Customer Reviews

39
4.4 out of 5 stars
The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (Bridgerton Family)
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£7.19+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 7 November 2013
Being a great fan of Julia Quinn and the Bridgertons, I had to read this one. I wasn't disappointed. All the 'epilogues' were wonderful peeks into the 'ever afters' of the Bridgertons. Most of them were highly satisfying. Violet Bridgerton's especially was poignant and bitter-sweet. Anthony and Hyacinth's were fun and pacy; Benedict's was about Sophie's half-sister. It was a rather cute little love story. The only two that I was a bit disappointed in were Eloise's and Penelope's. They weren't about them at all and I wanted to know more about their lives. Greogory's, Daphne's and Francesca's were quite gratifying too and exactly the answers I wanted as a reader. All in all, a must read for Bridgerton junkies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 23 April 2013
This has been - without a doubt - a worthwhile read. I have loved JQ from the moment I picked up 'The Duke and I' and have never missed a thing from her. This collection of 2nd Epilogues has been as witty, funny, endearing and tear-jacking as every thing of hers that I've read.

I'll recommend it to not only fans of JQ but also those who care to call the Bridgertons family of sorts. I kind of want to know how Amanda in 'To Sir Philip, with love' turns out. She seems interesting. Actually, so does Hyacinth's Isabelle. I don't ever want their story to end...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 18 April 2013
I didn't expect anything other than to love this book! I've devoured all of Julia Quinn's books over the years, and the Bridgertons have a special place in my heart. They're easily my favourite book family.

The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After has a 2nd epilogue for each of the books, and includes a novella for the wonderful Violet Bridgerton. I've previously read the 2nd epilogues but I was excited for Violet's story!

I won't mention all of the epilogues- I'll end up babbling more than normal! Some of the stories give us a little peek in to the future of each couple, and some answer questions we had.
The Viscount Who Loved Me's 2nd epilogue was my favourite. The iconic Pall Mall match is brilliant in the original book, and I was not disappointed with this rematch- hilarious!
I loved that the 2nd epilogue for An Offer From A Gentleman gave us Posy's story. Posy deserved to have her own story, after suffering for so long with her cruel mother and sister; and I was grinning away when she got her happy ending!
Gregory and Lucy's story in the 8th epilogue was pretty heart-wrenching, I was praying that everything would turn out alright.
I loved finding out Eloise's reaction to the identity of Lady Whistledown- I definitely felt that was missing when I read the books, so I was happily satisfied.

Overall, they were all fab little glimpses into the Bridgertons' lives. I'd recommend this even if you haven't read the previous books.

Julia Quinn managed to make me laugh and cry, an impressive feat considering the length of each little story. I can understand why someone unfamiliar with the Bridgerton books wouldn't love it as much as I did. But for me, it was the perfect way to end the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 28 April 2015
To be honest, I was seriously looking forward to reading these second epilogues and having a chance to delve into the Bridgerton's lives again. Once I started reading through, I realized that it wasn't what I had hoped it would be. For one thing, it had been a long time since I read the series that it took time to get back into the swing of things.

I enjoyed reading about supporting characters and seeing their happy endings, however I was hoping for more of the 8 siblings and less of the supporting characters. I know it's difficult to write a second epilogue, and Julia Quinn did a decent job, although sometimes it seemed random, it was still decent.

The one thing I really didn't want to read about was Violet's story. She has been such a great character in every single one of the series. An amazing mother, a beautiful, elegant lady and a wonderful role model to all, that it was a bit strange for me to see her as the young girl she was when she met their father and fell for him. I definitely did not want to read about her sexual escapades with him either, having been that fictional mother figure to all. I was saddened at how he died, but I felt if Quinn was going to tell her story, she deserved a full-length novel, rather than a shortened, rushed version of it.

It was sweet to read about the Bridgertons again, but not what I had hoped it would be. I admit to feeling slight disappointment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 30 November 2013
This one contain epilogues for all the previous 8 plus one new story. I have read 6 of these 8. The new epilogues are:"Duke and I" and "On the Way to the Wedding".

Regarding The Duke and I. We see our heroine's nearing middle age (40's and 50's) which is uncommon for historical romance, yet you can still read and find yourself attracted to the story because you still love these characters.

Regarding On the Way to The Wedding: Not the usual happily ever after but still it's nice. and you can know the name of their all 9 children.

New short stories are added for Violet "Lady Bridgerton". These are sweet, fluffy and a bit sad.
I really liked Edmund in these stories. I shed tears when he died :"

-It's very nice to go back to one of first historical stories and series that I have read. The Bridgerton still have their special place in my heart.
-Julia Quinn is still awesome.
-Looking forward to her new story.
-I want her to release more than one book a year
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
I just love being able to get a glimpse of the Brigertons years later. An excellent addition to the Brigerton series
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 13 December 2013
i loved this book because i have all the stories of all the sons and daughters of their courting days and finaly getting married and this book tells you what has happened to them all over the years how many children they have had and how happy they all are i think that it is think that it is a good ending to the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 7 January 2014
Loved this book. Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgerton series. A collection if epilogue that round off and tie up any loose ends or questions that linger following the series original books. Perfect ending to a fabulous set of historical romance novels.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 31 May 2013
I am a huge fan of Julia and her stories about the 8 Bridgerton siblings in particular and was very excited when i heard she was writing a second part to each book, I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I was not disappointed. The stories could have been a bit longer but I think that is just because I love the characters so much that I really wanted a whole new book about each one. I very much enjoyed catching up with my fave 19 th century family, especially the rematch of Pall Mall, I would love to play with them, as long as I got to have the Mallet of Death
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 10 May 2013
I am a huge fan of JQ's Bridgerton series. I have all the books in my collection, my favorite is "Romancing Mr Bridgerton".

I loved this final epilogue for all the books, it was a fun lighthearted read, where loose ends from the previous novels were tied up. We also get a chance to read Violet's story; which is really sweet.

It's well worth buying, I loved it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.