Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blanc is whiter than white
Let's get one thing straight! This isn't Delia! Part of the joy of this book is the sheer escapism, and the insight it gives into the extraordinarily detailed and complex world of a world-class kitchen, and the borderline-obsessive that runs it. However, there are some recipes that a reasonably competent cook can accomplish, and Blanc makes sure that each dish is...
Published on 8 Sep 2003 by Mrs. M. Donaldson

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Practical Use
This is the only one of my library of cookbooks that I have never. ever managed, despite many attempts, to cook a single recipe. All far, far too complicated. One either realises that there is no hope of getting the key ingredient or that by the time one has made the three other recipes that have to go into the recipe one thought one was making that one will have run...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars special, but definitely challenging, 31 Oct 2013
By 
R. J. de Bulat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Raymond Blanc is a 2 star chef and Le Manoir aux quat' saisons is a top class hotel, restaurant and cookery school: a recipe book based on the menus produced there is never going to be easy and the recipe titles are all in French, although sub titles and instructions are in English. This is more like a cookery course than a book of recipes, although there are many to follow and each one is a masterpiece. The book begins with a section on basic recipes and techniques that are not, in themselves difficult and are helped by chef's notes and planning ahead guidance. This is followed by a section on vegetables which are essential to the recipes that come next. Thereafter, the recipes are divided up into the seasons of spring, summer autumn and winter, using seasonal ingredients and menus that suit the weather. A page of suppliers and stockists, bibliography and then an index completes the work. Many of the dishes will be challenging, if only to source ingredients, but with a bit of judicious adaptation, the recipes can be a good starting point for some memorable dinners: an example is roast Teal with red wine sauce and a bed of chicory. While chicory is not so hard to get at various times of the year, Teal is a form of duck - an easy substitute and if I couldn't get chicory, I would use leeks. Purists might squeal at the thought of adapting the recipes, but why not use this as a voyage of discovery? The reason that I make this point is that there are now quite a few Michelin starred chef's recipe books out there, all of them deservedly praiseworthy, but most beyond the capability of the averagely good cook if only because of the time it takes to prepare some of these menus and the difficulty in getting all of the ingredients. Raymond Blanc makes a point of explaining that he is self taught and has learned what he has learned through experimentation; dumbing down some of these recipes may not be ideal, but may be the only way to approach them. So what does this say about the book? Undoubtedly, it is full of the most beautiful recipes and menus, enabling, at best, any good cook to produce memorable meals, but it is not everyday. Some are quite simple, but may take more than one attempt to get just right; all-in-all, it is a book to have in your cookery book collection and definitely something to aspire to if you have the time and the zeal to get the best out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars raymond blanc, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely illistrations well demonstrated easy to read explaained well so that it could be well understood by everyne recommand it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightfully complex, 2 Mar 2012
A negative review of this book makes the absolutely accurate point that the recipes are often exceedingly complex. So they should be. Raymond Blanc has written other cookbooks aimed at a simpler style, this is explicitly there to offer you some 2-star level dishes from Le Manoir. I loved it, both the challenge and the results. I came to it very early on in my cooking career, without a knowledge of how to make even very basic dishes, and found what it expected staggering. I also found that Blanc laid down the methods very clearly, and that it merely required hard work and time to make food that I had never before dreamed of doing.

The experience really was eye opening, and I recall thinking that I after a lifetime of eating in black-and-white, this was how to eat in colour. I've remained fond of the book ever since. Much recommended, but not if you want ten-minute suppers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, easy to follow - wonderful results in the kitchen, 13 Mar 2001
By A Customer
An excellent way to impress your friends at a dinner party. His dishes are very impressive and fun to make
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TOP CHEF, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. A. Leone (TAVERHAM NORFOLK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THE BOOK IS AN EXCELLENT BOOK TELLING HIS LIFE STORY FROM HUMBLE BEGINNINGS TO BEING TOP CHEF OWNING PROBABLY THE BEST AND MOST PICTURESQUE EATING ESTABLISHMENT IN THE WORLD. MY PARTNER MARGARET HAS JUST WON A WEEKEND ALL EXPENSES PAID HERE-----CAN'T WAIT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Practical Use, 5 April 2011
This is the only one of my library of cookbooks that I have never. ever managed, despite many attempts, to cook a single recipe. All far, far too complicated. One either realises that there is no hope of getting the key ingredient or that by the time one has made the three other recipes that have to go into the recipe one thought one was making that one will have run out of steam or interest and instead taken the escape route of Monsieur Blanc's Cooking for Friends which is one of the best cookbooks ever written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb6b86684)

This product

Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons
Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons by Raymond Blanc (Hardcover - 18 Feb 1988)
Used & New from: 9.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews