Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to sort your eating out once and for all!
This book is excellent. I have been following a Paleo lifestyle for quite a while but had reached a plateau with regard to weightloss and general well being. Chris Kresser has sorted this out. His suggestions to help tweak and improve a Paleo lifestyle took immediate affect. Like many I just wasn't eating enough carbohydrate, having become carb phobic to extremes. But it...
Published 3 months ago by crispin70

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was a bit of a con as it said ...
It was a bit of a con as it said all recipes can be found on web site, for free. I logged on and you had to subscribe every month.
Published 18 days ago by pamelakerslake


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to sort your eating out once and for all!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
This book is excellent. I have been following a Paleo lifestyle for quite a while but had reached a plateau with regard to weightloss and general well being. Chris Kresser has sorted this out. His suggestions to help tweak and improve a Paleo lifestyle took immediate affect. Like many I just wasn't eating enough carbohydrate, having become carb phobic to extremes. But it takes a man of his experience to point you in the right direction. This book is ideal for both those new to Paleo, which is the simplest and most correct way to live, but also invaluable to those to whom Paleo has become a way of life but isn't quite working.
Good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to eat well and be well in our modern age, 14 Jan 2014
By 
Kate H (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
I have been listening to Chris Kresser's podcasts for a while now and have been impressed by his knowledge - he is a firm believer in evidence and seems to have an amazing ability to soak up scientific studies. He is a good communicator, translating the science into terms that a lay person may be able to understand - and comes across as a really nice guy as well. He is also a clinician (integrative health practitioner, based in California) and this comes through in his undoctrinaire approach: although he broadly supports a 'Paleo' or evolutionary outlook on nutrition, he interprets this flexibly, based on his experience with patients.

This combination of providing clear general principles which can be personalised according to individual need is the essence of Chris Kresser's book. It is very readable. The science is there, in the background, with notes and references that can be looked up on the website, but they do not get in the way. He sets the scene at the start of the book by describing how he himself became unwell while travelling in the late nineties, leading to a prolonged period of illness, during which he received limited help from doctors and the breakthrough came when he started eating according to Paleo principles. He includes a user-friendly description of the thinking behind a Paleo diet and lifestyle which he summarises as 'eating the same kinds of natural foods our ancestors enjoyed'.

But this is not an academic book. It's a practical manual for making a new start with your diet and then adapting it to see what suits you best. The starting point is a 30-day 'reset', in which the emphasis is on the quality and nutritional value of the food you eat, not counting calories. The book goes on to consider other lifestyle issues, such as exercise, sleep, coping with stress and social connectedness. This is an important section of the book and I really don't understand why the publishers felt it necessary to change the American title 'Your Personal Paleo Code' to 'Your Personal Paleo Diet' for UK readers. Chris Kresser does return to the subject of diet, though, addressing further topics which a lot of people will be interested in, such as macronutrient ratios and supplements. There is advice on personalising your diet for specific health conditions too - for weight loss, high cholesterol and heart disease, digestive problems, blood sugar disorders, autoimmune diseases and so on.

The final section of the book consists of meal plans and recipes. It looks like these would be good to try, although there are so many attractively-illustrated recipe books and websites now, that these text-only descriptions do require a bit of imagination.

Having listened to the podcasts ('Revolution Health Radio'), I didn't find many ideas in the book which were completely new to me - I have already been adapting my diet along Paleo lines - but I have got a new impetus from the book. And if you're new to the Paleo scene, this book will provide a comprehensive, balanced and sympathetic (to you, the reader) introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book to take control of your health, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Again read this book along side the "Grain Brain " book and they make so much sense. Having been converted to paleo diet last 6 weeks, I am more energetic, clearer skin and slimmer. I shall not be eating grains especially gluten again if I can possibly help it.
Recommended highly. Downside it it can cost some money eating wild and organic meat and fish! Yummy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Kresser really delivered the goods with this book. Very pleased with the content. A true expert on health and an excellent writer made for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply the healthiest book you'll ever buy, well researched, well written and a pure gold mine of information. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes sense, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
I have only changed a few things a bout the way I eat and already feel better than I have for some time. It's not a diet, it's just about thinking about your food and using common sense, supported by science, to get out of the manufacturing/marketing grip of convenience foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent reference to getting healthy, a well balanced approach taking into account so many variables. This is going to help so many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read, 17 Feb 2014
By 
Ossie (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Definitely worth a read by all those skeptics !!! It has the potential to make you look at food in a different way, plus its not a diet. Its a way of living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good effort Mr Kresser., 2 Mar 2014
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
This is a book that has quite a bit of information for those not familiar with the Paleo style of eating. Chris Kresser is not prescriptive as he suggests people go back to basics for a month and then re-introduce foods that may be problematical. For me personally this is the way to go as we are all different and many will be able to tolerate legumes, dairy etc better than others.

In my view we can never duplicate what our ancestors of 10,000 years ago ate and it is common sense to do the best we can with what we have and that is what the author advocates. There are also foods available now that were not then and I like my 70% cocoa solid chocolate or a glass of red wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was a bit of a con as it said ..., 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a bit of a con as it said all recipes can be found on web site, for free. I logged on and you had to subscribe every month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews