Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

59
4.7 out of 5 stars
Bone Crossed: Mercy Thompson Book 4
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£8.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
on 6 February 2009
The fourth book in the Mercy Thompson series, which starts with MOON CALLED, BLOOD BOUND and IRON KISSED, BONE CROSSED starts about a week after the events in Iron Kissed left off.

Mercy Thompson, a shape-shifting mechanic in the Tri-Cities, is still recovering from the abuse she experienced at the hands of Tim in the previous book. Although she has finally chosed between Samuel and Adam, the two Alpha wolves who were both after her heart, her frequent panic attacks and understandable reluctance to get intimate with anyone is the next obstacle that Adam and Mercy have to overcome.

The book opens with Mercy's vampire friend, Stephan, being dumped at her trailer as a dried out husk that is near death. The queen of the vampires has found out about Mercy's part in the death of one of her fabvourite generals, and now she's after her. Mercy now needs to try and outwit the entire vampire hoard of the tri-cities, without drawing Adam and the pack into trouble as well.

I liked how honest Mercy is about her issues; her panic attacks make for some very sympathetic reading, as she tries to recover from the rape in the previous book, and some of the more emotionally detailed sections of the book brought me to tears. I also have a huge amount of respect for Adam and how he deals with it; makes him all the more attractive, if that's even possible!

All in all a very welcome addition to the series, and I will be interested to see where Briggs takes Mercy in the next book. Anyone who enjoyed the previous three in the series will definately enjoy BONE CROSSED; however, even though I've given it 5 stars (which it deserves), I think perhaps I enjoyed IRON KISSED more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 11 August 2009
Mercedes Thompson, mechanic and shapeshifter, lives in a world where the fae were forced to come out to the human population due to the advances in technology: making the secret nature of their species no longer possible. Thus the Gray Lords (the enigmatic leaders of the fae) decided it was time to come out to the humans -- along with the werewolves who revealed their existence recently. Vampires however, remain hidden in shadow fearing what would happen if their existence was discovered.

'Bone Crossed' continues the plotlines expounded in 'Blood Bound' with Stefan, Marsilia, and the vampire seethe. Having murdered Andre and received Stefan's protection in covering it up to keep her safe -- Mercy has nevertheless been waiting for the fallout that would occur when Marsilia (the Mistress of the vampires) finds out about the killing. After all, Stefan can't protect her forever. She's safe until Stefan lands (quite literally) in the middle of her living room a tortured shell of the vampire he once was, and informs her that the Mistress knows. Now she is after a little creative retribution. Some that will not start a war with the werewolves. The other arcs in 'Bone Crossed' is Mercy's continuing relationship with Adam, alpha of the local werewolf pack, and the consequences of the sexual assault from the prior book. There's also the arc tied up in the vampire one of the ghosts in Spokane.

This book was a little patchy. There were a lot of things going on and perhaps, not quite enough space to develop them all sufficiently. The start of the story was incredibly slow and the actual meat of the plot did not get moving until many pages into the book -- what was worse, was that I just wasn't very interested in the Spokane-ghost plotline. There was very little tension and it just wasn't exciting.

The first part of the book was more concerned with character issues and the immediate aftermath of 'Iron Kissed'. I didn't mind. I enjoyed it all, but it did lack the exceptionally graceful pacing of the other novels. I did think there was perhaps a little too much time spent on Adam and Mercy's romantic relationship; I did find that well written, but less is more when it comes to romance. Also, the question of Stefan's feelings for Mercy which are shown strongly throughout 'Bone Crossed' but are left without much development. We still don't know why he's in love with her, and why he holds her higher in his affections than his sheep even. Hopefully Briggs is just leaving this for another book... it does need better clarification. The fact that it was brought up again in the final scene tells me it will be an important point in future novels. At any rate I think that to a man like Stefan, he sees it as a noble thing to love Mercy from afar.

That said, I did enjoy much of this book. There was a lot to like. It was great having Adam and Mercy happy together, Samuel with more of a sense of humour, and it was great having Stefan back. I liked learning more about the vampires and Stefan as a character. His friendship with Mercy is interesting; it's oddly loving and intimate in an old-fashioned reserved way. We didn't see much of Warren, Kyle, Honey, Ben, or even Samuel for that matter (although I hear the next book will focus on Sam, yay!). Mercy's relationship with the little deaf boy Chad was one of best things about the book, and the funny discussions about Superheroes.

Overall, a nice outing, but lacking the quality and tension of the previous volumes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
"My soul was a lot more battered than my body, but I couldn't see it in the mirror. Hopefully nobody else could either."

Patricia Briggs put her werecoyote heroine Mercy Thompson through the grinder in the past, complete with a brutal rape. "Bone Crossed" has Mercy dealing with a slew of new personal problems -- plus some very nasty vampire politics. It's a pretty busy story, but Briggs juggles the subplots -- and Mercy's internal troubles -- with unusual deftness.

A week after Tim's death, Mercy and Adam are trying to hash out the whole Alpha-mate situation, when a couple of unexpected guests arrive -- her mother, and a tortured, starved Stefan. Mercy destroyed Marsilia's right-hand man Andre, and the vampire has retaliated by almost killing Stefan and by roundabout attacks at the wolf pack (including a crazed snow elf).

To make matters worse, Mercy investigates a haunting at her old college buddy Amber's house... and discovers that the freakishly powerful vampire called the Monster is manipulating Amber. Stefan decides to take some drastic action to protect Mercy from other vampires... but it may not be enough to keep her safe from her new enemy.

Patricia Briggs has always had a knack for giving a unique spin to the staples of a genre, and fortunately "Bone Crossed" shows no diminishing of that. Instead, Briggs ties a bunch of subplots into a complicated knot, and slowly unravels it as Mercy discovers the answers to all the various mysteries. All through it, she continues to juggle the subplots without dropping them.

And Briggs' smooth, detailed style is well-suited to Mercy's world, which is described with mellow humor. Lots of chilling moments (including a claustrophobic climax with Blackwood), but also some warmer moments with Adam and Stefan. And she never lets a tense plot get in the way of some tongue-in-cheek humour ("what kind of stupid person puts white carpet in a house frequented by werewolves?").

Having dropped a big trauma on Mercy, Briggs also devotes some time to exploring how this has affected her heroine -- panic attacks, unease with touch, and the new way people regard her. But fortunately Merry never becomes an emo victim, nor does she just "get over it" out of sheer determination. She works on this gradually, and Briggs does it with utmost sensitivity.

Adam serves as the rock to cling to, since he is trying to support and heal Mercy in her time of need, although he goes overboard on the protectiveness early on. And poor abused Stefan goes through the wringer both physically and mentally -- although he has some lighter moments, such as debating the merits of Scooby-Doo vs. Dragonball Z with a deaf boy.

"Bone Crossed" is a pretty brilliant urban-fantasy/mystery, with plenty of chills, humour and a likably down-to-earth heroine. Patricia Briggs does it right.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 15 July 2009
Bone Crossed pick up exactly where Iron Kissed left off, and it's not long before Mercy is neck deep in trouble again. Her vampire friend, Stefan is in trouble and it's up to Mercy, and the local werewolf pack by association, to help him. But Mercy's own life is in greater danger from those that would see Stefan harmed. Adam, local alpha wolf, is doing everything he can to protect her, but it's not easy.

When Mercy's old college roommate shows up on her doorstep asking her for help with a problem ghost, it seems like the perfect excuse to get Mercy out of town for a little while. Away from Adam's protection, and Marsilia's deadly reach, Mercy must deal with her problems alone. Her problems, and those of Amanda the college roommate, are much bigger than it first appears though and soon Mercy finds herself running again, relying on Stefan and Adam's power to keep her alive.

As well as all the new problems, the lasting affects of Iron Kissed are carefully wrapped in. Handled with empathy, but without shying away, shows Ms. Briggs' talent and Mercy's strength. And the depth of several secondary characters too.

I thoroughly enjoyed Bone Crossed. The darkness that Mercy faced and the lighter moments added in just the right moments adding depth to the overall picture. A fantastic series and I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series when it's out.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 7 April 2009
This is the third book in the Mercy Thompson series and it's pretty damn good. The only down side is sometimes it was a little choppy, tiny things happened that i couldn't quite place or keep up with! There's much less of Samuel (Oh no!) but there is a lot more of Adam (whew) so hot werewolves are still very very present (thank god!) Earlier in the series, Mercy seriously miffed the leader of the local vampire Seethe, Marcilla, by killing one of her vamps. Not good. After the last book in which she saved her friend and sometimes-boss Zee and suffered a terrible attack by a psycotic fae-hater, Mercy finds that along with a new death-threat she also has to contend with overly sympathetic friends, a worried mother, an alpha boyfriend, aggresive snow elves in the local bar, a crispy-looking best friend and panic attacks left-right-and-center. Poor Mercy!

It just wasn't long enough! I want more!!! If you loved the first three you'll love the next installment. If you haven't read the first three what are you waiting for? I suggest you do!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Bone Crossed is the fourth novel in the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. Once again I wasn't disappointed by this series. We see action, quite a lot of action, and some amorous moments.

Mercedes Thompson is still getting over the attack from a few months ago but with the help of those around her she manages to slowly overcome her panic attacks and starts to enjoy life again. Whilst this is going on, Marsilia, the Mistress of the local vampire seethe, finds out about Stefan's disloyalty by covering for Mercy when she killed not only one but two vampires. She doesn't take too kindly to this revelation and punishes those who are guilty of wronging her.

We meet a new character that is from Mercy's past in this book under suspicious circumstances but yet Mercy helps her which leads her into more trouble. But all this unravels as you read the book. I wasn't able to put this book down for long before I had to start reading it again.

My favourite part of this book was when Adam was helping Mercedes get over her anxiety attacks. I don't want to say what or how he helps her as this will give away some of the story. But I like his methods. Oh and finding out something interesting about Ben, that was a nice little tid bit of information.

Finally my suspicions were confirmed in this book about Mercy's suitors. I was right that she had three love interests at one time. I'm interested as to what is next for Mercy. She has had a bad life as it is with all the people that have been coming after her, left, right, centre and from behind. She never seems to have a minute alone to herself or have a day where nothing bad happens. Even on a date, something bad happens and she has to rush in to help.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book as I have the series and can't wait to read the next book in the series. Patricia Briggs is one hell of a writer and I love the characters she has created.

Disclaimer: I do not own this book, I borrowed it from the library. I have not been paid to review this book and everything I have said is of my own honest opinion.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 3 September 2009
Even though Mercy is struggling from the fall-out of the last book's events, trouble doesn't leave her alone. She's chosen to be alpha werewolf Adam's mate, but before anything can be finalized, her vampire friend Stefan appears in her house at the edge of death. Turns out Marsilia, the mistress of the local vampire seethe, has discovered that Mercy killed two of her vampires and that Stefan helped to cover it up, and so she has declared Mercy's life forfeit, and that of her friends. Just in time, an old friend appears asking for Mercy's help; a ghost has taken over her home. Mercy takes the opportunity to leave her friends safe by removing herself from the area, but in the process attracts the attention of the crazed vampire in Spokane. How is she going to get out of this one?

While this was a little bit of a let down after Iron Kissed, which would have been hard to top, there is still a lot to like about this installment of the series. Mercy has a lot to recover from since she was raped and she finds that she doesn't just get over it like often happens in fiction; no, she has panic attacks, she cowers, she has trouble even kissing Adam. Adam, of course, more than proved his worth with patience and understanding and I liked the way that their relationship developed.

These books wouldn't stand alone very well, but that isn't a criticism here. The events from previous books are still ongoing, while the book has its own plotline to keep the action going and provide new excitement. It's a little like plotting for a TV show; there is a bigger conflict and then there is the driving force behind each individual episode. Everything has repercussions, but the ghost storyline allows Mercy to develop and heal a little by herself.

I'm definitely still recommending this series and eagerly awaiting the fifth book!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
When Stephan appears in Mercy's trailer on the verge of death she discovers that Marsilia (queen of the local vampire seethe) has found out about the vampire that Mercy killed. To say that Marsilia is unhappy is an understatement. Stephan has been thrown out of the seethe for helping keep Mercy's secret & Marsilia wants blood - preferably Mercy's but she is happy to target her friends too. With Adam & Samuel determined to keep her safe it looks like this could be the start of a war between the werewolves and the vampires. When Mercy's friend from college Amber turns up asking for Mercy's help dealing with a ghost everyone thinks this would be the perfect way to get Mercy out of Marsilia's reach. But nothing is as it seems and Mercy soon finds she has jumped out of the frying pan straight into the fire.

I'm a big fan of Patricia Briggs and love the Mercy Thompson series so was really looking forward to reading Bone Crossed & I wasn't disappointed. I love Mercy and was devastated for her at the end of the last book so I really wanted to know how she was getting on. A week after the ending of Iron Kissed Mercy is in a mess both emotionally and physically, suffering regularly from panic attacks and flashbacks of the event. She knows she loves Adam but she is finding it hard to allow him to get close to her and I felt her reactions were very realistic considering what she has been through. I've always had a soft spot for Adam but he is so patient and caring towards Mercy in this book that I couldn't help liking him even more. He understands what she is going through and is determined to help her recover.

Spending time in Mercy's world is like visiting with friends and I always find myself easily slipping into her world like I never left. I love each of the characters in their own ways and even the more minor characters like Jesse and Warren are so well rounded that it feels like you actually know them. If I had one minor disappointment it was that I would have liked to have spent a little more time with Stephan in this installment of the series, especially as the main plot revolves around the vampires. He suffers so much in Bone Crossed and I hope we get to see how he deals with the things Marsilia has done over the next few books. We didn't see that much of Samuel either but that was more understandable considering the plot but we get to see a lot of Adam so that makes up for it!

If you're yet to discover the Mercy Thompson series then I would highly recommend it to urban fantasy fans. It is one of my favorite series and Mercy is a fantastic heroine. Although you could probably read this as a stand alone novel I would strongly recommend reading the series in order so you don't miss any of the back story. If you're already a fan of the series & haven't already read Bone Crossed what are you waiting for? This was probably my favorite book in the series so far so I'm sure you're going to enjoy it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 July 2009
This is the fourth book in the Mercy Thompson series and is even better than the first three. For me personally there are three things which are the most important for a well writtem book. The first one is the quality of the characters who have to be believable and to a certain extent likeable, next is the quality of the prose and then the plot. I am so pleased to say that these books have each quality in abundance and are such an enjoyable read.

Can't wait for the next installment. For other great urban fantasy series you must try Ilona Andrews (Kate Daniels series), Karen Chance (Cassie Palmer series) and Kim Harrison (Rachel Morgan series).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
Mercy Thompson, skin walker extraordinaire returns for the next installment of her life as Patricia Briggs skilfully weaves two vampiric storylines with the trauma of her rape and the love of a good man/wolf to craft another book I couldn't put down. What Ms Briggs has apart from great skill at storytelling is originality. Like Kelley Armstrong she creates characters you can believe in and stories you want to follow to the end. Here she has to help her vampire friend Stefan against his own seethe and mistress Marsilia and defend herself against the evil intentions of Blackwood the monstrous vampire from a nearby city. Along the way she encounters more fae, ghosts and a zombie and the mysterious magic walking stick makes a welcome appearance. As with all good series we learn a little bit more about everyone with each book. Great stuff, just wish I didn't have to wait so long for the next one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Iron Kissed: Mercy Thompson, book 3
Iron Kissed: Mercy Thompson, book 3 by Patricia Briggs (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£7.99

Silver Borne: Mercy Thompson Book 5
Silver Borne: Mercy Thompson Book 5 by Patricia Briggs (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£8.99

Blood Bound: Mercy Thompson, book 2
Blood Bound: Mercy Thompson, book 2 by Patricia Briggs (Paperback - 2 Jun. 2011)
£7.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.