Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent follow-up to Moon Called
I loved "Moon Called" by Patricia Briggs, her first werewolf/vampire book (she has also written several fantasies). The VW mechanic Mercy Thompson, a coyote walker, who lives next door to a werewolf and mends a vampire's bus, is a great central character - full of energy. "Moon Called" focused mostly on the werewolves including their Alpha, Adam Hauptman, and a lone wolf...
Published on 7 Feb 2007 by Helen Hancox

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but a little slow
This sequel to the very engaging Moon Called was a bit slow starting off, but pretty good by the end, a sorceror/vampire is on a killing spree in Mercy's town and its up to her to track it down as the local werewolves, fae and vampires have had no luck. I enjoyed the characters, and the author has clearly thought out the ins-and-outs of her various supernatural races but...
Published on 28 Jun 2008 by bluecougar25


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent follow-up to Moon Called, 7 Feb 2007
By 
Helen Hancox "Auntie Helen" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I loved "Moon Called" by Patricia Briggs, her first werewolf/vampire book (she has also written several fantasies). The VW mechanic Mercy Thompson, a coyote walker, who lives next door to a werewolf and mends a vampire's bus, is a great central character - full of energy. "Moon Called" focused mostly on the werewolves including their Alpha, Adam Hauptman, and a lone wolf who was formerly Mercy's boyfriend, Dr Samuel Cornick.

The events in "Blood Bound" take place about six months after the end of "Moon Called". This book focuses more on the vampires, particularly Stefan but also including the Mistress, Marsilia, and several other vampires. The book starts with Mercy and Stefan going to investigate a strange scene and discovering that there is a vampire sorcerer on the loose who has powers enough to cause problems for Stefan, a very strong vampire.

Most of the rest of the book involves the vampires, werewolves and Mercy trying to find the Sorcerer and stop him. But of course things are always more complex than they seem and it's possible that some of those apparently trying to stop the sorcerer may instead be in league with him. In this story Mercy takes a more central role in the heroic endeavours, her abilities as a walker giving her a few extra tools to help her in her search. I liked the way that she faces up to the reality of the vampire and werewolf situations - she knows that the vampires are evil, even Stefan who she likes, and that the werewolves are dangerous. She also finds herself involved in killing and suffers with the knowledge of that, and that others kill people to keep her safe.

There are moments of humour in this book, particularly in the relationships between Mercy, Adam, Samuel and to some extent Stefan. The writing is excellent as always, fast-paced and descriptive with minor characters, such as the other werewolves, well drawn. Some reviewers on Amazon have said they are disappointed that Mercy's love life isn't more clear-cut in this book - she has Adam and Samuel to choose from and another suitor appears by the end of this book. Her romantic situation is left open - hopefully for another instalment in this series! - but I know which of the three I want her to end up with.

In summary, this is an excellent book that has a different take than many on the vampire and werewolf myths, is an interesting story as well as a slight "whodunit" plot and has some great characters. It helps to have read "Moon Called" but isn't necessarily vital but the pair of books together make for some really great reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first!, 17 Feb 2007
By 
Danielle Mace "Danni M" (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blood bound is the second novel in the Mercy Thompson series. It sizzles right from the first page and keeps the pace all the way to the end.

Stefan is calling in his favour that Mercy owes. It sounds simple; accompany him as a witness when he is meeting with a new vampire in town who is set on causing chaos. But of course nothing is that strait forward in Mercy's life, as she becomes embroiled in the vampire world where she is both weak and strong.

She has many allies at her side including Alpha Werewolf Adam, Samuel, her teenage love, newly arrived back on the scene, and the vampires - who all seem to have their own agendas. Who can she trust and who will make things worse for all of them?

Mercy learns more about herself in this book, while fighting vampires and trying to stop Adam and Samuel fighting each other for her. They both want to claim her for their mate, but seem to forget she has a say in the matter - not that she knows which she would choose - even if they did ask her!

There are a few minor plot lines that appear to go nowhere, but we may see their importance in the next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling Sequel to Moon Called, 13 Feb 2007
At the end of Moon Called (first book in the series), Mercy Thompson the shapeshifting mechanic, owed the local vampires a favour, and in Blood Bound they want paying back. A visiting vampire is causing problems and Stefan, (Mercy's vampire friend) wants her help whilst he tries to sort it out.

In my opinion Blood Bound is a much more tightly written story than Moon Called. We already know about the relationships, pack-conflicts and back story, so here we are able to get stuck in to the meat of the story straight away. Although I do think it's possible to read Blood Bound as a standalone, it would be much better to read Moon Called first so you've got all this rich background information in your head.

The relationships within the werewolf pack continue to evolve and I think this is far and away my favourite part of the story. Each werewolf is such an individual character and to see how they are located within the hierarchy and how they struggle or accept that, gives the story a depth it might not otherwise have had. In Blood Bound this pack structure is held in direct comparison with the more clinical vampire society, which makes for fascinating reading.

If I had a concern at all, it would be as mentioned in the other review. Mercy picks up another admirer and I think this has the potential to take away from the tension in her relationship with the two werewolves already vying for her attention.

Blood Bound is resolved very nicely, but there are enough plot threads left dangling to leave me desperately looking forward to the next book in the series - especially the new werewolf who only appears off-page here.

There will be a short story set in Mercy's world in the On the Prowl anthology released in August 2007.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, a heroine who I would want to hang out with!, 12 May 2007
By 
Blood Bound picks up a few months after the excellent 'Moon Called' with our heroine Mercy now having to repay the favour she owes the vampire Stefan. Of course, this favour turns into another rip-roaring plotline that sees Mercy and the werewolves take on a demon/sorcerer/vampire.

All the characters who were in the first book feel like they have had something added to them in this one and I found myself really coming to care about all of them. Blood Bound, like Moon Called, goes along at a brilliant pace with hardly any " lets just stand around and talk to get the page count up" passages. That Briggs manages to keep up this pace and still have excellent characertisation and realistic dialogue is a real testament to her writing skills.

My favourite thing about these books however is Merceded Thompson herself. I have read most of the other chicklit/fantasy/horror books out there and Mercy is one of the few characters I would happily go for a drink with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice sequel! They just keep getting better and better!, 29 Mar 2007
Mercedes Thompson, car mechanic in the Tri-Cities and a Walker, is woken up at an ungodly hour of the morning by a phone call; her vampire friend, Stefan, is in need of a favour. Since Mercy just happens to owe him one, she has to agree. Stefan needs her to be his partner while he oversees to some vampire matters. Simple right? Wrong. It seems there is an unknown vampire running amok in the Tri-Cities... one that has a terrific power and loves to leave his trail full of corpses. While the werewolves and the vampires are on the case, Mercy soon realizes that she is the most qualified person to find and neutralize this threat.

The sequel to 'Moon Called', this novel focuses more on vampires. While Ms Briggs fails yet again to bring something new into the characterization of the vampires, this second book has a more well developed plot and a few complex characters. Mercedes grows a lot as a character in 'Blood Bound' by discovering some new abilities just as the reader does. The story is interesting and the mystery is more complex. Overall, it's an entertaining read and you can see that it is also the start of something for Mercy, who seems to be a lot more than meets the eye.

This book is a step up from the first one. I can't wait for the third novel! :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Begging for Mercy!, 12 Jan 2009
By 
D. C. Stolk (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the second book in the Mercy Thompson-series, and it's a great read! Having recently discovered Patricia Briggs, and sampled her writing (and immediately ordered - and read! - her other books) I already knew Briggs really knows how to write a story. I greatly enjoyed "Moon Called", the first of the Mercy books; reason why I ordered its sequel "Blood Bound" through Amazon as soon as I knew it became available. I knew I was in for a treat, but this book surpassed my expectations.
Again, we are taken along in a first-person narrative by mechanic/shape shifter (or "walker", if you prefer) Mercedes Thompson - irony: she mainly repairs VWs - as she does her vampire friend Stefan a simple favor. Of course, "simple" doesn't really cover it. Our shape-shifting coyote gets involved in way over her head in a case that involves a deadly serial killer, vampire- and werewolf-politics and of course not to forget the fea, while trying to balance an convoluted will she/won't she relationship with several romantically interested male characters. Oh yes, and meanwhile she still has to make a living by running her own business, her repair shop.
Great dialog, believable, fleshed-out characters (even the inhuman ones) and a plot that sweeps you along as Mercy hunts Washington's Tri-Cities area for a demon-possessed sorcerer-turned-vampire before she loses any more friends, makes you keep turning the pages until the end.
This type of urban supernatural romantic fantasy (or whatever you want to call it) is certainly in vogue at the moment, with lots of writers jumping on the band wagon to make a quick buck; only a few of them really add something new to the genre (or, the most important one, know how to tell a tale) and Patricia Briggs is certainly one of those few. Certainly a writer to put on your must-read list!
So here I am, begging for Mercy! (o: and hoping Patricia Briggs will soon finish more novels in this very enjoyable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars vampires galore, 30 April 2009
I felt a little lost after finishing the house of night series untill i started reading the mercy thompson series, blood bound is the second book in the series and is just as brill as the first book.Mercy thompson is a shape shifter whose world includes werewolves and vampires, in this book she has to hunt a demon vampire to save the humans in the tri state areas from his murder spree, all the time remembering vamp and wolf etiqutte and deciding which of the wolves she really loves.
If like me you have read the twilight series or house of night and vamps and wolves are your thing you will love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briggs is an UF writer to watch!, 11 Aug 2009
By 
M. K. Burton - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Mercy Thompson; woken at 3am by a vampire. Stefan also happens to be a friend, and he needs her help. He has to deliver a message to a fellow undead and needs a witness that won't be noticed - and Mercy's shapeshifting abilities make her the perfect candidate.

But the assignment turns into a bloodbath and Mercy attracts the attention of not just a powerful vampire, but the even more powerful demon possessing him. She can count on the supernatural community for protection - and alpha werewolf Adam would like her to rely on him in other ways, too - but when it comes to being proactive, she's on her own.

Mercy Thompson is probably my favorite of all the urban fantasy heroines I've encountered so far. I love that she is gutsy and smart but knows when things are a little too tough for her. She knows to call in reinforcements. In this case, she starts out as a reinforcement herself, which makes things very interesting. She's got her skills and she knows how to use them. Another thing I absolutely love about Mercy is the fact that she's got a handle on her sex drive. It always bothers me when women in novels just can't hold back even when their minds tell them they should. Mercy knows how to go slowly and get to know a guy before she risks deeper bonds. I like that a lot.

As far as series books go, this one is a nice follow-up to Moon Called. The characters are still awesome and their bonds only grow stronger throughout this book. We start to learn a little more about them. There is a new evil introduced that puts favorite characters in serious danger and had me racing through the book hoping that they were okay. The book isn't hard to race through, given that my UK edition is only 326 pages. I also really enjoy the fact that this is a complete story but with some hooks to keep me reading the series. I'll definitely be doing that; Iron Kissed is waiting for me on my TBR pile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome follow up!, 9 July 2009
By 
Claire Mill "Cem" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Blood Bound is the fantastic follow up to Moon Called. I liked this a lot more than Moon Called. The plot felt tighter and there were fewer secondary characters to keep straight, and those there were, felt much more solid to me. Several of the characters had been met in Moon Called, but we're given a lot more on them here. Wolves and Vampires alike.

And we're not the only ones learning more. Mercy is learning a lot too. She knows a lot about werewolves having been raised by them, but she's discovering that she has never been told the whole deal. And other than knowing vampires = evil, she doesn't really know anything about them when she's called in to help her friend Stefan, that quickly changes and she learns more about what she is as a walker in the process.

Mercy is very good at finding herself in bad situations, and her curiosity and determination to do the right thing brings her close to being killed on many occasions. But she does have back up in the form of dominant wolf room mate Samuel, and local Alpha (and neighbour) Adam. Both of whom are equally interested in having a different relationship with Mercy to what they have. And Mercy is determined she's not going to lose her independence to a dominant wolf by becoming the mate of either of them. Doesn't stop the romance from growing though.

The bad guy in this book is seriously scary. And had me squirming as I read certain sections, something that almost never happens. Ms. Briggs doesn't shy away from the rough stuff. There were several twists that caught me completely by surprise. There are a few lighter moments that stop the book from being to dark and nasty. And the romance is nicely handled. There isn't a whole lot of it, and what there is, fits in very nicely to the story. It's a good ongoing subplot that doesn't take any time away from the main story.

Left me wanting a whole lot more of Mercy's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great follow up to Moon Called, 5 Oct 2007
The second in the Mercedes Thompson series about car mechanic and walker, Mercy. She is able to shift between human and coyote form and is not tied to the cycles of the moon like werewolves are. Her property backs onto the local Alpha werewolves land, a werewolf is staying with her as a house guest, one of the fae helps in her garage from time to time and she does car repairs for the local vampire and his clan.

This tale sees Mercy, the werewolves and vampires team up to take on a sorcerer who has been turned into a vampire. He is particuarly dangerous having deominc strength, extra magical abilities and enhancing violence in others human and non-human. It is mostly the same main characters from Moon Called including Bran, Samuel, Adam (werewolves) and Stefan and Marsilia (vampires).

It was fast paced and unfolded a lot more information about the nature of vampires, werewolves and walkers. I spent a little while at the start trying to remember what the main parts of this series was and what separated it from others like Laurell K Hamilton and Kelley Armstrong. Once it got going a bit, it stood out as my favourite of the urban fantasy series at the moment. I really like Mercy and prefer to other heroines in similar books. There is something likable and believable about her that slightly sets her apart. I am definately looking forward to book three (Iron Kissed) coming out next year which sounds like it involves the fae a lot more. I want to see what happens with the love quadrangle she has gotten herself into!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood Bound: Mercy Thompson, book 2
Blood Bound: Mercy Thompson, book 2 by Patricia Briggs (Paperback - 2 Jun 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews