Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book 3 in the Dresden files series
(After Storm Front and Fool Moon)
Harry Dresden wizard PI (paranormal investigations) is back again. I do feel that to get the most out of the book you need to have read the previous 2 books.
This book has the most complex story so far, Harry is now seeing Susan Rodriguez who has an interest in Harry's invite to a vampire party to celebrate Bianca's (a vampire...
Published on 19 Aug 2004 by april-showers

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A weaker entry in the Dresden series
Harry Dresden's faced some pretty terrifying foes during his career. Giant scorpions. Oversexed vampires. Psychotic werewolves. It comes with the territory when you're the only professional wizard in the Chicago area phone book. But in all Harry's years of supernatural sleuthing, he's never faced anything like this: the spirit world's gone loco. All over Chicago, ghosts...
Published on 3 Jun 2010 by A. L. Rutter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars At times a preachy installment, but overall still very enjoyable., 7 Sep 2009
By 
Erhunter "nutter" (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
(Currently writing under my mother's account)

I have not read all the books of the Dresden Files, but have read the first four. Whereas the fourth book has been my favourite so far, this the third, has to be the least, however that does not mean it is not a good book, far from it.

The statement that Harry does not understand God simply because he himself would write off the human race as a bad idea himself was particulary grating. It is very typical of 'woe the human race is terrible and God is so amazing' idea which can sometimes plague many books and made me fail to sympathsise with him. Not to mention, the promotion of christianity in this book in general made my eyes roll.

However overall this was enjoyable, and the take home message seemed to be it didn't matter whether what you believed in was actually true- but belief WAS indeed a powerful thing. Not to mention this book made Susan, a character I previously disliked in the first two books into an interesting character and I enjoyed what we saw of her relationship with the main character.

As mentioned, I have read the first four books and so far it is entertaining and I plan to read further books in the series. Here's hoping that later books are also as enjoyable!

Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gravely good, 7 Jun 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
After two good-but-not-great urban fantasies, the Dresden Files suddenly rockets into the "great" category with its third. "Grave Peril" sees Jim Butcher radically change his now-bestselling series into a far more complex and tragic affair, as well as introducing a slew of likable new characters and a long-ranging arc that promises to be very nasty for our wizardly hero.

Harry and Knight of the Cross Michael Carpenter (a sort of knight working directly for God and the angels, with a sacred sword) are working hard to exorcise a sudden surge of violent ghosts -- even taking a trip into the Nevernever, where an old enemy is waiting for Harry. They're being stirred up by a particularly evil spirit called the Nightmare, who is targeting people near Harry. Oh yeah, and he's been "invited" to a vampire ball and his amoral fairy godmother (no, really) wants an old debt repaid.

But the situation becomes far more grim when Harry discovers that it's not just one enemy but many that are conspiring against him -- evil ghosts, malevolent vampires, and the Leanansidhe. Cornered on every side and with a bunch of innocent people threatened (including Michael's newborn son), Harry is faced with a terrible choice that has no good outcomes. And he might lose the person he loves best in the process...

"Grave Peril" is the point when the entire Dresden Files series blossoms like a black rose. The relatively simple storylines of the first two books abruptly give way to a complex tangle of intertwined enemies, conspiracies and magical creatures (ranging from fae to vampires). And rather than a standalone mystery/fantasy, this book is the start of a massive arc that promises to span the entire Dresden Files series.

Butcher's writing has matured as well, becoming a more polished brand of hard-boiled fantasy noir with some nasty stark details (such as barbed wire on the soul. Lots of snappy dialogue ("Vampires on a diet?" "Yeah. Make hers a Blood Lite"), sudden plot twists and detailed explorations of a nighttime world. But no matter how dark and bleak the book becomes, Butcher still manages some funny quirky moments (such as Harry attending a vampire ball in a cheap vampire costume).

And having also introduced multiple kinds of werewolf, Butcher does the same for other supernaturals here. There's the undead Black Court vampires, the alluring incubi of the White Court, and one of the more powerful and frightening Fae.

And poor Harry has a pretty rough time in this novel: chased by a sociopathic faery and a vengeful ghost, vampires intent on taking him out, locked in a dungeon with a crazy woman, and he suffers a terrible loss that upturns his entire life. Even worse, the poor guy is obviously going to feel pretty guilty about what happens to people close to him.

Butcher also introduces a bunch of new characters -- the pious and righteous Knight Michael, who seems to be one of the few people to gain Harry's deep respect; the lovable and sexy White Court vampire Thomas Raith; and the kindly old Catholic priest Father Forthill ("I've never had anyone ask me to bless a five-gallon drum into holy water before, Mr. Dresden"). Not to mention Lea, who promises to cause more trouble in future.

"Grave Peril" is the point when Jim Butcher's considerable talents began to fully bloom, in an urban fantasy full of grimy horror, tragedy and wit. Definitely a must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Have enjoyed the series so far, 24 July 2014
This review is from: Grave Peril: The Dresden Files Book Three: 3 (Paperback)
Another in the Harry Dresden series. Have enjoyed the series so far. Better than the TV series though I enjoyed that as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Grave Peril: The Dresden Files Book Three: 3 (Paperback)
Wicked characters galore, fast paced as always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 July 2014
By 
A. M. Beaumont (Leeds, West Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Light holiday reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Addictive and immersive. Great fantasy writing and storytelling. Have enjoyed the whole series, dont't be put of by the lightweight tv show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic, was expecting to be disappointed, was pleasantly surprised. Another great novel will continue with the series. Give it a go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books i've read, 19 Nov 2003
By 
Asterion (Rotterdam Netherlands) - See all my reviews
What can i say about the Harry Dresden Files?
That they are great! a lot of humor , sarcasm and a great story.
It's the kind of book you just can't stop reading. Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 26 Jun 2007
Whilst I think there's a lot of potential in the series, the characterisation of the supporting characters and the overall plotting of this is just dire and it's a shame because there's a lot of interesting world-building going on that could have been handled so much more convincingly. If you've started the series, then definitely give this one a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Grave Peril: The Dresden Files Book Three: 3
Grave Peril: The Dresden Files Book Three: 3 by Jim Butcher (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews