Customer Reviews


377 Reviews
5 star:
 (190)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to what I like...
As a long time Iain M. Banks fan I must admit I have been a bit disappointed with some of his latest stuff. For example Surface Detail and Matter, while good reads, left me feeling like maybe the prime had been passed. So I didn't have huge expectations for this latest Culture novel. However I was very relieved to find that The Hydrogen Sonata was what might be described...
Published on 11 Oct. 2012 by deMangler

versus
53 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just doesn't compare to previous work
I'm really sorry to write what will be a fairly negative review of this book. I have greatly enjoyed many of Banks' previous works - particularly his sci-fi and I absolutely feel that he helped to create a genre within the genre as the uncontested king of space opera. Despite my growing preference for his earlier works - some of which constitute masterpieces in my view -...
Published on 23 Oct. 2012 by n7misc


‹ Previous | 129 30 3138 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10) (Paperback)
What can one say it's another Ian M banks stunner of a novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All his books are great, such a shame about his early death
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10) (Paperback)
IF YOU LIKE THE CULTURE NOVELS,IM SURE YOU WILL ENJOY THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iain Banks talks about The Hydrogen Sonata, 18 Oct. 2012
By 
Timothy J. Haigh "Tim Haigh" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Another terrific visit to The Culture. I have been intrigued by the noton of Subliming for a long time, so I was thrilled when it was obvious that this time Iain was going to take us through the process of a civilisation actually doing it. My interview with iain about this book (and a couple of earlier ones) can be heard at [...] Do give it a listen. He is always good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10) (Paperback)
Another masterpiece in the Culture series - gonna miss him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Culture novel., 3 Aug. 2014
By 
Macalan (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not his best but definitely worth a read if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Complexities upon complexities. Fascinating., 16 July 2014
By 
J. W. Mclachlan "Brachy8" (Glasgow, Scotland U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unfortunately the last of Iain M Banks. Sadly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Typical Banks, typically excellent., 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent culture novel, if you like the rest then there's a good chance that you'll like this as it is by and large more of the same. Excellent story with a focus on the sublime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A bit simplistic for Banks but good fun and a pleasure to read. The characters and typically brilliantly drawn and the humour made me chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hydrgen Sonata review, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a fan of Iain M Banks, I was expecting to enjoy this one and I was not dissapointed and I chose this to be the first book to read on my brand new Kindle Fire HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 129 30 3138 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10)
The Hydrogen Sonata (Culture 10) by Iain M. Banks (Paperback - 10 Sept. 2013)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews