Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Gives Magdalena a Run for his Money!
When Magdalena Wallace lands a job as an intern with Simon Roche's accountancy firm she is given a fair amount of responsibility with his accounts, including his passwords. Whilst moonlighting at a part time evening job in a casino, she meets Sandy Cunningham, and upon discovering that his winning streak is not luck at all, but a well thought out gambling system, she...
Published on 2 Mar. 2010 by Angelika Devlyn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A self indulgent and ugly story
I agree with Bianca's review on this book. I was so bored with the author's reverie that I skipped about half of it which is normally something I never do.

Despite many grammatical and proof reading errors ("That'sa" is not a word!) the author's command of English is good but the lengthy back story, sometimes mid sex scene, was annoying.

I found it...
Published on 24 Jan. 2012 by Ansdell Lass


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simon Gives Magdalena a Run for his Money!, 2 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
When Magdalena Wallace lands a job as an intern with Simon Roche's accountancy firm she is given a fair amount of responsibility with his accounts, including his passwords. Whilst moonlighting at a part time evening job in a casino, she meets Sandy Cunningham, and upon discovering that his winning streak is not luck at all, but a well thought out gambling system, she finds herself doing anything to get the insider details.

Unfortunately, gambling online during office hours and not sticking to the system's policy of stopping when she makes a loss means Magdalena must try another way to recoup her losses. In desperation she borrows money from the accountancy firm. Of course, she loses everything and her borrowing now stands as embezzling. Repentant, Magdalena confesses all to Simon, including that she hasn't the money to pay him back and will do anything to sort it out between them as long as it doesn't involve the police. Not surprisingly, Simon comes up with the perfect solution. Well, she did express a willingness to do anything and that is just what she gets when she becomes his slave in order to redeem herself.

The transition from 'a quick work time gamble' to a serious offence is very believable and well written. Simon is a wonderfully dominant character, who ultimately is out to dominate Magdalena for his own purposes. Magdalena is full of self doubt as to whether she can cope with what she has taken on even though the matter is out of her hands. As we follow her on her journey of submission and discover the true meaning of what it entails to be one of girls inside the Black Spires mansion, in which the most powerful and rich businessmen meet, we see that there is so much more to her new way of life - and indeed this book - than at first it would seem. Superb take on one woman's plight for redemption, and her struggle to submit far beyond that of which she ever thought herself capable considering her sheltered upbringing. We see how she adapts to the demands of being a gift under her new Master's orders, of which she is at first shocked by and then relishes in. Chloe Thurlow's story is top notch and will get you in the mood to agree to anything just to get a slice of what Magdalena has, whether or not you are that way inclined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Tale For Our Time, 15 July 2009
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
Poor Magdalena. She wants to get rich quick but her foolproof 'system' at the casino fails and lands her in deep trouble. She has to choose between being reported to the police or becoming the sexual slave of her boss, a man with heavy hands and an excessive amount of imagination. She chooses the latter, and the reader is taken on an erotic rollercoaster ride. Chloe Thurlow has done it again--written a sexy, witty and clever tale for our times. So rude I had to read it twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best yet!, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read all three of Chloe's books this is the best so far,not only do we get lots of rollicking steamy sex scenes but a great story with a feel good ending...
Lets hope Chloe can take some time off from her constant research to another spanking good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a platter of erotica - I am stuffed now!, 10 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magdalena takes an internship with Simon Roche's finance company, she has just left an all girls boarding school and works shifts at a local casino. Magdalena is unknowingly duped into stealing some money from Simon's company to fund her online gaming habit which she finds hard to control and here (very soon into the book) is where the story begins.

Simon gives Magdalena the choice to either be prosecuted or to do 'anything' for him for 31 days - she takes the latter and this leads to her being 'used' as a sexual plaything for Simon's private gentlemen's club and her eventual sexual liberation as she comes to terms with her predicament and decides that she revels in this side of herself.

Virtually every sort of sexual situation is visited in this book and Chloe writes the erotica so skilfully it was truly leg-crossingly good. Also Magdalena explains her thought processes throughout and you see what could be a deplorable and depraved experience viewed by her as an enlightening and freeing journey.

I loved this story, Simon is intriguing and I ended up liking all of the characters, there was tons of page porn but written by a talented and obviously well read author. A keeper for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crossing the Rubicon..., 7 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To start with the negative, which I rarely do, I'm baffled as to why a reviewer mentioned that they were not `expecting a literary master piece (sic)', having read a number of Thurlow's books, I was indeed expecting a literary masterpiece and I was not disappointed, also - as expected. Thurlow delivers English literature at the appropriate level for a Cambridge graduate, woven with explicit erotica, which at times, verges on the pornographic but in my opinion never crosses the line, even though Thurlow sends her heroine across the Rubicon - and beyond.

In common with `Girl Trade', there were parts of this masterly piece that I had to read with my eyes wide shut. If you haven't read any Thurlow, you could start with `Sophie's Secret' Sophie's Secret: Forbidden Fruit in the Garden of Pleasureand progress to `Gift of Girls' Thurlow doesn't write hackneyed cliché, she doesn't do the hot, predictable, alpha male, boy meets girl, vanilla erotica, Thurlow delivers classic erotica, which doesn't shy away from activities that some readers may find challenging. Read Anais Nin A Spy In The House Of Love (Penguin Modern Classics)and read Thurlow alongside, there is little to distinguish one from the other in my view.

I must mention another point made in a negative review for this book regarding safe sex. Gift of Girls is adult literature written by an adult for an adult audience, featuring characters above the age of consent (in the UK). Nowhere is it written that fictional characters in work created for the entertainment of consenting adults that antagonists and protagonists should follow the health and safety regulations laid down by sexual health professionals. Literature is designed to entertain. I cannot recall reading a review of a story featuring vampires which mentions HIV...Fiction is fiction is fiction...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A self indulgent and ugly story, 24 Jan. 2012
By 
Ansdell Lass (Lytham St Annes, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with Bianca's review on this book. I was so bored with the author's reverie that I skipped about half of it which is normally something I never do.

Despite many grammatical and proof reading errors ("That'sa" is not a word!) the author's command of English is good but the lengthy back story, sometimes mid sex scene, was annoying.

I found it unsexy and not at all erotic.

She just came across to me as a naive girl preyed on and blackmailed by unscrupulous and horrible men.

In one part another girl says their roles are as "vectors of pleasure". I looked this term up and thought it particularly appropriate that one of the explanations of the word vector was - "an organism, typically a biting insect or tick, that transmits a disease or parasite from one animal or plant to another". There is absolutely no safe sex practiced in this story and I would think the ?heroine? would be extremely lucky not to have many STDs, including HIV, by the time she is 20.

I am not a prude and BDSM is my favourite genre of book but this was just so course and cruel with no consideration at all for this young girl that I disliked it intensely. I didn't feel there was any EXCHANGE of power going on here.

I prefer heroines who are at least in their 20s and able to make adult decisions for themselves. This book has spurred me to review it so that must mean something: I'm not sure what though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hot Read, 1 April 2014
PAYING THE PRICE - Caught dipping her fingers in the company till, Magdalena is threatened with the police - unless she attends a house party at her boss's country estate where she will be expected to be a sex slave for 48 hours. She agrees, rather than being prosecuted, but didm't know just how far she would have to go to pay off the debt. This is erotica at its best by a writer who knows her subject and is rightfully becoming well-known in the world of erotic romance. This is my first Chloe Thurlow novel - and it will not be the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great in places but...., 13 Jun. 2010
By 
Bianca White "bianc93" (Gosport, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
This story is great in places but it appears that half the book is of the heroine reflecting on her past, on her Catholic schooling and Sister Benedict's homilies on Life. This was a little tiresome, especially when it happened during the sexy scenes, completely destroying any naughty ambience.
I did appreciate the plot and the escapist fantasy of beautiful people and places but I think I would rather the book be half as thin in volume if it meant the intrusive and meandering thoughts of Magdalena were kept to a minimum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift of Girls/Chloe Thurlow, 5 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
Magdalene uses a can`t lose system to gamble her bosses money, of course she loses it and has to repay it,painfully. Third book from this skilful and careful writer, if you like one book you`ll like them all.

M Nicolson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mmmmm, 10 Jun. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Gift of Girls (Nexus) (Mass Market Paperback)
Finally, an erotic adventure thats written by women FOR women! I absolutely loved this book. Thank you Chloe, please write some more!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Gift of Girls (Nexus)
The Gift of Girls (Nexus) by ChloŽ Thurlow (Mass Market Paperback - 4 Jun. 2009)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews