Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third in the Mercy Thompson Series, 21 Jan 2008
Iron Kissed has two main plotlines. The first deals with Mercy having to make a choice between the two men in her (love)life. Adam - the Alpha of the local werewolf pack, and Sam her childhood sweetheart (also an Alpha). It's a decision she needs to make soon, before there's bloodshed.

The second plot is the mystery of the book. Several Fae have been murdered out at the Fae reservation and Zee (her old boss) takes Mercy there, to see if her 'coyote' nose can track the murderer. Although it initially seems like everything is resolved, Zee ends up being charged with murder and Mercy feels it's up to her to prove his innocence. Whether he wants her help or not.

Although I don't think it's essential to have read the previous books in the series to follow Iron Kissed. You'd be missing out on two great stories if you didn't read Moon Called (Bk1) and Blood Bound (Bk2). Plus the build up to the Adam/Mercy/Samuel plotline and a lot of the background as to how the Mercy Thompson Universe works and the relationship/family set ups of the various species groups is in those books.

One thing I very much enjoy about the series is how in each book we learn more about the characters and their relationships. One of my favourite things is how the dynamics of the werewolf pack is explored. The scene between Ben and Adam at the end was one of the most powerful in the book, especially when Ben is having trouble expressing himself.

"It's easier to get forgiveness than permission."

For me this quote is at the heart of the book. In a way this has been Mercy's attitude since we first met her in Moon Called, and probably has a lot to do with growing up as a coyote in a werewolf pack. It's a very easy thing to say when you have no way of knowing what the consequences of your actions will be.

Some of Iron Kissed is very difficult to read. Patricia Briggs doesn't pull back, her characters have to deal with the consequences of their actions. There are no get out clauses here. Sometimes there isn't an easy solution and it isn't always easier to ask for forgiveness rather than permission. Especially when the person you have to forgive is yourself.

The temptation to skip ahead when reading this book to see where the story is going, is almost overwhelming. It's a story that once you start reading you can't stop. The Mercy Thompson series gets better with every book and in my opinion it's one of the best urban fantasy series around at the moment. If you love urban fantasy and you aren't reading the Mercy Thompson series, then I really think you should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read but darker, 19 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following on from the previous Blood books this one seems to conclude Mercedes' relationships, but at an awful price. I don;t really like revealing plots becasue its a real spoiler, so instead let me assure you that the standard of writing is as good as in the other books in the series. Tehy also included somewhat serious themes but this one was in places harrowing to read if you have empathy for the heroine! I suppose this is what separates Briggs form other, softer writers who dabble in the genre - she is a genuine fantasy writer, and its just coincided that everybody now is writing werewolf/ghost/paranormal romance stuff, a lot of which frankly seems to be utter schematic tosh. This book shows that she can write the real deal, which is quite affecting. I mean that I genuinely was surprised by where the plot went, and how it got there. Anyway, this is a really good conclusion to the series! The standard was as high as always and I look forward to her future offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read!!!, 24 Feb 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't really say much more than the other readers....this book blew me away. This series just gets better and better and I have to say it is one of the best urban fiction around...if you haven't started it, then get going, you won't be disappointed.

The last quarter of this book was so powerful..we have some master story telling here. I was on the edge of my seat! I can't say anymore without giving too much away...just...read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better!, 7 July 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mercy is spending a relaxing evening with her friend (and werewolf) Warren and his boyfriend Kyle watching a movie, when she gets a call from her former boss and mentor Zee. He's fae and he needs her nose to sniff out a killer in the fae reservation. Taking Mercy in there isn't all that safe for her, but she agrees to help and soon enough picks up the trail.

But before the killer can be taken care of quietly, someone beats the fae to it, and Zee finds himself behind bars and accused of the murder. A murder too violent for human hands. One Mercy is convinced Zee didn't commit and she's determined to prove it. Not an easy job though. The Grey Lords (rulers of the fae) don't like outside help and they're very dangerous people to deal with. And all the while she's having to fight with her heart of the men in her life, Adam or Samuel. She can't keep bouncing between the two dominant wolves or things are going to get messy.

Iron Kissed is a fantastic follow up to the first two books in the Mercy series, Moon Called and Blood Bound, and the series just keeps getting better. As with Blood Bound, there is a very good balance between the romance and the main plot, even though there is more romance in this than the previous book.

Where the previous book taught us a lot about vampires in Ms. Briggs' world, here we're shown the fae world and get a deeper look at the pack and how it functions again. The extensive world built is engaging and well thought out. There aren't extras added on all the time, just Mercy discovering more of it. And Ms. Briggs doesn't pull any punches. It gets nasty at the end and the killer is revealed. And the conversations near the end, particularly between Ben and Adam, show real sensitivity and strength, and the depth of Ms. Briggs' talent. Little bit of a cliff hanger than left me hungry for much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, moving, thrilling and fabulous!, 1 Sep 2008
By 
Rachel "rachel337" (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I love this series for its fabulous and very clever plots as much as for the super-nature of the subject material. with this new instalment in the Mercy Thompson series, Patricia Briggs excells herself. This book is a must-read for any fan of the genre and for me this hits the hights of the first few Anita Blakes and at points, exceedes them.

The crime at the centre is well plotted and has enough clues to keep you guessing but not solving until close to the end; characters are believeable, complex and interesting and the finale....what can I say...previous reviews are right- make no mistake this is not easy reading. Violence on an exponential scale but told with such a human heart as to make you weep...and weep I did, for about the final 4 chapters...tears coursing down my face as the weight of choices made by Mercy and the attempts to come to terms with violence makes its presence felt.

I think this is where for me, this series is better than many others in the genre...Mercy may be supernatural but she is real, vulnerable and far from indestructable. This is, in my opinion, (withough giving too much away) in Ben's speech of the depiction of the clear body language of the animals the most understanding and compassionate view of exreme violence against women that I have ever read.

The other two books in the series, which must be read first, are fabulous reads of great quality. Iron Kissed is exceptional, through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life is no Fairytale, 10 Aug 2009
Mercedes Thompson, mechanic and shapeshifter, lives in a world where the fae were forced to come out to the human population due to the advances in technology: making the secret nature of their species no longer possible. Thus the Gray Lords (the enigmatic leaders of the fae) decided it was time to come out to the humans -- along with the werewolves who revealed their existence recently. Vampires however, remain hidden in shadow fearing what would happen if their existence was discovered.

It's not long before a member of the fae community calls in a favour, needing Mercy's skills for a murder investigation -- Mercy obliges thinking there could be worse ways to pay off her debt to the fae. A number of fae had been murdered in their own homes, prompting Mercy to visit the aptly named fae reservation: Fairyland. A trip Underhill and unfortunately, Mercy is in a tight spot. She appears to know far too much about the fae upon her visit. Just when things couldn't get much worse Zee is landed as the fall guy and charged with murder of which he is innocent... leaving Mercy with no choice but to get her coyote nose into the faes' business. But the Gray Lord's are watching. Meanwhile, Warren tells Mercy that she must make a choice between Adam and Samuel once and for all. The pack is being weakened when a metaphysical void exists.

This book was fantastic, from start to finish. The pacing of the murder mystery was superb, and the story itself was dark, suspenseful, and cleverly written. The characters act rashly at certain points and have to face the consequences to their actions. Brigg's world may be filled with fantastical creatures, but life for Mercy is no fairytale. She suffers traumatically in this book. I was spoiled as to one or two events that happen in this book but that did not in any way lessen the impact of them -- certain things were more horrifying than I imagined. The horror and grief of the situation really came accross in the writing. I even cried a little at the scene at the end with Mercy, Ben and Adam. The writing was just heart wrenching and real and cut through the matter at hand. It can be difficult to really get to the truth of an issue but I felt as if that absolutely ocurred in that scene. I also really like Ben now; he's been developed nicely and in a believable manner.

Mercy's choice between Adam and Samuel was well resolved I thought, as well. It was nice not to be dragged out forever. Although, what with Stefan still out there, I have to wonder if it really is the end of the three sided love triangle in this series. I trust Briggs's vision and look forward to what happens in that area. I'm also excited for Stefan's return and the continuation of the vampire arc which was mentioned throughout 'Iron Kissed' but being left for the next book.

Learning more about fae was really interesting. The descriptions of Underhill were vivid and I'm looking forward to exploring the Gray Lord's in more depth, the small snippets of information about them in this book were very intriguing. I liked seeing more about Zee as well -- I hope we find out more about who he was back in the day at some point.

Overall, utterly enjoyable, emotional, and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it!, 14 Jan 2009
By 
J. R. Bedford (Huddersfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Patricia Briggs is rapidly establishing a place on my top ten list of fiction writers I will read unconditionally. This is another from my comfort-reading booklist that came courtesy of a self-Santa order to Amazon. I gulped this book down in two sittings (and only took a break because by 6.00 a.m. I thought I should try and get a few hours sleep). At less than 300 pages it's a quick read - quick too because of the roaring pace - but Briggs never sacrifices character for either plot or pace.

This is the third Mercy Thompson book. Mercy is a self-employed garage mechanic with a history degree. She is also a walker, a Native American shape-changer, maybe the last of her kind, whose other form is a coyote. Raised by werewolves, she knows just how deadly they can be and in the last two books, `Blood Bound' and `Moon Called', we saw Mercy getting drawn into the increasingly violent world inhabited by werewolf, vampire and fey as well as humans who can barely comprehend what they've only recently begun to be aware of. As a coyote amongst wolves she's an outsider, as a walker amongst humans she's an outsider, as a non-fey amongst fey she's so far outside that she's on a different world, but when she has her nose in the engine of an old VW she's entirely at home. Her life is complicated by the fact that she must decide between two loves, both werewolves: her old flame Samuel and the alpha of the local pack, Adam, who makes her blood boil for two entirely opposing reasons. Briggs werewolves are not nice. Bad-tempered doesn't even begin to cover the barely-held-in check killing rage that they have to deal with on a day-to-day basis. It makes them grouchy, to say the least, but they are entirely three dimensional characters, swinging - sometimes wildly - between human and wolf.

In this book Mercy's friend and mechanic-mentor, Zee, an ancient fey with the ability to work iron, is accused of a (human) murder he didn't commit and it seems as though the rest of the fey are happy enough to let him take the (fatal) fall for it as long as it means the law doesn't come snooping around their reservation. Mercy's stubborn loyalty draws her in to a dangerous hunt for the real killer that brings her into closer contact that she ever thought she wanted with the world of the fey and causes conflict with and between her two potential werewolf lovers (remember those tempers?). It's time to choose between Samuel and Adam, but how can she choose when she loves them both? It may not matter in the end because after some close brushes with death in the form of a Kelpie Mercy's eventual discovery of the real killer puts her in mortal danger of the worst kind. By the time she's been through the wringer she's going to need a lot of love an understanding. From a werewolf? Yeah, right!

Highly recommended (but read the others first) and then order the next, Bone Crossed, due later this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful third book in the Mercy Thompson series, 29 Jan 2008
Mercy is a walker which means she can transform into a coyote. She has helped the vampires kill a demon riding a vampire, her housemate is werewolf Samuel and her trailer backs onto the house of alpha werewolf Adam. She is torn between the two werewolves and things are getting very strained, and she also has feelings for Stephan the vampire...

This novel focuses on the Fae. Zee (Mercy's friend and mentor) and Uncle Mike enlist Mercy's help to sniff out the murderer in a string of deaths in the fairyland reservation. She notices the same human scent in all the murder scenes and when Uncle Mike and Zee go to talk to him, they find him already brutally murdered in a way that seems only a Fae could accomplish. The police have already been called and Zee is arrested despite being innocent. The Gray Lords (the Fae council) are happy to let him take the fall as it cleans things up quickly leaving them time to look for the true killer. However, Mercy is not going to let this happen, despite how many people tell her to let things alone.

Alongside the main plot, Mercy also has to choose between the two werewolves as tensions are rapidly rising. Her final choice makes sense and felt like the right thing to do, I hope it works out for her in future books. She has the Fae after her, the Gray Lords, Zee wants nothing more to do with her and a magical walking stick keeps following her around. The greatest danger is from an unseen corner and has very tragic consequences for Mercy.

I enjoyed this book the most so far. I liked the Fae lore and the confusion Mercy feels deciding between Samuel and Adam. I also found this the saddest of the series so far and really felt for Mercy having been through something similar in my past. I highly recommend this series and I can;t wait to see what will happen next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book, 14 Nov 2008
By 
A. Pedersen (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absoutley loved this book. One of the two main plots tackled Mercy's struggle to choose between Sam and Adam (a plot line which is obvious if you have read the other two books). It had me on edge all through the book and I was more than satisfied with how it turned out. Her struggle with and realisation of her feelings was beautifully constructed. Briggs writes Mercy's character (and the others)brilliantly and her confusion over her feelings felt incredably real and the choice she makes is the one I have been wising for from the start of the books!

The second of the main plot lines involves the investigation into the murders of members of the Fae population and are occuring on their reservation. This quickly becomes crucial when Zee is implicated. The twisting plot to discover who was commiting the murders and why gripped me the whole way through and I would never have guessed the answer in a million years (though I did try).

The final few chapters were some of the most moving I have ever read and I cried at a number of parts. Although dark, the power of the last few chapters was overwhelming and I felt the scenes were written amazingly to convey not only Mercy's feelings but others too. They also provided a beautiful insight into the character of Ben.

All in all the book was fantastic and I would reccomend it, and the whole
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth a Read, 15 Jun 2009
By 
S. Innes "Pottersby" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have not discovered Patricia Briggs yet, then think Carrie Vaughn, Kelley Armstrong etc. When writing Moon Called, Patricia Briggs announced her arrival to the urban fantsay genre. Before this she was better known for writing out and out fantasy books. Mercy Thompson is a mechanic and owns her own garage, and all she wants is to live her life in peace and to be left alone. Sadly, as a coyote shapeshifter with the best nose in town this is just not going to happen. There are murders happening on the Fae reservation and her friend and former boss Zeke has been arrested. Initially asked to help but then warned off, Mercy is just not the kinda girl to take this advice when her friends freedom is at stake. Patricia Briggs is a brilliant voice in the genre and this continues her excellent series of books.
Bone Crossed (Mercy Thompson 4)
Mercy Thompson Homecoming
Moon Called (Mercy Thompson)
Hunting Ground (Alpha and Omega)
On the Prowl
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Kissed: Mercy Thompson, book 3
Iron Kissed: Mercy Thompson, book 3 by Patricia Briggs (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews