Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn coat, turning point
Morgan has always been a major thorn in Harry Dresden's side. So of course, he appears on Harry's doorstep, half dead and convicted of murder.

But that's only one of the problems facing Jim Butchers wizard PI in the eleventh Dresden Files Book,. The aptly named "Turn Coat is half whodunnit and half magical thriller, with plenty of explosive magic, hard-nosed...
Published on 10 April 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magic Formula
As easy and welcoming as a favourite old pair of slippers, the latest Harry Dresden novel is deep in Jim Butcher's comfort zone, with well established supporting cast and set of locations. Although masquerading as a gritty, sexy , violent Chicago-set cross-genre PI/Fantasy novel, at heart this series is very soft centred. At times, with a super intelligent dog taking...
Published on 6 Jan 2011 by Rotgut


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 1 May 2009
I love this series and this book is fantastic. Sad in some places but still some very good humour. Glad Thomas is no longer going to be a hairdresser but I hope he is still going to play a big part in Harry's life in the next book on the good side though. Not much else to say the other reviews say it all but go and buy it, it's worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, yet again!, 1 May 2009
By 
Have really enjoyed this book, it fits in perfectly with the rest of the series. The plot thickens and Harry gains even more scars and enemies (no suprise really). The story kept you guessing who the baddy was throughout the book and is full of suprises! The usual characters of Murphy, Thomas, Molly and Mouse are involved (yay!) and of course Harry gets into more than his fare share of fights.. Its annoying that this is Butcher's latest book because i just want to continue reading to find out happens to Harry next. Fellow Dresden fans won't be disapointed with this book. :]

Sorry, i'm terrible at writing reviews! But i enjoyed this latest installment so much i had to write one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry does it again!, 29 April 2009
By 
Kelly "I am a busy mum of 2 under 3's, audio ... (Paulton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so impressed with this series, it just keeps twisting and developing in to one great series. The development of all charachters is amazing, not just Harry, charachters like Morgan, Molly, Toot-Toot, Mouse, De Luca and good old Murphy. This book seemed to bring a few concepts together, Harry getting some answers [finally] but then a lot more clues to figure out. Some sad sections, some hilariously funny parts too. It's a hard choice to buy Hardback, but for me it's worth every penny, I hate waiting 6-12 months for Paperbacks to come out.

If you have read the other Dresden Files books, then this is a must! If you haven't read the Dresden Files I would recommend you start with Storm Front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Butcher does it again, 27 April 2009
By 
B. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Harry does his usual trick of taking on another hopeless, non paying case for someone he has every right to refuse due to their history, and in the process Harry puts himself and his loved ones in mortal danger.

The worst thing about a Harry Dresden book is the wait for the next one. It's been over a year since the last installment and when "Turn Coat" arrived I had to ration myself from not reading all it one day, it was that good.

Jim Butcher has a wit that I love and Harry's "One liners" are very very funny.

If you've never read a Harry Dresden book, do yourslef a BIG favour and start at the beginning and if you like the first one then you're already hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual Dresden Romp, 21 May 2009
By 
J. Blake "richaldis" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The latest novel in the Dresden Files sequence is a little darker than those which preceed it and none the worse for that. As usual the plot is a bit sloppy but well paced and the characters and their development is the focus.

One thing I would have to pull Butcher up for though is his English characters. Please Jim do a bit of basic research on vocabulary and dialect before you try that again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of the weaker Dresden Novels, 3 April 2010
By 
K. Griffin "K." (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read all of the Dresden Files since Storm Front and thus have seen how Mr. Butcher has improved his craft over time. I fear this book (and its predecessor) may herald the beginning of the decline of the Dresden Files. Don't get me wrong, they are still good reads, but Proven Guilty and Turn Coat are just not as much fun as the previous books. It almost feels like Butcher is just going through the motions.

1. Two "unrelated" super-baddies to deal with at the same time - check
2. Dresden tired, wounded and angry - check
3. Super smart and cunning baddies do something stupid like walk into a trap - check
4. White Council bunch of dummies - check

Anyway I guess every author writing a long series can have a lull. Hopefully, this is just the denouement before the next big arc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Cher "book worm" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I always enjoy Jim Butcher's Dresden Files books, this one was particularly enjoyable as he had to prove his biggest enemy's innocence, which naturally got him into the usual trouble, I was a bit upset about his brother the vampire going back to his natural ways, but am looking forward to the next one to see what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Harry Dresden has a one mission. To be more and more boring., 5 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. Niall Cooney (Dublin) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, I'll admit it. I loved Storm Front and all the others. But this one seems to have no effort in it. Like Terry Pratchett, once the main storylines run out of interesting events, Jim Butcher has turned to the tedious world of politics and bureaucracy to keep the faltering story going. Dresden was created as a PI/wizard, but has dropped the interesting PI part, leaving us with a standard wizard fantasy set in Chicago. The story never changes though. First there's an apartment sequence, then a battle, somebody gets killed, Harry vows retribution, starts looking for obvious clues, gets more people killed, learns a few lessons, another big battle, the end. Butcher would have been better to end the series after the last book. Not recommended, even for fans, because it's a waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0f4c768)

This product

Turn Coat: A Dresden Files novel
Turn Coat: A Dresden Files novel by Jim Butcher (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews