Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fool Moon Rocks!
It's official! Jim Butcher has a hit series on his hands. Fool Moon, the much anticipated second book in the Dresden Files series, does more than live up to fans' expectations: It exceeds them. This book rocks, fulfilling the lofty precedent set in Storm Front for fast paced action, witty dialogue, a riveting plotline, compelling characters and, most of all, it's...
Published on 17 Feb. 2001

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
A few months after the events of Storm Front, wizard Harry Dresden is going through some lean times. Following the events of the prior novel, his stock with the Chicago PD is at a low and word has gotten out that Dresden may be in cahoots with the city's foremost gangster. However, an outbreak of savage killings every full moon sees the police reluctantly enlist Dresden's...
Published on 21 April 2009 by A. Whitehead


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fool Moon Rocks!, 17 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
It's official! Jim Butcher has a hit series on his hands. Fool Moon, the much anticipated second book in the Dresden Files series, does more than live up to fans' expectations: It exceeds them. This book rocks, fulfilling the lofty precedent set in Storm Front for fast paced action, witty dialogue, a riveting plotline, compelling characters and, most of all, it's endearing protagonist: Harry Dresden, a wisecracking gumshoe wizard with a heart of gold and just enough of a dark side to keep things real.
Fool Moon returns to the alternate-reality version of modern day Chicago as introduced in book one, an unsettling yet exciting world of both everyday familiarity and film-noir style fantasy where chaos results when paranormal forces interact with a mostly disbelieving humanity. It's this disbelief that keeps business in a slump for Harry, the windy city's only professional wizard. Thankfully Lt. Karrin Murphy, head of the Chicago Police's Special Investigations unit, has experienced enough weirdness on Chi Town's mean streets to know that the paranormal threat is very real. Determined to save lives at all costs and faced with having to solve crimes that go beyond the scope of forensic science, Murphy usually turns to Harry for help. But in Fool Moon Harry discovers that Murphy is forced to risk her badge to bring him in on a murder investigation after an editorial in a local paper criticizes her use of public funds to hire a "charlatan psychic" and Internal Affairs begins probing into her suspected connection to the Chicago Mob through her past involvement with Harry.
Time is running out. Evidence found following a series of gruesome murders leads Harry to believe that a pack of werewolves is on the rampage in the city and with only a few nights of bright moonlight left, the wizard is in a race against the clock to put an end to the slaughter or lose the trail until the next full moon.
Fool Moon is solid entertainment that leaves readers with that all-too-rare sense of deep satisfaction that comes from getting your moneys worth. New readers will discover the thrill of riding shotgun with Harry and returning fans will enjoy the hints scattered throughout the novel that unearth more of Harry's rebel past, in particular a closer look at the events that lead to the Doom of Damocles, a form of probation placed on him by the White Council who oversee the ethical use of magic in the world of the mundane.
I look forward with great anticipation to the next book in the series, and to watching Jim Butcher become a household name in fantasy fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Butcher Does It Again!, 3 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
The second book of The Dresden Files starts with Harry Dresden on a diet of ramin noodles, so broke he has to look up to see the bottom. Then, a strange spell on a sheet of paper and a curious student tempt him with a steak dinner. The action goes a fast pace from there on. Trouble comes, not only from biker gangs and mobsters, but from mysterious wolves that are not wolves. Murders come fast and furious and when Murphy's cut out of the loop, she does her best to put Harry in jail. Then, as if things weren't bad enough, the FBI jumps into the madhouse with both feet. Maybe Harry says it best. 'A mangled corpse in the middle of a blood-drenched floor. Berserk FBI field agents drawing guns and shooting to kill. A little kung-fu, a little John Wayne, and a few casual threats. It was just one more night on the job.' Are the Good Guys good or bad? Are the Bad Guys good? The twists and turns of this plot will keep you guessing right up until the very end. Just one warning, don't start it too close to bedtime. You can't put this book down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Dresden is back!, 2 Jan. 2004
By 
Mark E. Cooper "Fantasybooks" (STANFORD-LE-HOPE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
After Jim Butcher's smash hit Storm Front, comes Fool Moon--another action packed ride with Harry Dresden, Chicago's best and only wizard PI. A series of bloody murders leads Harry to believe that a pack of werewolves has taken up residence in his city, but time is short. Harry races to discover the lair before the full moon rises.

I loved the first book and this one is just as good. Jim Butcher delves a little deeper into Harry's past, and at the same time puts a new slant on his friendship with Murphy. Murphy is under pressure to bring Harry in for questioning, but she knows that if anyone can solve the murders, it is him. Forced to choose between her job and her friendship with Harry when Internal Affairs get involved, she chooses... :) but that would be telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jim Butcher - Not A Fool, 3 May 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fool Moon is the second in the series of The Dresden Files written by Jim Butcher.

Welcome to the world of Harry Dresden - Wizard.

Actually the only wizard known to mankind and listed in the Chicargo yellow pages.

In his second adventure Harry finds himself drawn into another murder investigation by his friend Karrin Murphy but soon finds himself under suspicion of being involved.

With rampaging warewolves killing the obvious suspects competitors and also out to kill Harry himself - add to that cops hunting him down on suspicion of collaberation and you have Harry desperately trying to stop the murders and prove his innocence.

This is an excellent sequal to the original Storm Front and in many respects it even betters the original.

I highly recommend this book, although I also recommend starting with book 1 - Storm Front.

High praise for Jim Butcher on a great sequal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the 2nd in the Dresden files (after storm front), 19 Aug. 2004
Harry Dresden is a wizard running his own paranormal investigations (PI) business which occasionally helps the special investigations dept of the Chicago police.
Harry is sort of like the paranormal version of Jim Rockford played by James Garner in the Rockford files (poor, beaten up, sucker for the damsel, has a love/hate relationship with a particular cop etc)
In this 2nd book relationships from the 1st develop, and the plot revolves around werewolves, hexenwolves, lycanthropes and loupgarou as every type of wolf gets thrown at Harry during the full moon when he investigates some strange pawmarks at the scene of a gruesome murder.
The book has nice touches of humour in between Harry getting beaten up/mauled one of my favourites is :-
I'd rolled my eyes. Billy-the-wolf had snarled and struggled out of his robe, picked it up carefully in his teeth like a large and particularly grumpy-looking Benji, and put it back in the van.
A must for detective fans who do not mind/or love a paranormal setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, 21 April 2009
By 
A. Whitehead "Werthead" (Colchester, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A few months after the events of Storm Front, wizard Harry Dresden is going through some lean times. Following the events of the prior novel, his stock with the Chicago PD is at a low and word has gotten out that Dresden may be in cahoots with the city's foremost gangster. However, an outbreak of savage killings every full moon sees the police reluctantly enlist Dresden's aid once again.

Fool Moon is a notable step up in quality from the first Dresden Files novel. The writing seems altogether more confident, the characters are better-written and the book is altogether better-paced and more enjoyable as a result. Some new characters who look likely to return in later volumes are also introduced, and Dresden starts to confront the possibility that there is some other person out there manipulating events against him, which looks set to be the beginning of some kind of long-running story arc. Butcher also shows a ruthless side, killing off a couple of recurring characters from the first novel, just to keep the reader guessing on what will happen next.

There aren't too many problems, although as with the first volume, the novel rarely rises above the entertaining popcorn level. There's also a repeat of a story element that was tiresome in the first book, namely that halfway through proceedings Dresden gets seriously injured and spends the rest of the book fighting the enemies despite suffering significant aches and pains that are described again and again in tedious detail. We get it. Dresden is overcoming serious odds to beat the bad guys. Move on. Dresden needs to either start hitting the gym or stocking up on some healing magic soon. There's also the continuing and wholly artificial distrust between Dresden and his police contact Murphy who, despite have her life saved by Dresden several times in these two books, continues to be wary and distrustful of him. Also, Butcher continues to be unsure just how widespread knowledge of magic and the occult is, with ordinary human characters varyingly reacting to the revelation of magical deeds with apathy or amazement.

Fool Moon (***½) is a fun and enjoyable novel that shows the writer's growth in talent and ability over its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling read!, 3 Jun. 2010
By 
A. L. Rutter "Floor to Ceiling Books" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fool Moon by Jim Butcher is the second of the Dresden Files. In this novel we follow Harry Dresden as he becomes embroiled in a mystery involving werewolves, and comes face to face again with the Gentleman Johnny Marcone. "Business has been slow lately for Harry Dresden. Okay, business has been dead. Not undead - just dead. You would think Chicago would have a little more action for the only professional wizard in the phone book. But lately, Harry hasn't been able to dredge up any kind of work - magical or mundane. Just when it looks like he can't afford his next meal, a murder comes along that requires his particular brand of supernatural expertise. A brutally mutilated corpse. Strange-looking paw prints. A full moon..."

This book feels almost as though it was written by two different people. The first half of Fool Moon was written by the same person who wrote Storm Front - generic urban fantasy, with an intriguing central character and some entertaining magical rules and creatures filling the pages. A page turner that I enjoyed but found a mite disposable. Halfway through Fool Moon this other writer took over - and I *really* love his work. I found myself snorting with laughter at some of the startling humour in truly desperate situations. I was chilled by the monstrous form of the loup-garou, and its casual ability to tear apart hordes of people intent on destroying it. I was warmed by the oddball relationships between Harry and those who surround him. By the end of this book - yes, you can count me a Dresden fan.

It still had its faults, but these were more clumsy plotting or deus ex machina in nature - for example, the fact that Bob explained the existence of four different types of werewolves, and we happened to encounter every single one of them over the course of the book.

Butcher also doesn't have complete faith in his readers yet, since a lot of the characters and concepts were re-introduced all over again in this second book after encountering them in Storm Front. It is forgivable, since this is only the second in the series, but I have a horrible suspicion that this is habit-forming and will run into subsequent books in the Dresden sequence. If I am still being told what Murphy and Susan look like in book eight, I shall be disappointed.

With that said, apart from a frustrating desire to tell us exactly what every character looks like, Butcher's ability to produce characters that we care deeply about is second-to-none. Dresden remains a wonderfully sarcastic and irascible individual - take this quote for example: "So there I was being strangled by a ranting, half-naked madman in the middle of the woods, with a she-werewolf dangling from a rope snare somewhere nearby. My gunshot wound hurt horribly, and my jaw throbbed from where my buddy the cop had brutalized it the night before. I've had worse days."

Butcher's gentle observational humour makes the book a pleasure to read as well. I do believe that he might well be a cat owner, going by this quote: "I found him in a dumpster one day when he was a kitten and he promptly adopted me. Despite my struggles, Mister had been an understanding soul, and I eventually came to realise that I was a part of his little family, and by his gracious consent was allowed to remain in his apartment." Only someone familiar with the true fact that people belong to cats, and not vice versa, could write something like that!

Everything that made Storm Front enjoyable is present in Fool Moon, but Butcher has improved the plotting, the writing and the sense that we are reading something unique rather than yet another generic never-ending urban fantasy series. I was happy enough to read Fool Moon after trying Storm Front. Now that I've finished Fool Moon, I am ready to stampede to my bookshelves to find the third book. Butcher has created a fantastic character in the form of Harry Dresden - complicated, chauvinistic, and compelling - and I can't wait to read more of his adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent read but more action that depth, 25 April 2007
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is the 2nd book in the Harry Dresden Chicago Wizard Series. And to be honest it was slightly dissapointing to the first book. The first book showed a great sense of possibility in the development of the main characters and unfortunately this book adds no further depth at all.

The pace to the book is good, the action good, but you cant help but feel its the same story in terms of character intervention. Harry is still full of his one liners, he still longs after Murphy the detective who asks him to help with investigations. She still asks him for help and then immediatelly distrusts him.

The villan in the book again is Marcone. If I was a detective, I would simply arrest him for every crime that happens.

I still believe that the idea of a wizard in modern day Chicago is a good one, but im hoping for more depth to the characters as the series moves on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An imaginative werewolf mystery, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
Leo Elijah Cristea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fool Moon: The Dresden Files Book Two: 2 (Paperback)
I knew from the very beginning of Storm Front that I was going to be a Harry Dresden fan. There's very little not to like about the series, the set-up and the delivery of The Dresden Files, and I have a suspicion that the series merely improves with time.

It's quite obvious from the offset that Fool Moon is going to be about werewolves. Great, I thought, another chance to see the furry beasties done right. Say what you will about Stephanie Meyer's Twilight, but her werewolves are done well. They're not essentially rats on stilts, not large slobbery dogs, and certainly not especially monstrous. Good things, all. So, I experienced much the same delight with Jim Butcher's werewolves.

Where (in my opinion and for my hard-to-please tastes) Butcher fails somewhat with his depiction of vampires (mainly appearance, origins, and "vampire rules", for me--yet, his notion of the different coloured Vampire Courts is excellent for me, and goes some way to make up!), he totally succeeds with his werewolves.

Butcher's imagination and ability to take existing folklore and use it to the fullest, is what makes his world so attractive a version of our own supernatural world: that there are elements of "truth" and "accuracy" within his magical lore, roots that can be identified (with), makes his slight reimagining of our own world addictively readable--much in the same way Rowling's Potter world does. It is so entirely believable, coupled with just enough accepted "fact" that the reader accepts the world and is swallowed deep into the setting.

Fool Moon begins in much the same way as Storm Front--Harry is called in to consult on a homicide and immediately it is clear that supernatural forces are responsible. Lt. Karrin Murphy and Harry share a relationship a few degrees more uneasy than before, due to the events in Storm Front but Harry is determined to patch things up, and subsequently agrees to assist in the case as best he can--even if that means getting knee-deep in trouble before he's even started.

With the FBI sniffing around, a teenage band of werewolves, and a tough biker gang, aptly named the Streetwolves, not to mention that it was Gentleman Johnnie Marcone's man who was offed, Fool Moon sets out to give Harry his weirdest, most complex case yet.

This second instalment of The Dresden Files proves, yet again, that Butcher's idea of the supernatural is anything but cliché. Butcher can give us werewolves and still come out of it gleaming with originality--it's an art he has down, and as Harry evolves through the following instalments, I can only assume Butcher's supernatural genius will improve as exponentially as Harry's magic (and trouble-load).

Imaginative, dark, funny and witty, Fool Moon really raises the bar set by Storm Front, and readers hooked at book one will seal the deal and call themselves Dresden fans from here onwards. An excellently paced, exciting urban fantasy adventure, Fool Moon simply is what Butcher does, and what he does well.

Harry is an approachable, likeable character who engages constantly: there is never a dull moment in a Dresden book, and always something new to intrigue and enthral. Fool Moon was a quick, fast-paced adventure that introduces new characters, establishes existing characters further, and shows the reader a damn good time whilst doing so. An absolute pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moonlit murder, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
It's almost required in urban fantasy series that you have werewolves. Big, small, aggressive or angsty -- its expected.

But Jim Butcher must win some kind of prize for jamming so many kinds of werewolf into a single novel. "Fool Moon," the second novel in the Dresden Files series, features four different breeds of werewolf, all of whom are potentially dangerous for our wizardly hero. It's a rather simple storyline, but Butcher manages to keep the story interesting.

After a woman tries to get some magical information from him, Harry is called in to consult on a series of mystery killings -- the victims were torn apart by an animal, and a canine paw print is the only clue. Smells like werewolf spirit. Unfortunately, investigating this crime brings him into contact with Gentleman Johnny Marcone's mob -- and even thrown in jail after Murphy goes postal on him.

But Harry has some unusual allies on his side in the search for the murderer -- gang of teenage werewolves and a mysterious wild woman who wants to save her fiancee. Unfortunately, Harry's quest to stop the murders brings him between a deadly cursed werewolf and a government conspiracy. And getting rid of this problem might not be so easy, even with werewolves on his side.

"Fool Moon" was only Jim Butcher's second novel, and it shows. It's a rather simple story compared to his later work -- one main plot, one kind of supernatural threat, presented in a straightforward fashion. But it's still a solid piece of urban fantasy, especially given the different colourful kinds of werewolf that Butcher introduces.

And he does a solid job mixing dark'n'rainy noir atmosphere with lots of magic spells and talismans, as well as a veiled conflict between the Mafia and the FBI. The story rolls along at a gradual pace, with Harry picking up clues and new allies along the way, before erupting into a dark, bloody conflict with some very nasty secret enemies.

Butcher's writing strikes a nice balance between stripped-down Chanderlian prose, with plenty of blood and violence and some gloriously creepy moments (such as Harry being cornered by the lyncanthrope biker gang). Yet there's also a pared-down beauty to scenes like Tera dancing nude in the street.

Harry's reputation is at something of a low in this book -- not only does a newspaper call him a "charlatan psychic," but he also gets in hot water with Murphy after a student of his gets killed. And Tera West makes an intriguing female lead -- although it's pretty obvious what she is, her love for MacFinn and her wild, deadly nature give her an unearthly edge.

"Fool Moon" still sees Jim Butcher growing into his urban fantasy series, but this adventure/horror/mystery story is a worthwhile little read. Especially for those who like their werewolves in a variety of flavours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fool Moon: The Dresden Files Book Two: 2
Fool Moon: The Dresden Files Book Two: 2 by Jim Butcher (Paperback - 5 May 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews