Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blanc is whiter than white
Let's get one thing straight! This isn't Delia! Part of the joy of this book is the sheer escapism, and the insight it gives into the extraordinarily detailed and complex world of a world-class kitchen, and the borderline-obsessive that runs it. However, there are some recipes that a reasonably competent cook can accomplish, and Blanc makes sure that each dish is...
Published on 8 Sep 2003 by Mrs. M. Donaldson

versus
1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Practical Use
This is the only one of my library of cookbooks that I have never. ever managed, despite many attempts, to cook a single recipe. All far, far too complicated. One either realises that there is no hope of getting the key ingredient or that by the time one has made the three other recipes that have to go into the recipe one thought one was making that one will have run...
Published on 5 April 2011 by Clive


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blanc is whiter than white, 8 Sep 2003
By 
Mrs. M. Donaldson "MaggieD" (oxford, oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Let's get one thing straight! This isn't Delia! Part of the joy of this book is the sheer escapism, and the insight it gives into the extraordinarily detailed and complex world of a world-class kitchen, and the borderline-obsessive that runs it. However, there are some recipes that a reasonably competent cook can accomplish, and Blanc makes sure that each dish is graded accordingly. Some are just to salivate over, and wonder at, others are really achievable. I have often cooked the magnificent, and surprisingly straightforward hot caramel souffle, for example, but wouldn't attempt the complex bouillabaise terrine! The best thing is to give in, go to the restaurant and eat the food! But, great book for anyone remotely interested in the best cooking of the last 20 years or so, and in the personal philosophy of one of our greatest French (honorary British!) chefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, hard work, 7 May 2011
Rent a cottage in the country and spend a few days cooking some of these recipes - you won't be going to the pub much as they do take a lot of time and effort. However, you will find something rare - very complex dishes where you can actually taste all of the ingredients, and you don't feel that half the recipe could have been omitted with little effect. I like simple food, but if I'm going to cook and eat complex food, I find here the balance in the finished product which fully justifies the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRENCH PERFECTION, 17 April 2011
By 
Kenneth Head (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons (Hardcover)
Fabulous recipes which turn out perfectly every time.
Lots of details and advice. As with all Raymond Blanc publications which are beautifully produced,the final results are superb.
Even if you choose not to try the recipes, the book is a wonderful addition to a library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love Raymond Blanc!, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is amazing. It's complicated, it gets technical, but put the effort in and Raymond shows you how to make the best food ever - far better than you'd have dreamed you could manage. It tastes like you've gone to a fabulous restaurant, your friends will be astonished, and many of his tricks work on much simpler dishes.

Raymond Blanc is a genius. This isn't a straightforward cookbook - it's for people who love food and are prepared to take on a real challenge for a fantastic reward. I've never had another cookbook like this one - so recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great book that has stood the test of time..., 14 Feb 2012
This review is from: Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons (Hardcover)
In keeping with Raymond Blanc's insistence on fresh produce, the emphasis in this book is:

Divided by seasons, this book, has a short introduction and menu suggestions followed by 30 to 40 recipes, categorized into soups, cold hors d'oeuvres, fish, poultry, game, meat and desserts. There are also basic recipes for vegetables, sauces and jellies, a list of specialist food and wine stockists. Raymond Blanc is the restaurateur of "Le Manoir aux 'Quat Saisons" which was awarded two Michelin stars before it had even opened.

Along with the recipes are wine recommendations and chef's notes that not only give advice on achieving the best results but explain some of the scientific aspects of cooking as well. Invaluable introductory chapters cover basic techniques and recipes, with advice on buying ingredients, while a general introduction gives a fascinating insight into Raymond Blanc and his gastronomic philosophy. Whilst all being divided into the changing seasons.

With glorious photography by top food photographer Michael Boys, a preface by Egon Ronay and a foreword by Hugh Johnson, Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons conveys a little of Raymond Blanc's acknowledged genius and reflects the quality, simplicity and sophistication that are his hallmark.

AS a friend added: "Let's get one thing straight! This isn't Delia! Part of the joy of this book is the sheer escapism, and the insight it gives into the extraordinarily detailed and complex world of a world-class kitchen, and the borderline-obsessive that runs it. However, there are some recipes that a reasonably competent cook can accomplish, and Blanc makes sure that each dish is graded accordingly. Some are just to salivate over, and wonder at, others are really achievable. I have often cooked the magnificent, and surprisingly straightforward hot caramel souffle, for example, but wouldn't attempt the complex bouillabaise terrine! The best thing is to give in, go to the restaurant and eat the food! But, great book for anyone remotely interested in the best cooking of the last 27 years or so, and in the personal philosophy of one of our greatest French (honorary British!) chefs."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raymond Blanc: Le Manoir, 7 Nov 2008
By 
Tony (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This book is to enjoy and to try out the recipes, however they are not for someone who cannot spend time and much patience to prepare, and to cook with care. Raymond Blanc is the Rolls Royce of chefs and this book proves it, by the shear amount of information it contains the advise and chefs notes are invaluable. The terrain dishes are truly amazing. I have managed to cook the venision terrain and it is truly the best I have ever made. My dinner guests were speachless as they have all commented on my level of cookery skills improvement. It is all down to this one man passion of cooking Raymond Blanc and one of the best cook books available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my top 3 cookbooks, 22 Nov 2009
By 
K. Eden (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love cooking for my family and friends, its a delight when a book stretches your skills and allows you to try something new. I have used this book over and over the years since I had it and anything I ever made from it has been well received by my guests as well as a complete and utter joy to prepare. I have it lined up amongst many other great chefs whether its Delia, Jamie, Australias Homebaked, or Leiths cookery bible. It adds a completeness to my book collection when I am looking for something very special to do :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raymond Blanc Le Manoir, 26 Aug 2009
By 
R ELLIS "EDWARDREAD" (TOTNES, DEVON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This beautiful recipe book is full of exciting ideas from Raymond Blanc who is in a class of his own, far and away the best chef in the land. Buy this book and don't look back..........excellent and not for the unadventurous!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but experience in the kitchen is a must, 24 Aug 2006
By 
Mark Hayes "susie souffle" (Malaga, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is indeed very special, however you will need to know how to follow complex recipes, and a very good understanding of cooking, this is not a book for the faint hearted as the recipes are long, and at times complex but if you want the wow factor at the end of a dinner partie then this is most definately the book for you. Very pleased with my purchase but need a spare few hours to really get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Chef, 19 Jan 2014
By 
Kenneth J. Sayers "kens01" (adelaide south australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my wife's favourite chefs, she just loves French cooking. This man is obviously the master. One for food lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0b90a50)

This product

Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons
Recipes from Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons by Raymond Blanc (Hardcover - 18 Feb 1988)
Used & New from: 7.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews