Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the queen
Xandy's back! With some more action packed adventure. The Prince of Wales has returned to England. Juliet, Alexandra's mother has become public and an unstoppable abomination has been released into the city. Nobody is trustworthy. Betrayal awaits around every corner. And how on earth will the aristo's finally create peace throughout all races..?

Niamh Crosbie
Published 2 months ago by Niamh Crosbie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok ending
This series and this book encompasses a problem that I see far to often in urban fiction nowadays. They introduce amazing worlds and characters in their first books and then as they try to flesh them out in the following books it just fails to encompass the same magic. That is not to say that this is a bad book, its not, its just that this book and this series could of...
Published 5 months ago by Lord Snow Reviews


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An ok ending, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series and this book encompasses a problem that I see far to often in urban fiction nowadays. They introduce amazing worlds and characters in their first books and then as they try to flesh them out in the following books it just fails to encompass the same magic. That is not to say that this is a bad book, its not, its just that this book and this series could of been so much more.
It did enjoy the progression in the relationship between Xandra and Vex. I had thought that the relationship was a bit flat in the second book, but it felt more like an even partnership in this book, even though Xandra had arguably more power due to her being a queen. I also enjoyed Xandra and queen Victoria's interactions. They were full of tension and humor.
My problem was that the enemies in this and the last book were rather cliched and were obvious in this book almost from the outset. One of the enemies in this novel seems so ridicules that I almost feel that the author added them because she felt that Xandra had become to physically powerful, and as such there was no one who could oppose her, resulting in this stupidly overpowered creature being added. Also the great threat of humanity is not resolved in a satisfactory way in my opinion.
As I said this is not a bad book, I was just disappointed because it could of been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fabulous fun, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved this series, full of humour and well rounded characters it creates a world you can believe in. I recommend all three books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long live the queen, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Xandy's back! With some more action packed adventure. The Prince of Wales has returned to England. Juliet, Alexandra's mother has become public and an unstoppable abomination has been released into the city. Nobody is trustworthy. Betrayal awaits around every corner. And how on earth will the aristo's finally create peace throughout all races..?

Niamh Crosbie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved the series, 22 Jan 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Long Live the Queen: Book 3 of the Immortal Empire (Paperback)
I'm a huge fan of this series as I love the way that Kate brings Urban Fantasy and Victoriana together especially with the wonderful mix of the supernatural races and their clear definitions. It works wonderfully well, is like a good coffee (dark and rich) whilst also bringing a great cast of characters to the fore, so much so that you really can't put the book down once you've begun.

Back that up with a solid story arc, some great sleight of hand as well as a kickass heroine and all round I was a more than happy reader. Great stuff and long may the Queen reign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I couldn't wait to read this and i wasn't disappointed, it was brilliant. Highly recommend to anyone that loves steampunk and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful fantasy romp, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Long Live the Queen: Book 3 of the Immortal Empire (Paperback)
Kate Locke has a fan for life her kick arse goblin character had me hooked her handsome werewolf a plague of goblin followers her twist on queen Victoria her high bred vampires her book is original and very entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa476fdc8)

This product

Long Live the Queen: Book 3 of the Immortal Empire
Long Live the Queen: Book 3 of the Immortal Empire by Kate Locke (Paperback - 12 Nov 2013)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews