Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best introductions to Paleo
Your Personal Paleo Code: The 3-Step Plan to Lose Weight, Reverse Disease, and Stay Fit and Healthy for Life (I read the UK edition Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body) is one of the very best introductions I have read to the Paleo dietary template. Chris Kresser is one of my favourite resources when it comes to...
Published 13 months ago by Rebekka K. Steg

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why buy the book when the real information you want is on the website??????????
Very disappointing, basically Chris waffles on about everything under the sun but does not clearly set out his guidelines to follow his plan. In fact buying this book is just a waste of time and money as you are constantly referred to checking out his website. Don't waste your money go to the website for free. I really feel there are too many of these self prophecy...
Published 5 months ago by Thommo60


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best introductions to Paleo, 2 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Your Personal Paleo Code: The 3-Step Plan to Lose Weight, Reverse Disease, and Stay Fit and Healthy for Life (I read the UK edition Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body) is one of the very best introductions I have read to the Paleo dietary template. Chris Kresser is one of my favourite resources when it comes to health and wellness, both his blog, podcast and now book are wonderfully packed with knowledge and information.

One of the things I love about Kresser's approach, is that he understands that each of us is unique, and that the Paleo diet is a template that must be fitted to our individual needs and challenges.
I've discovered that Paleo functions best as a general template, not a rigid prescription. Think of it as a starting point, not a destination. Even though we each share so much of the same DNA, we have unique circumstances and needs.

Kresser goes over the scientific background for eating a paleo diet, before diving into how to "reset" your diet and then tailor it to your needs. From macronutrients to micronutrients (what we need, where we can get it and how we can make sure we actually absorb them), He then goes on to address other health issues such as exercise, sleep, stress, social connections, nature and play.

While Your Personal Paleo Code is long enough on it's own, you can find a ton of extra chapters on Kresser's website, covering specific health issues such as anxiety and depression, adrenals, skin issues, stress management, digestive issues, autoimmune diseases etc., as well as references upon references to all of the scientific studies backing up his information.

Your Personal Paleo Code is an amazing resource, and I highly recommend it for anyone who wants to understand how diet and health and wellness all intersect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to eat well and be well in our modern age, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
Kate H (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
I have been listening to Chris Kresser's podcasts for a while now and have been impressed by his knowledge - he is a firm believer in evidence and seems to have an amazing ability to soak up scientific studies. He is a good communicator, translating the science into terms that a lay person may be able to understand - and comes across as a really nice guy as well. He is also a clinician (integrative health practitioner, based in California) and this comes through in his undoctrinaire approach: although he broadly supports a 'Paleo' or evolutionary outlook on nutrition, he interprets this flexibly, based on his experience with patients.

This combination of providing clear general principles which can be personalised according to individual need is the essence of Chris Kresser's book. It is very readable. The science is there, in the background, with notes and references that can be looked up on the website, but they do not get in the way. He sets the scene at the start of the book by describing how he himself became unwell while travelling in the late nineties, leading to a prolonged period of illness, during which he received limited help from doctors and the breakthrough came when he started eating according to Paleo principles. He includes a user-friendly description of the thinking behind a Paleo diet and lifestyle which he summarises as 'eating the same kinds of natural foods our ancestors enjoyed'.

But this is not an academic book. It's a practical manual for making a new start with your diet and then adapting it to see what suits you best. The starting point is a 30-day 'reset', in which the emphasis is on the quality and nutritional value of the food you eat, not counting calories. The book goes on to consider other lifestyle issues, such as exercise, sleep, coping with stress and social connectedness. This is an important section of the book and I really don't understand why the publishers felt it necessary to change the American title 'Your Personal Paleo Code' to 'Your Personal Paleo Diet' for UK readers. Chris Kresser does return to the subject of diet, though, addressing further topics which a lot of people will be interested in, such as macronutrient ratios and supplements. There is advice on personalising your diet for specific health conditions too - for weight loss, high cholesterol and heart disease, digestive problems, blood sugar disorders, autoimmune diseases and so on.

The final section of the book consists of meal plans and recipes. It looks like these would be good to try, although there are so many attractively-illustrated recipe books and websites now, that these text-only descriptions do require a bit of imagination.

Having listened to the podcasts ('Revolution Health Radio'), I didn't find many ideas in the book which were completely new to me - I have already been adapting my diet along Paleo lines - but I have got a new impetus from the book. And if you're new to the Paleo scene, this book will provide a comprehensive, balanced and sympathetic (to you, the reader) introduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book to take control of your health, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Again read this book along side the "Grain Brain " book and they make so much sense. Having been converted to paleo diet last 6 weeks, I am more energetic, clearer skin and slimmer. I shall not be eating grains especially gluten again if I can possibly help it.
Recommended highly. Downside it it can cost some money eating wild and organic meat and fish! Yummy though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why buy the book when the real information you want is on the website??????????, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Very disappointing, basically Chris waffles on about everything under the sun but does not clearly set out his guidelines to follow his plan. In fact buying this book is just a waste of time and money as you are constantly referred to checking out his website. Don't waste your money go to the website for free. I really feel there are too many of these self prophecy type books out there with each author adding their own twist on the subject to make it unique, but it is all so contradictory, full of hype and a money making machine. A lot of the info is common sense and if you are already following the Paleo diet and have read other books on the subject this book brings nothing new to the table other than constantly referring you to "the website"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
Kresser really delivered the goods with this book. Very pleased with the content. A true expert on health and an excellent writer made for a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes sense, 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
I have only changed a few things a bout the way I eat and already feel better than I have for some time. It's not a diet, it's just about thinking about your food and using common sense, supported by science, to get out of the manufacturing/marketing grip of convenience foods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is like my new nutrition bible, 25 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Personal Paleo Diet: Feel and look great by eating the foods that are ideal for your body (Paperback)
This is like my new nutrition bible. Chris is great in his approach in that he understands everybody is different, so you need to work out what works for you as an individual. This book gives you all the information you need to make the best choices for yourself. Over the past 10 months I have changed my diet to a Paleo one due to having acne - something I have suffered from to varying degrees for about 25 years. This book has helped me to fine tune my efforts...the last food group I gave up was dairy (including goats products) and my skin is finally clear. I now maintain a wheat free, gluten free, sugar free and dairy free diet. As a result my skin has cleared up, it is no longer excessively oily either (anyone with a lot of spots around the chin and jaw is usually related to dairy products).
This book teaches you that you must begin with healing the gut...that is the main thing for optimal health - 80% of the immune system is in the gut so its really important to look after it. The healing power of ingesting the right foods for you is immense! So, as you can see, I love this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book., 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite simply the healthiest book you'll ever buy, well researched, well written and a pure gold mine of information. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent reference to getting healthy, a well balanced approach taking into account so many variables. This is going to help so many people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An in depth yet functional way to implement the Paleo Lifestyle, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read several books in the past on the Paleo diet but Chris's book beats them all, instead of going too in depth into the Paleo history he focuses on why and how the foods you eat and your lifestyle can lead to health problems and gives you actionable steps to improve your health.

As Chris states in his book, it should be viewed as a 'template' not a diet for a way of life and this is exactly the way I get my clients to view a natural Wholefood way of eating.

Also a big fan of Revolution Health Radio, keep going Chris your content is both informative and actionable!

Adam Uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews