Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific sequel!!
This is the second in the series of a new lone ranger/magic user/trouble-shooting urban fantasy.
Action-packed from the start .Entertaining,fast-paced and enjoyable,following on from "Fated".

If you enjoy Jim Butcher,Darren Humphries,Kevin Hearne,Jon Rosenberg,Mark everett stone,charles stross,Ben Aaronovich, you'll probably like this too.
Published on 6 Jun. 2012 by walrus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read
I wasn't sure of this at first, it seemed a bit weak. But I kept going and within the first fifty pages of so found myself enjoying the story. I now find myself interested to see what happens to Alex and Luna. So I must conclude that it worked - it just took a bit too long to develop.
Published 20 months ago by DadTheTooth


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terrific sequel!!, 6 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
This is the second in the series of a new lone ranger/magic user/trouble-shooting urban fantasy.
Action-packed from the start .Entertaining,fast-paced and enjoyable,following on from "Fated".

If you enjoy Jim Butcher,Darren Humphries,Kevin Hearne,Jon Rosenberg,Mark everett stone,charles stross,Ben Aaronovich, you'll probably like this too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Urban Fantasy Sequel, 21 Jun. 2012
By 
Marleen (Cavan, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
Alex Verus is a mage, a diviner, who owns a shop; `Arcana Emporium' in Camden, London and when the story starts life is going smoothly for him. He is on reasonably good terms with the Council and occasionally working for them, and the work with his cursed apprentice Luna is proceeding quite nicely as well.
Things are about to change though.
It all starts with the discovery of a death magical creature. Although it is unclear how it was killed, it is a worrying sight.
Although Alex doesn't realise it, things slip further downhill when Martin, a new friend of Luna's visits his shop and walks away with the magic Monkey Paw Alex didn't have out on display because he knows the artefact is cursed.
Next a beautiful woman bursts into his shop followed by an assassin Alex is only barely able to fend off. The woman, Meredith, is an enchantress and although Alex is well aware of her seductive powers he has a hard time thinking straight when he is around her.
Through Meredith Alex meets Belthas, a Council mage, who wants his help in discovering who killed the magical creature and where they are now.
Next thing Alex knows he has fallen out with his apprentice, who now prefers Martin's company after Martin has used the monkey paw to find a way to be close to her without hurting himself. Up against old adversaries and with his friend, Arachne, a giant, intelligent, magical and very friendly spider in mortal danger, Alex finds himself in a fight he and those he cares for may well not survive. Alex may well be able to look into the future, knowing who to trust is much harder.

This is the second Alex Verus story I've read this year and I have to say I'm really enjoying them. It is clear to see why these books are endorsed by Jim Butcher; Alex Verus has a lot in common with Butcher's hero Harry Dresden. Both are outsiders and underdogs trying to fight the good fight against the odds and often through means they don't feel good about. And both the Verus and the Dresden series combine humour with tension in a way that really works.
The world Alex Verus inhabits in London is completely recognisable, which makes it easy to accept the supernatural elements in the story. The world Benedict describes is almost exactly the same as the world we live in. In fact, the differences between his London and the city we might visit are so tiny that you could almost believe that the magic can really be found there, if only you looked hard enough.
Although this is very much a supernatural thriller, enough attention is paid to the characters and what makes them tick to create a real interest in their welfare. Although Alex is the hero in these books and at times vulnerable, he has enough of a dark side to make him realistic and interesting. And it is easy to understand what drives Luna; having a curse which means that anyone who comes close to you or, even worse, touches you gets hurt or killed would be enough to make anyone stand-offish and desperate.
As for the other characters, it is hardly ever certain who can be trusted; who is on the side of good and who is just pure evil, something which makes the story fascinating and a real page-turner.
I am having great fun with these books and can't wait for the third one to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Verus. Hurray!, 3 Sept. 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
So we come to the second book in the Alex Verus series from Benedict Jacka and it has solidified in my mind that this is a set of books I'm going to adore...and read every single one for as long as the author cares to keep writing them. Brilliant Urban Fantasy.

This instalment finds Alex still hoping for the quiet life..but with his reputation growing its not as easy as it sounds. Luna, his sometime apprentice and friend is living up to her name, and when a beautiful woman literally throws herself at his feet whilst in mortal danger Alex reluctantly realises that, quiet life wishes aside, he's just going to have to leap back into the fray...

I do love the characters and the world they live in. A familiar world on the surface but with hidden depths you can only imagine. Alex is a terrific creation - constantly questioning his own motivations then just shrugging and getting on with it, there are some terrific scenes involved when he is in ironic mode. His "sidekick" if you like, Luna, is emotional and torn between wanting to enter the world of magic and yet not really wanting to follow the rules. ..hence she often finds herself in trouble with Alex attempting to ride heroically to the rescue. He is a bit of an anti hero and often luck rather than judgement wins the day...all in all this makes for terrific reading.

Humerous yet dark in places, and with some very real life themes hidden cleverly within the plot lines (cruelty to animals in this case...there are nefarious goings on surrounding the mystical creatures who pepper the world of Verus) these are terrific books and will take you away from the mundane in life and give you a hint of wonder...

Happy Reading Folks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars as good as book 1, 30 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
A good sequel. whist i have read reviews that state there is no real suspense and i would agree that the book does lack suspense it is more of a dogged detective story. The relationship between the charcters under strain, betrayal really does come to the fore in this novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and original urban fantasy sequel, 27 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
It’s several months after FATED. Probability mage, Alex Verus is picking up freelance work for the Council and is trying to train his apprentice, Luna, in controlling her curse. Hired by a senior Light mage called Belthas, Alex is soon on the trail of a Dark cabal intent on using forbidden magic to harvest life energy from magical creatures. But his investigations are distracted by Meredith, a sexy mage able to manipulate emotions, and Martin, a handsome sensitive who Luna’s friends with and who wants to find out more about magic. Throw in a threat to one of Alex’s best friends and the curse of the monkey’s paw, and Alex may just be out of his depth this time …

The second in Benedict Jacka’s ALEX VERUS SERIES is another fast-paced, entertaining read with a twisting plot that kept me turning the pages. There’s more development here of the relationship between Luna and Alex and I enjoyed the tension injected by the introduction of Martin as a new love interest for Luna. Similarly, Verus’s friendship with Arachne comes more to the fore and I was surprised (and happy) to see Jacka resolve a story element that could easily have become a ‘get out of jail’ card. There are plenty of twists and turns, most of which kept me guessing and there’s a sense of an overall arc as Verus’s past continues to haunt him. All in all, it’s an entertaining, well written book with likeable characters and as such I will definitely be reading on.

Verus’s probability magic remains a lot of fun as Jacka shows how it can be used and what its strengths and limitations are. Similarly, Luna’s curse gets more page time here and it’s interesting to see how it operates, what Luna can do about it and the impact that has on her personally. The monkey paw element was really creepy with Jacka did justice to the old legend while also adding his own spin. The introduction of more magical creatures also brings depth to the world building and I liked the sense of danger and conflict that this brought.

This isn’t a flashy novel but the originality, tight plotting and fast pacing makes it one of the most entertaining urban fantasy series available right now and I will definitely continue to follow Verus’s adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and unusual use of magic, 26 Feb. 2015
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second in the series featuring Alex Verus - a magic user based in London who has the gift of being able to see all the pathways of the future. In style this book is very like "Rivers of London" by David Aaronovitch and Alex Verus bears more than a passing resemblance to Harry Dresden in the novels by Jim Butcher. If you like either of those excellent series then you will enjoy this one.

Alex is still living in London and running his shop of magical items. He has an apprentice, Luna, who is cursed so that no one can touch her. He has a series of eccentric and unusual friends from a large spider to a spirit of the air. Sadly, it also appears that he has an enemy that wants to kill him and his apprentice has been lured away by the love of a young wizard who shows remarkably poor judgement.

The magic in this book is unusual and well thought through. The author shows us how Alex's gift can be useful but also its limitations and, as usual, how people of evil intentions seek to use his gift for their own reward. The book is witty and amusing and Alex is an entertaining narrator who is wiser than he first appears. The author also examines the dark side of power and of magic and the whole monkey's paw/three wishes thing was very creepy and ended as you might have expected.

This isn't a very long book and it is very easy to read but nevertheless it has plenty to make you think together with a very engaging main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Full of excitement, 5 April 2013
This review is from: Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel (Paperback)
I have read all the books now in the Alex Verus series, Fated, Cursed and Taken and I must say it is one of the more catchy books.
If you are looking for an easy-read but exciting book with magic in it, you are looking at the right place, I still haven't read a boring passage.
The books are written in an easy-go mood and tempo while still keeping an eye on the details, without letting them take over. The magic world is unlike the one we have gotten used to lately with Harry Potter, but just as interesting.
No, Benedict is not a great writer, yet, but he writes compelling books which you can't let go of easily.

Do not pick up this book if you:
Want to read a love story.
Want to read about a fairytale magic world.
If you want your books ultra detailed.
If you want a very advanced language.

So, kinda short review, but I am on my daily train trip. Hope it can be used by someone

-Alex Karlsson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure of this at first, it seemed a bit weak. But I kept going and within the first fifty pages of so found myself enjoying the story. I now find myself interested to see what happens to Alex and Luna. So I must conclude that it worked - it just took a bit too long to develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 14 Aug. 2013
By 
John Coxshott (Wemyss bay, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book. Takes something supernatural and makes you accept it as real. Really like the main characters too. Now looking forward to the next Alex Verus book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!, 2 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great second book in this series, in fact even better than the 1st. Characters are now well developed from the 1st novel so straight away u r involved in the story. The 1st thing l did when l finished this book was download the 3rd book, which is also excellent. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel
Cursed: An Alex Verus Novel by Benedict Jacka (Paperback - 7 Jun. 2012)
£6.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews