Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn coat, turning point
Morgan has always been a major thorn in Harry Dresden's side. So of course, he appears on Harry's doorstep, half dead and convicted of murder.

But that's only one of the problems facing Jim Butchers wizard PI in the eleventh Dresden Files Book,. The aptly named "Turn Coat is half whodunnit and half magical thriller, with plenty of explosive magic, hard-nosed...
Published on 10 April 2009 by E. A Solinas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Magic Formula
As easy and welcoming as a favourite old pair of slippers, the latest Harry Dresden novel is deep in Jim Butcher's comfort zone, with well established supporting cast and set of locations. Although masquerading as a gritty, sexy , violent Chicago-set cross-genre PI/Fantasy novel, at heart this series is very soft centred. At times, with a super intelligent dog taking...
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 by Rotgut


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another great read from Jim, 20 April 2009
The adventures of Harry Dresden continue in this book, and if you've been following the books I will spare you from the recap, and avoid including a paragraph that would effectively be a blurb.

With the events of the last book the White Council has run into hard times, and things turn from bad to worse as they are beset by enemies from all sides and they start to fracture from within.

There is some great character development amongst members of the White Council, Harry's relationship with the werewolves, and Thomas's fight against himself is explored further... and it seems to have turned for the worse.

There is once again, to be expected from Jim great action and mayhem in this book. It's definitely a landmark in the series as things become more sinister for Harry and the White Council than ever before, and the storm clouds haven't even started rolling in yet.

If you're already reading the series, I doubt this review will make much of a impact as you'll probably get to this book eventually. So all I can say is. Pre-order the next one. It's worth it, and in between the wait for new Dresden Files books - read Codex Alera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What to read now?, 13 May 2009
By 
Great read!
Finished it in a week, which is good going for me.
Butcher is pretty hard on some major characters, as youll find out.
Re-visit some old haunts in this one too.
Keep them coming to this standard Jim and I'll keep buying, thought one or two of the last in the saga were getting a bit tired but youre back to your best again with this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry does it again!, 29 April 2009
By 
Kelly "I am a busy mum of 2 under 3's, audio ... (Paulton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am so impressed with this series, it just keeps twisting and developing in to one great series. The development of all charachters is amazing, not just Harry, charachters like Morgan, Molly, Toot-Toot, Mouse, De Luca and good old Murphy. This book seemed to bring a few concepts together, Harry getting some answers [finally] but then a lot more clues to figure out. Some sad sections, some hilariously funny parts too. It's a hard choice to buy Hardback, but for me it's worth every penny, I hate waiting 6-12 months for Paperbacks to come out.

If you have read the other Dresden Files books, then this is a must! If you haven't read the Dresden Files I would recommend you start with Storm Front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, yet again!, 1 May 2009
By 
Have really enjoyed this book, it fits in perfectly with the rest of the series. The plot thickens and Harry gains even more scars and enemies (no suprise really). The story kept you guessing who the baddy was throughout the book and is full of suprises! The usual characters of Murphy, Thomas, Molly and Mouse are involved (yay!) and of course Harry gets into more than his fare share of fights.. Its annoying that this is Butcher's latest book because i just want to continue reading to find out happens to Harry next. Fellow Dresden fans won't be disapointed with this book. :]

Sorry, i'm terrible at writing reviews! But i enjoyed this latest installment so much i had to write one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Butcher does it again, 27 April 2009
By 
B. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Harry does his usual trick of taking on another hopeless, non paying case for someone he has every right to refuse due to their history, and in the process Harry puts himself and his loved ones in mortal danger.

The worst thing about a Harry Dresden book is the wait for the next one. It's been over a year since the last installment and when "Turn Coat" arrived I had to ration myself from not reading all it one day, it was that good.

Jim Butcher has a wit that I love and Harry's "One liners" are very very funny.

If you've never read a Harry Dresden book, do yourslef a BIG favour and start at the beginning and if you like the first one then you're already hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Dresden Files - Turncoat, 6 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am totally incapable of giving an unbiased review of any of The Dresden Files books - I am addicted, to the detriment of all else. Harry Dresden is incredibly believable as the PI/Wizard (and yes, I do believe in magic - who wouldn't after reading these books) and I'm in love! Anyone who likes reality fantasy (and there is such a thing believe me) will love the stories of Harry Dresden's life. The books are all well planned - ingeniously convoluted - and wonderfully well written. They are all real page turners. Only trouble is Jim Butcher doesn't write fast enough and the publishers don't print them fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harry rides again!, 30 Dec. 2010
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I confess I am a dresden follower! The book synopsis is above and this is just a note to fans that this book is in keeping with the series with the usual magic thrilling from cover to cover. This plot is very good, I always feel so sorry for Harry trying to keep his nose clean with the dreaded council its never his fault, or is it? Keeps the mind racing through the pages. This is as good as those that ahve come before and I look forward to reading the next two in print. Turn Coat (Dresden Files 11)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars predictable, 5 Aug. 2010
Still fast-paced. Still a page turner. Still a pleasure to read. But... maybe I've read too many Jim Butcher books by now... this book is predictable. By about chapter three or so I already know who the bad guy is. Well, other than Shagnasty and company, that is. Now, that is a term for the bad guys that sounds nice to my ears... Shagnasty... Butcher do invent entertaining words like that. I guess it is one of those things that makes his story-telling so wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Changes indeed, 13 April 2010
I love the dresden files series. They just keep getting better and better and the latest instalment does not disappoint. The story starts with a bang and the fast pace just keeps on going. We get to see some of the familiar characters from yesteryear and we are left wondering how Harry will pull things out of the bag this time. If you liked the others then you will love this. If you are coming to this new then I would recommend reading the others first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 4 July 2010
I'm forced to be honest and say that some books in the series are stronger then others. This is definitely one of them!
The plot is great, poignant and personal while still being epic in its greater ramifications. The writing is superb, easily creating atmosphere, tension and scope while still retaining the personal character moments with the great humour that makes the readers of the series such devoted fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turn Coat: A Dresden Files novel: 11
Turn Coat: A Dresden Files novel: 11 by Jim Butcher (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews