Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Same as before, neither better nor worse
Mrs Moon continues her story of Kieri and chums. It's another length of the same story, neither better nor (thankfully) worse.

But ... the series is beginning to show signs of self-indulgence. This takes the form of messing with key world concepts. It is a key world concept, in this series, that magic is highly suspect. Moon has begun to start a process to...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing read
Seemed to take a long time to get nowhere. I normally love Elizabeth Moon and am a big fan of the Paladin series but there was very little action in 490 pages. It only seemed to set the scenes for the next book and didn't seem to have the excitement of the other books. It jumped from person to person and place to place for no reason. It could have been covered in half the...
Published 22 months ago by jenka


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Same as before, neither better nor worse, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
Mrs Moon continues her story of Kieri and chums. It's another length of the same story, neither better nor (thankfully) worse.

But ... the series is beginning to show signs of self-indulgence. This takes the form of messing with key world concepts. It is a key world concept, in this series, that magic is highly suspect. Moon has begun to start a process to make magic normal, and we get the usual, very very tired "only bigots can be against magic" trope, borrowed from this world, where bigots use intimidation to force political correctness on the rest of us. I don't enjoy watching that in this world. I certainly don't want to read a fantasy version of the same crap. And it breaks the world's rules to do so. Moon can't change that concept, and still retain credibility. It was possible to do so for the first character, Dorrin, as an exception. But not generally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read but slow story progress, 2 Sept. 2013
By 
S. Mogensen (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
Picked up Limits of Power to read on the plane when going on holiday, and it was a very enjoyable read. The only downside being impatience on my part and wanting the book to be longer!

When I say "slow story progress" in the title, in no way do I mean to imply that nothing happens in the book - it keeps a good pace throughout. However, afterwards, you are left with the feeling that the overall story did not progress much.

Would I recommend the book? Definitely! Will I buy the next book as soon as it's available? Yes! Would I like the book to be 3 times as big? Yes (but not at the cost of waiting 3 times as long for the book to be written).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An absorbing read with some interesting twists, 30 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
I enjoy Elizabeth Moon's books. They're always well plotted and engaging, with a style of writing that draws one in. This latest installment of the 'Paladin's Legacy' series is no exception and I would commend it to anyone. The main characters from earlier books - Dorrin, Arcolin, and Kieri - are all involved in exciting and sometimes unexpected developments, while the wily Arvid is taken way out of his comfort zone and seems to be heading for a major change of life. Definitely one to keep and re-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing read, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
Seemed to take a long time to get nowhere. I normally love Elizabeth Moon and am a big fan of the Paladin series but there was very little action in 490 pages. It only seemed to set the scenes for the next book and didn't seem to have the excitement of the other books. It jumped from person to person and place to place for no reason. It could have been covered in half the pages and then got onto the battles and challenges that are hinted at in the next book. I now need to wait for the next book for some excitement. The heroic death of a faithful soldier didn't seem to have the impact as in other books. Even the appearance of Dragon was tame compared to the last book.

It was a "nice" book but took me 2 weeks to read - normally would take 2 days - but at least I was socialble for those 2 weeks rather than being in a different world and my family got meals cooked - lucky family !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent story let down by narrator, 28 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Limits of Power (MP3 CD)
This review applies to the Audiobook version. The content and pace of the story are, as usual, up to Elizabeth's great standard. Why oh why to the publishers insist on changing the narrator of a book on the 4th book of a series. This narrator does a good job of telling the story BUT she has not listened to any of the previous audiobooks to ensure common words are pronounced the same. It's a jarring change that takes several hours to try and ignore and for me really spoiled the book for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elver, Paladin's and people, 20 Aug. 2013
By 
P. BOOTH "pauline696" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
Looking forward to the next book in the series, the story has many threads and can be a bit confusing at times, but the actual story is a good one. With The Lady of the Elves dead the power now goes into her grandson's hands, best on many sides he must get the Elves and people to work together to battle a coming menace and magery is coming back into the world much to some people's dislike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a small step towards the conclusion...., 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four (Paperback)
i really looked forward to this volume...i ordered four copies pre-publication, to give to friends and relations, who have been waiting as eagerly as i have...and though i have sent them the copies, i have not covered them with lavish praise...i am disappointed...feels like we are threading water, just waiting...and waiting...i tell myself this is the case with all multi-volumed works...i used to wait for the wheel of time, and i have been waiting, seemingly for a decade, for mr martin, and i am still waiting for heather gladney to finish her series of teot (20 years?), and for p c hodgell, with the kencyrath saga...oh well...waiting again....now for moon..
moon lets us catch up with all the characters, follow their lives for a year or so, plodding along, step by step, getting the scene set for the big confrontations and magic explosions...and then we wait again...i do realize that the fourth act in any drama is the boring bit, that it is hard to lead up to the big denouement, but i wish, how i wish, she had made it more exciting....it feels like moving puppets...you have to read it of course, to follow the story to its logical conclusion...but this is not a volume i will re-read soon....sorry...necessary. but not fun...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paladin's Legacy, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A super continuation of the story and glad that Dorrin and Paks are both in this one. Very clear and exciting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good, the book continues the story of Kieri Phelan and Dorrin Veraki, as well as other minor characters. I can't wait for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch reading, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Admittedly I have followed the Author for many years and will continue to do so. The quality and richness of both storyline and writing is consistent throughout her range of novels but I have to say Really SHINES through on the Paksennarion and Paladins Legacy series. My compliments on a great range of characters and superb story content long may they continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four
Limits of Power: Paladin's Legacy: Book Four by Elizabeth Moon (Paperback - 11 Jun. 2013)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews