofer him, it makes sense that he is in all the action scenes, it generally fits together quite nicely to be honest. I am also looking forward to the next book to see how things progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels)
The Curve of the Earth (Samuil Petrovitch Novels) by Simon Morden (Paperback - 19 Mar 2013)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews